We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #26 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here back in January when out in Brum for my cousin's 30th along with my fiance.

It only cost about an extra £20 than the usual suspects (premier inn, travelodge etc), but was miles ahead.

The room was spacious, the decor cool and the sauna area was a great way to unwind.

Thoroughly recommend staying here, I will definitely look to stay in Malmaison hotels moving forwards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,559 - 1,565 of 2,440 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Really nice bar, lobby area nice. But compared to other 4 star hotels i think the breakfast is quite poor. Cooked food to order? Not the biggest continetal breakfast either. Always prefer full breakfast buffet. Room was quite big and spacious. But bfast let it down .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mac9992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here on business for 1 night. The room was very comfortable with a great bed and good facilities. I ate in the restaurant down stairs which was amazing. Very good quality and tasted amazing. The breakfast selection was vast and you are provided with a menu from which you can order many different options, from eggs benedict to porridge with syrup. The bar was busy and bustling and had a fantastic atmosphere. There is also a coffee shop downstairs which was handy. The location is very convenient, its about 5 minutes walk from New Street station and is within the mailbox which has lots of shops and restaurants. I would highly recommend. Next time I hope to make use of the spa!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Linda,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a post
I am delighted to read of your recent stay, your review is so positive and it is great that you had an enjoyable dinner and appreciated the atmosphere around the hotel.
The spa look forward to seeing you on your next visit
Kind Regards
Dianne Vukovich
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I visited Birmingham a couple of times while i was in England and heard that the hotel bar in Malmaison was a popular choice to go on a weekend, with great drinks, friendly atmosphere and staff. I Was glad to see the rumours didn't disappoint and was particularly pleased to see the attention the Bar manager Guy and the waitress Jodi gave to their customers, they make the atmosphere of the bar fun on their own. Overall a a worthwhile experience

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Dave,
Thank you for your positive review.
Amazing you got to experience the ‘Malbar ‘ drinks and service
The staff mentioned really do appreciate your post as they always work towards providing our guests that special service that they love to do
See you again soon
Dianne Vukovich
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I paid top wedge for a standard room and was on an e-standby upgrade for a one bed suite. I didn't get the one bed suite. The standard room wasn't anything to shout about. The bed was hard and the pillows not of particularly great quality for such an expensive hotel. The standard of the room was on a par with Holiday Inn rooms I've stayed in recently but for a quarter of the price! They only had very limited TV channels available, less then what you actually get at the Holiday or Premier Inn. Only difference is it's "funky" décor, which is now actually looking quite tired and dated.
I also had a male member of house keeping walk in on me when I was stark naked as he assumed the room was empty! When complaining about this to the reception staff, they simply replied it was an error on house keeping's part and didn't really seem bothered!

Breakfast was of poor quality given the price and the supposed 4* status. I found most the staff seemed as though they didn't want to be there and service was poor.

The only thing going for it is the amazing location in the Mailbox. The best part of our visit was the meal we had outside of the hotel in the Mailbox! If it's the location you want I'd advise saving your money and staying in one of the other many hotels nearby. If you stay at this hotel you also have to be prepared to pay £19 to park in the NCP next door on top of the hefty room rate you have already paid.

This hotel does not even remotely compare to the Malmaison in Manchester, which I did find was worth the higher price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Gemma,
Thank you for your post
I am disappointed to read of your recent experience as this is not at all the standard and service we wish our guests to have. We do continuously look at the maintenance and services of the hotel so your feedback is very valuable for us to highlight in daily training and future plans.
We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for you to experience the amazing ‘Mal’ service
Dianne Vukovich
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Had a great stay at this hotel. I arrived very early and got my room right away, no hassle and a great front desk staff to deal with.

The room has average size,with a nice desk, lighting and bed. The internet service needs some work, it was faster in the Starbucks in the lobby then in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Ron,
Thank you for your post
Great to read of your enjoyable stayand nights sleep
There is continuous work on the internet so hopefully you see in improvement in the future.
Kind Regards
Dianne Vukovich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Came for Mothers Day, table for 12 booked for 3.30pm. It's always difficult to find restaurants to cater for us all on special occaisions and this time we'd really struggled to find somewhere so booked up with antipidation having not been before. Needn't have worried. Table was a little late but Sunday brunch is 4 courses plus chef's table serving fish, salad, breads, paté pancakes & a variety of other things for £29.95. Food was excellent quality and considering table size the service was very attentive so happy to pay the discretionary 10% service charge. Even at the bar service excelled with waiter/esses and drinks orders arrriving promptly. As this is a hotel the drinks are not cheap but worth it for a special occaision or if you just fancy splashing out in a nice environment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaf_oreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne V, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your post
It is great to hear we were a part of making your Mothers Day special . Our big Mal Sunday brunch really is something different and caters for all the family for that extra little treat. Pleased to hear both food and service was positive.
Hope you visit us again……Fathers day soon!
Many Thanks
Dianne Vukovich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
996 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,301 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,554 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel, Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
189 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £73 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing