We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #23 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Derby UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Don't be put off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight on 13th feb and had a standby e-upgrade from a double to a superior room. The room ended up being a superior twin room, so instead of a sitting area there was 2 large double beds. This was slightly strange as we were a couple, so only used 1 but the room was spacious and the bathroom had a separate shower. I love malmaison hotels and this is the 4th one I've stayed in and have found the previous reviews for this one not to be very good.
The room rate I originally got was £79 for a double room, continental breakfasts and a cocktail each, so paying for these seperately, would have been well over £100. The cocktails were amazing, bar and brasserie are very stylish and the breakfast was also great. The only thing I dislike about malmaison, is the price for drinks/snacks and the food menu in general and would never pay £17.50 for a simple bottle of wine that is in the room or as lovely as they are, £14 for a continental breakfast. However, the rooms are clean and stylish and yes if you want to inspect the carpet, curtains or furniture, you may find minor wear and tear but hotel rooms do get stayed in, so cannot stay perfect.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDerbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, Guest Relations Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate your valuable feedback and great to hear you’re a regular of Malmaison brand, ppreciating ‘dare to be different; standards of the Hotel.
Our deluxe rooms are really spacious and ideal for 2 people sharing or if you have children. So pleased that you overall had a positive stay and tried some of our amazing cocktails.
Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and you visit more of the Mal properties.
Kind Regards
Dianne Vukovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    753
    378
    169
    101
See reviews for
152
899
72
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is very hard to find in a car. There were a number of us for a business meeting and we all couldn't find it from the postcode. Though if travelling by train it's perfect. The entrance is hard to find. All the public areas are dark and gloomy. I know it's supposed to be a'boutique' hotel but black and purple and dim lighting. If you were a mole it would be perfect. That aside the rooms are spacious with nice decor and the meal we had in the restaurant was very good. Ditto breakfast - lots of hot choices.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pljonesey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, Guest Relations Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your post.
We appreciate your feedback and currently updating the directions for the hotel so all sites provide the correct details. It Is great to hear your reviews of our rooms and that you had the opportunity to experience our Brasserie for dinner and breakfast.
Hope you visit soon and next time you can find the hotel more conveniently
Kind Regards
Dianne Vukovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

A great location and was ideal for a night in Birmingham with someone special , room comfortable and well equipped, would recommend , but we paid a special rate , not sure would have liked to pay full price , but never the less a plush hotel

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Ray,
Thank you for your great post.
Delighted to read of your positive stay with us. Malmaison are always providing some great promotions to suit all occasions so pleased we had the opportunity to accommodate you for a special stay.
See you soon
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level Contributor
211 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed overnight when in Birmingham on business. Was amazed that this was available on our corporate travel site amongst the holiday and premier inns, and having used a few times in the past jumped at the chance to return. I noticed from the reviews on here that many were reporting a falling of standards but still decided to give it a go.

The good:
Decent location, not far from centre and easy to find
Large car park at the Mailbox, from which hotel entrance is easily accessible
Room was very well equipped
Large comfortable bed
Decent room service menu
Well stocked mini bar including full bottles of wine and wide range of snacks
Bathroom was massive

The bad:
For some bizarre reason my room number did not feature within the range of numbers shown on the signs/directions on display. Can only guess that room 716 was an addition after the signs were manufactured! This led to a little aimless wandering before my room was found.
There was a strong smell of damp in my room.
The hotel is looking worn around the edges, for example badly marked paintwork and stained carpets.
Room service add-ons inflate the prices considerably - 10% service charge automatically added plus a further £4 tray charge!
Free wifi and good speed when it works, but at 2130 (mid movie) this stopped working and it was still off when I left the following morning.

This was a great hotel and some aspects are still up there, but overall it all feels a bit worn out and like it has lost its shine. There are better options close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your review.
It is great to read we provided you with a impressive room for that all important good nights sleep, however disappointed we did not meet or exceed all your expectations. Your feedback is very valuable for us to highlight the areas we need to focus on moving forward.
Hope you to visit us again in the future
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a conveniently placed hotel in the centre of Birmingham with a (very expensive) carpark next door. We stayed one night in a superior room which included breakfast. The room was large and clean with a sitting room area, dressing table and bed with a large TV in front of it.

The bathroom was small, but clean. The toiletries were basic and both the shower gel and shampoo - in cheap reusable tubes - looked exactly the same! There was no hairdryer or lit mirror so it's worth taking a good mirror with you as the light isn't very good above the sink for make up. We had tp hunt for the second towel which was in the wardrobe and found the kettle and coffee in there as well!

The bed was firm but comfortable and we both slept well. We were on the 7th floor which afforded great views of the city. We didn't hear any of the other guests and slept undisturbed.

We had dinner and breakfast. We were asked to wait in the bar and someone would come and get us when they were ready, after half an hour we were so hungry (it was 9.30 by then) we went back to the restaurant and were seated immediately. We then had a bit of a wait for our food and mine wasn't that warm when it came out but by then it was 10pm and we were starving, so I didn't want to wait again. I did hear the man behind me sending back his bread and olives as they arrived at the same time as his main course. The food was OK, just average really.

Breakfast was fine, I agree that the toast comes out way too early and a second tea bag in the pot would have made for a better cup of tea.

All you can really say about this hotel is that it is OK, very average. All we wanted was a bath, a good night's sleep and something to eat, which is what we got. My partner has stayed there several times on business and he said that our experience this trip was on par with his previous stays there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Roz,
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased overall that we made your stay was a positive one. However, we do always work towards making our guests feel that extra bit special during their visit to Malmaison so apologises we did not reach your expectation on all levels.
Sorry to read you dinner experience was not the service or standard that is should be on this occasion.
Great to hear you had relaxing nights sleep, always near the top of the list on a night away
Hope to welcome you both back soon for leisure or corporate visits
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
164 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We took advantage of a special price weekend deal at the hotel - £135 for a twin room with dinner and wine included and it was fine. The location is good, very close to the station and city shops and landmarks and, as it was absolutely pouring with rain, we were very grateful for that. Secure parking is in the Mailbox car park next door and costs an additional £19 for 24hours with a 15% discount for hotel guests. Actually we parked there for a day and a half and still only paid the £19. Again, we were OK with that because of the convenience and shelter from the weather. Our room was very nice and they prepped the bed linen so we had hollow fibre not feather pillows and duvets as I'm allergic to feathers. Unfortunately we were opposite the lifts on the second floor and it was a bit noisy especially when we were woken at 2pm and had to call security to intervene as a man was violently attacking a woman just outside our door!
We had cocktails in the buzzy bar and our dinner was fine. Again, our only criticism was that they kept offering extra choices of vegetables etc. that were not included in our deal and then telling us we had to pay extra. I don't mind a bit of upselling but it was done badly. We didn't eat breakfast there as we went into town instead, I generally find that hotel breakfasts are overpriced and better value can be found easily elsewhere if you don't mind a walk. Actually, there's a Starbucks in reception where you can get drinks and snacks at normal Starbucks prices.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JED457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a post.
Your review is very informative and pleased our location, dinner package and room standard made your stay a pleasant one.
Please do make us aware of any special requests you have as we always try our best to action them and do all we can to provide that great experience.
Look forward to your return visits
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I shall write a list..

Don't expect your breakfast to be hot (that includes the very weak tea).
Do expect to pay £4 EXTRA for breakfast if you fail to tell them you want it the night before.
Do expect to be served 'plonk' (their own name for their wine).
Do expect to pay £17.50 for a bottle of plonk.
Do expect to find service charge of 10% added automatically to your food bill and hidden half way down the bill between the drinks and the food so you don't notice.
Do expect to be given the opportunity to ADD your own ADDITIONAL service tip on the bill where it is clearly marked at the bottom of the bill.
Do expect to be charged for service on room service too (excuse me, I remember serving myself in my room from the tray of food provided).
Do expect to be charged a £4 tray charge for them to bring your room service food tray to you (in addition to the service charge above).
Do expect to wait up to 2 hours to eat,
Do expect that the bar is randomly closed for maintenance at peak times.
Don't expect to get anything with your main course without paying extra.
Do expect to pay £3.50 for a few carrots.
Do expect to pay £3.30 for broccoli.
Do expect to pay £3.50 for a blob of mash.
So all in all do expect to pay over £10 for veg on the side.
Do expect to pay £15 for a burger.
Do expect to be ripped off.
Do expect this is all intentional - Mal-Maison translated into French is, after all, Bad-House.

Room Tip: All rooms are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christinec128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
We wish to contact you personally to discuss your visit with us. Please can you send through your contact details to: dgm.birmingham@malmaison.com
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#11 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Property: Malmaison Birmingham
Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#33 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing