We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #21 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok but tired hotel”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I used to love the stylish feel of the Malmaison but I just can't help feel that it is now very tired. The rooms appear to have had some work to them and the TV had been replaced with a flat screen but the general feeling is tired and due a big upgrade!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Superswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    805
    402
    174
    112
See reviews for
171
970
77
556
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for one night on a Saturday, and it was busy, we got a deal on a late booking site ( £120 for the night ), and it seemed so had everybody else. Lovely big room, well equipped and lively bar ( not cheap, but what hotel is ). Only used restaurant for breakfast, which was plentiful with a good choice. Staff were very helpful, but seemed to struggle with just how busy it was.

The only comment would be that the internal decor is looking a little tired and perhaps could do with an upgrade.

I like Malmaisonl but not at the full rate price, luckily there always seems to be a deal available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordonrgs37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here for one night in Birmingham, and were not dissapointed.

The room was big, with a large double bed and very clean bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the bar upstairs was lovely serving a variety of drinks for reasonable prices.

It is also in a great location, overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roo1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, Guest Relations Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Stacey,
Thank you for your great review
It Is a pleasure to read your experience with us and we very much look future to your future stays with us.
Kind Regards
Dianne Vukovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight on 13th feb and had a standby e-upgrade from a double to a superior room. The room ended up being a superior twin room, so instead of a sitting area there was 2 large double beds. This was slightly strange as we were a couple, so only used 1 but the room was spacious and the bathroom had a separate shower. I love malmaison hotels and this is the 4th one I've stayed in and have found the previous reviews for this one not to be very good.
The room rate I originally got was £79 for a double room, continental breakfasts and a cocktail each, so paying for these seperately, would have been well over £100. The cocktails were amazing, bar and brasserie are very stylish and the breakfast was also great. The only thing I dislike about malmaison, is the price for drinks/snacks and the food menu in general and would never pay £17.50 for a simple bottle of wine that is in the room or as lovely as they are, £14 for a continental breakfast. However, the rooms are clean and stylish and yes if you want to inspect the carpet, curtains or furniture, you may find minor wear and tear but hotel rooms do get stayed in, so cannot stay perfect.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDerbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, Guest Relations Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate your valuable feedback and great to hear you’re a regular of Malmaison brand, ppreciating ‘dare to be different; standards of the Hotel.
Our deluxe rooms are really spacious and ideal for 2 people sharing or if you have children. So pleased that you overall had a positive stay and tried some of our amazing cocktails.
Hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and you visit more of the Mal properties.
Kind Regards
Dianne Vukovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly this hotel is very hard to find in a car. There were a number of us for a business meeting and we all couldn't find it from the postcode. Though if travelling by train it's perfect. The entrance is hard to find. All the public areas are dark and gloomy. I know it's supposed to be a'boutique' hotel but black and purple and dim lighting. If you were a mole it would be perfect. That aside the rooms are spacious with nice decor and the meal we had in the restaurant was very good. Ditto breakfast - lots of hot choices.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pljonesey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, Guest Relations Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your post.
We appreciate your feedback and currently updating the directions for the hotel so all sites provide the correct details. It Is great to hear your reviews of our rooms and that you had the opportunity to experience our Brasserie for dinner and breakfast.
Hope you visit soon and next time you can find the hotel more conveniently
Kind Regards
Dianne Vukovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A great location and was ideal for a night in Birmingham with someone special , room comfortable and well equipped, would recommend , but we paid a special rate , not sure would have liked to pay full price , but never the less a plush hotel

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Ray,
Thank you for your great post.
Delighted to read of your positive stay with us. Malmaison are always providing some great promotions to suit all occasions so pleased we had the opportunity to accommodate you for a special stay.
See you soon
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed overnight when in Birmingham on business. Was amazed that this was available on our corporate travel site amongst the holiday and premier inns, and having used a few times in the past jumped at the chance to return. I noticed from the reviews on here that many were reporting a falling of standards but still decided to give it a go.

The good:
Decent location, not far from centre and easy to find
Large car park at the Mailbox, from which hotel entrance is easily accessible
Room was very well equipped
Large comfortable bed
Decent room service menu
Well stocked mini bar including full bottles of wine and wide range of snacks
Bathroom was massive

The bad:
For some bizarre reason my room number did not feature within the range of numbers shown on the signs/directions on display. Can only guess that room 716 was an addition after the signs were manufactured! This led to a little aimless wandering before my room was found.
There was a strong smell of damp in my room.
The hotel is looking worn around the edges, for example badly marked paintwork and stained carpets.
Room service add-ons inflate the prices considerably - 10% service charge automatically added plus a further £4 tray charge!
Free wifi and good speed when it works, but at 2130 (mid movie) this stopped working and it was still off when I left the following morning.

This was a great hotel and some aspects are still up there, but overall it all feels a bit worn out and like it has lost its shine. There are better options close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymond1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your review.
It is great to read we provided you with a impressive room for that all important good nights sleep, however disappointed we did not meet or exceed all your expectations. Your feedback is very valuable for us to highlight the areas we need to focus on moving forward.
Hope you to visit us again in the future
Kind Regards
Stephen Woodhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
3,035 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
1,559 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Property: Malmaison Birmingham
Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing