We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I visited Birmingham a couple of times while i was in England and heard that the hotel bar in Malmaison was a popular choice to go on a weekend, with great drinks, friendly atmosphere and staff. I Was glad to see the rumours didn't disappoint and was particularly pleased to see the attention the Bar manager Guy and the waitress Jodi gave to their customers, they make the atmosphere of the bar fun on their own. Overall a a worthwhile experience

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Dave,
Thank you for your positive review.
Amazing you got to experience the ‘Malbar ‘ drinks and service
The staff mentioned really do appreciate your post as they always work towards providing our guests that special service that they love to do
See you again soon
Dianne Vukovich
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,317)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,438 - 1,444 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

I paid top wedge for a standard room and was on an e-standby upgrade for a one bed suite. I didn't get the one bed suite. The standard room wasn't anything to shout about. The bed was hard and the pillows not of particularly great quality for such an expensive hotel. The standard of the room was on a par with Holiday Inn rooms I've stayed in recently but for a quarter of the price! They only had very limited TV channels available, less then what you actually get at the Holiday or Premier Inn. Only difference is it's "funky" décor, which is now actually looking quite tired and dated.
I also had a male member of house keeping walk in on me when I was stark naked as he assumed the room was empty! When complaining about this to the reception staff, they simply replied it was an error on house keeping's part and didn't really seem bothered!

Breakfast was of poor quality given the price and the supposed 4* status. I found most the staff seemed as though they didn't want to be there and service was poor.

The only thing going for it is the amazing location in the Mailbox. The best part of our visit was the meal we had outside of the hotel in the Mailbox! If it's the location you want I'd advise saving your money and staying in one of the other many hotels nearby. If you stay at this hotel you also have to be prepared to pay £19 to park in the NCP next door on top of the hefty room rate you have already paid.

This hotel does not even remotely compare to the Malmaison in Manchester, which I did find was worth the higher price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Gemma,
Thank you for your post
I am disappointed to read of your recent experience as this is not at all the standard and service we wish our guests to have. We do continuously look at the maintenance and services of the hotel so your feedback is very valuable for us to highlight in daily training and future plans.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for you to experience the amazing ‘Mal’ service
Dianne Vukovich
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel. I arrived very early and got my room right away, no hassle and a great front desk staff to deal with.

The room has average size,with a nice desk, lighting and bed. The internet service needs some work, it was faster in the Starbucks in the lobby then in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Ron,
Thank you for your post
Great to read of your enjoyable stayand nights sleep
There is continuous work on the internet so hopefully you see in improvement in the future.
Kind Regards
Dianne Vukovich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Came for Mothers Day, table for 12 booked for 3.30pm. It's always difficult to find restaurants to cater for us all on special occaisions and this time we'd really struggled to find somewhere so booked up with antipidation having not been before. Needn't have worried. Table was a little late but Sunday brunch is 4 courses plus chef's table serving fish, salad, breads, paté pancakes & a variety of other things for £29.95. Food was excellent quality and considering table size the service was very attentive so happy to pay the discretionary 10% service charge. Even at the bar service excelled with waiter/esses and drinks orders arrriving promptly. As this is a hotel the drinks are not cheap but worth it for a special occaision or if you just fancy splashing out in a nice environment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaf_oreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your post
It is great to hear we were a part of making your Mothers Day special . Our big Mal Sunday brunch really is something different and caters for all the family for that extra little treat. Pleased to hear both food and service was positive.
Hope you visit us again……Fathers day soon!
Many Thanks
Dianne Vukovich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Went to this spa over the weekend. Very nice reception staff. Friendly and welcoming. The treatment itself was very good, nice massage and the lady made conversation with me, felt very relaxed.

The price was good. Not overly expensive compared to what i have paid in London. However this does reflect one hat you get.

I was disappointed with the relaxation room and the facilities. The relaxation beds were not made once people had laid on them.

The whirl pool was like a big hot tub. apparently we had to pay an extra £10 to use it and it didn't even work! The jets were not working!

There was no shower gel in the changing rooms! No creams or lotions etc. Thank fully i had some stuff with me.

Overall a pleasant time, i would go there again only due to convenience of it being local.

Nice staff members.

But they need add a little extra to live up to the other Espa spas.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your time to leave a review
I am pleased you had an enjoyable time in our spa and the team provided you the personal service to make it good one!
We also appreciate your feedback to allow us to continually improve the service and facilities we provide.
The spa team look forward to treating you again
Many Thanks
Dianne Vukovich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I agree with other reviewers - this hotel is now looking tired and in need of redecoration. Main problem for me was that when I checked in I was given a room 'key' that didnt work, then reception 'reprogrammed' it for me, and I found it let me into a room that was already occupied with another guest's luggage and clothes. I was then given another room by reception staff, but things turned farcical (sp?) when housekeeping knocked to clean it as they thought it was empty. Then a few minutes later reception called me on the phone and asked me to tell them who I was so they would know who was in the room. When I went to the desk to complain, they apologised - for a 'minor' IT problem. I filled in the comment card but have had no response to date from the hotel. I feel it was more than a minor safety and security issue for guests. I have stayed at Malmasion many times - this one and others in the chain, and have had pretty good experiences, until now, and will think twice before booking them again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else?
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sashimi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your time to leave a review and apologise nobody responded at the time.
Please be assured we do take the security of both our staff and guests very seriously and disappointed in the recent experience you received at the hotel. We unfortunately experienced a system error and we actioned upon the correct measures to try a resolve immediately, apologises this occurred during your visit.
We do hope you continue to use the Malmaison and be assured this was an isolated incident.
Many Thanks
Dianne Vukovich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Myself and two friends booked this hotel as we were traveling to Birmingham for a concert at the NIA Arena.
We booked a deal they had £99 stay including a 25min spa treatment, full use of the facilities including jacquzzi/sauna heat/ice showers. Two course lunch including a cocktail with a full Breakfast the next morning.

HOTEL:
The hotel is lovely inside, tastfully decorated and really elegant. The rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was large with great lighting (which 3 of us doing make-up needed). It is a stones throw from the coach station and the NIA equally each cost us £5 in a taxi each way if you'd rather not walk.
We stayed in room 517 on the fifth floor but that was no trouble as close to the lifts. Our room was spotlessly clean and had extras such as tea/coffee/biscuits and lovely toiletries that were replenished within one night of being there.
SPA:
The spa was lovely - we made use of the jacuzzi and sauna facilities aswell as the relaxation room which was exactly that - almost had a sleep in here! The treatments we chose were back massage, the therapist (lauren?) was really professional and polite.
RESTAURANT:
We had a two course evening meal here and breakfast the following morning - the restaurant itself is accessed via the lift to first floor it is quite decadent with bottles of snazzy champagnes and vdkas strude around the place but the service was efficient and friendly and although we were given menus to choose from with the deal you would not have ever noticed that we had probably paid considerdably less! the food a chicken and rice soup and steak and chips main was beautiful. A cocktail from the classic menu was also included in our deal and the cosmopolitan made with bedever vodka at £8.50 was a lovely touch.
Breakfast was lovely served until 10:30 choose from a menu of hot food and as much of the continental as you'd like....fresh fruit pastries, cereals, fruit juices teas/coffees etc .
All in all it was a lovely stay and made the trip! would reccomend to all especially if your going to a concert at the NIA it made it really memorable night! - Thanks to all especially housekeeping, we will be returning as soon as we can!

Room Tip: 517 - fith floor better view higher you are
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Chelsea,
Thank you for your post
Delighted to read you and your friends enjoyed a nice relaxing spa break at Mal Birmingham in conjunction with a visit to the NIA. It is great you managed to experience all areas from the spa to the bar and Brasserie…. A full on Mal treat!
We wish all our guest to have that extra special stay and share their positive experience.
Look to forward to that return stay
Many Thanks
Dianne Vukovich
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,579 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £83 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing