We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - excellent restaurant and good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location - excellent restaurant and good value hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I've eaten here a number of times but recently stayed for the first time in the hotel. The location could hardly be better - a 2 minute walk from New Street Station in the building known as the Mailbox (formerly a post office sorting office) which houses many cool restaurants, shops and hotels. I arrived early (9.30 a.m.) from the US and my room was ready - huge plus! - decent size, all the usual amenities and a free high-speed internet connection. Service was good and I found no fault with anything. At under £120 a night I found it very good value and would not hesitate to stay there again. I see other reviews talking about tired décor etc. and can only say that was not my experience - perfectly up to date, clean, and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowley32256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Good Afternoon,
It is great to read your review and pleased you have taken the time to share your personal experience with us. My team are so inspired to hear the comments' that in all areas of the hotel from the rooms to the Brasserie we provide you with an excellent service and all round positive stay!
See you again on your next visit from the US
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    789
    390
    172
    110
See reviews for
165
940
77
547
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

As a frequent Malmaison guest, this was my first time at Birmingham's Malmaison and I'm sorry to say, I wasn't overly impressed. The cocktails were fantastic though (very costly however) and breakfast as always, was satisfying but the other bits lacked attention, respect and love shall we say.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likestotravelallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Good Evening,
Thank you for your post
I am sorry to read on this occasion we did not exceed your expectations and you failed to experience the ‘Mal’ service we always to look to provide. Daily training and maintaining of the property is present so the attention to detail will be highlighted and I am positive on your next visit you will have the ‘Mal love’ expected.
I do hope we see you again and you come enjoy more of our fantastic cocktails
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

One of the best locations for staying in Birmingham, a very good bar (great cocktails), but the hotel needs some work on the interior, looks a bit tired. Good rooms and very clean, but with more hotels opening all the time in the city centre you can get better value for your money.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dom1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Dom,
Thank you for your review
The hotel is in an ideal location of Birmingham and glad you enjoyed some of the best cocktails offered in the city. We are always looking to improve the hotel maintenance and interior, so this is a key focus to ensure our guests keep coming back.
Hope you see you soon, staying over or just for that great cocktail
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is the second time I have actually stayed here and certainly enjoyed it.
The room was quite cheap at £69 excluding breakfast. Although starting to look slightly battle worn now as some of the furniture has taken a beating. But nicely decorated and roomy.
Breakfast the following morning was £32 for the two of us and I would question paying that again. Plenty of eateries nearby that I would venture out to the next time. However, quality was very good.
Parking cost us £16.50 overnight, so not that good really. But it is central Birmingham.
One annoying thing was the bar. Asked for a Gin & Tonic and a pint of Premium Lager to be told they do not sell pints anymore. They just do scooners (two thirds of a pint). OK, but it was £3.90 for the scooner! G & T was a further £5.95 I believe. Oh well.
Anyhow, a pleasant stay regardless.

Room Tip: Step out for breakfast as surrounded by eateries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngloLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Good Evening,
Thank you for your post
Another great stay is always delightful to read. Positive to hear your room and breakfast were enjoyed and quality was recognised.
This is the feedback we love as it is highlights the true views of our valued guests.
Be a pleasure to welcome you back for another pleasant stay!
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the malmaison in a suite. The room and housekeeping in general were very good . The room needs a little attention but they are minor niggles e.g. Loose Tap, missing lock on toilet door. There is some cost cutting as no bubble bath etc anymore, but that's not a big issue.
The reason we won't return is the service and cleanliness in the restaurant and public toilets. Although the restaurant wasn't busy we waited for drinks, however the food was good. No draft beer available though! Breakfast however was very different and this is why we will now be choosing a new location for our precious trips away. We were shown to a table by the kitchen and continental breakfast area. It was cosy with everyone on top of each other. It seems that all guests were going to be seated here as the rest of the restaurant had been made up for dinner. The continental breakfast was poor, yoghurt not topped up, peanut butter in jar no knife or spoon etc. and looked a mess.
We did arrive for breakfast at 9.30 am but even so it could have looked better. Our waitress came back and said "do you want a cooked breakfast,"no smile given. We then had to listen to the staff chit chatting in the kitchen area and then loud music came on. To top this off my husband found a long hair in his breakfast. The manager/ person in charge handled this well and said we would be refunded and my husband confirmed on the way out that reception had been told, he was told yes that this was the case, however when we went to check out, reception knew nothing about it! Reception had to then handle the issue which they did do well. The public toilets were possibly some of the most revolting I've seen in a while, my husband said the gents were awful too. Overall we seemed like an inconvenience at breakfast and rather than ensure there was milk on the tables or butter with toast, the staff wanted to have a chit chat with each other. We're both disappointed as we have stayed here many times since our honeymoon and it's been great. I hope they sort out the staff management, but we'll now be staying elsewhere for our precious romantic getaways.

Room Tip: Book room only and eat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Angela,
Thanks you for taking the time to write a review
We appreciate your feedback to enable us to address the issues and work on providing the amazing service our valued guest visit us for.
I am sorry to read of your experience at breakfast, this has been investigated with the Management team and all relevant training and procedures have been highlight in the daily meeting with the staff. This will ensure it remains an isolated incident and avoid any further disappointment to our guests.
I do hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again and you will notice a marked improvement throughout.
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed at the Birmingham Mal New Years Eve and had a fantastic stay, we ate from the 5 course set menu and the food was sensational. The bar had a great atmosphere and we chose to spoil ourselves with one of the 7th floor suites which was stunning. Breakfast was a little busy in the morning but the food again was great with a good selection.

Room Tip: Go for the Spagetti Junction suite it has amazing decor and huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Olly,
Happy New Year
Thank you for your post and great to hear we were apart of your New Year celebrations - it was an memorable evening. Everyone was down in the morning enjoying that well deserved and yummy ‘Mal’ breakfast.
Hope to see you again in 2014
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have stayed at The Malmaison Hotel several times now, and would not consider booking into any other Hotel when I am in the Birmingham area. It is conveniently situated in The Mailbox, with some great shops, restaurants and bars nearby.
The rooms are extremely comfortable and the beds great. With an excellent and varied menu both from The Bar and The Restaurant, very friendly and helpful staff, why look any further. Book into the Malmaison now!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Linda,
Thank you for your time to write 'one of he best' posts
It is a great pleasure to read your comments and that each part of the Malmaison experience here at Birmingham is enjoyed and appreciated on your every visit!
Enthusiasm to book again is what we love to hear
See you very soon
Many Thanks
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,516 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#19 of 117 in Birmingham
239 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Property: Malmaison Birmingham
Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing