We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous rooms - drinks horrendous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here with work in mid June. Looked like there was a significant work based clientèle.
Room was beautiful - spacious and elegant. Large bed, massive telly, great sized bathroom, with lovely free toiletries.Iron and ironing board in the room, which is great.
Agree with previous review - public areas almost in darkness, and the music just a little intrusive.
Food during day and in evening was very good, but being charged £3 for a coffee/tea after evening meal when on full board, seemed very petty.
The bar prices were frankly ridiculous. A large glass of sauvignon blanc was £12!!!! I didn't pay it ( a small was £9), but that it just exploitation. - effectively £36 a bottle for bog standard white wine.
The breakfast was fine - waitress tutted at me when I declined to squeeze into a very small space between two tables - cereals, fruit, juices - cranberry that was sweet enough to put my teeth on edge - were all help yourself. Hot breakfast was order, and i had the smoked salmon and scrambled egg. I asked for my egg to be really well scrambled and it wasn't but I didn't have time to complain/wait.
All told fine, but if I had paid the £185 that it said on the receipt, I would not have been too happy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,313)
There are newer reviews for Malmaison Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,400 - 1,406 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

My work colleague and I had a fabulous steak dinner here. Excellent quality. Service was good. Wine reasonably priced. I'd definitely recommend this restaurant if you like your steak cooked as requested and you don't mind spending just a little extra.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank bigdogharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

good value for money, the breakfast offered a large variety and was fresh. Would definitely stay here again and recommend for all occasions.The room was very large, and could not hear any noise from outside. The bathroom could have been a bit more updated.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mwilliams92111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stay in the hotel for two days. The first day I had breakfast in the hotel. It made me very disappointed that I have never tried the breakfast like that in UK. It changes expansive but not many choose.
The bed cover very dirty. I can tell it has not been wash for a long time.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Needed a hotel for 1 night in central Birmingham, and after extensive research on Google and Trip Advisor, chose Malmaison - getting a great deal helped as well !
Room was city facing but very quiet and had everything you might need - room for shopping bags and great toiletries !
Public areas very dimly lit and could barely read the menu in the Brasserie it was so dark.
Food was exceptional and reasonably priced but drinks very expensive.
Only criticisms - A service charge was automatically added to our bill for our meal. I prefer to tip staff myself for good service, we were unable to get this charge removed in the brasserie and tip personally - the personal tip would have been for more. Also had drinks in bar before dinner, served by a waiter without any issue, after dinner could not get served without going to bar ourselves.
We also made use of the spa facilities which were ok but plasters left around the edge of the Jacuzzi were a bit off putting.
Will stay again when next need a room in Birmingham for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Convenient location in the heart of the town so perfect for shopping etc. Nice enough hotel because we had a special offer deal so it made it good value but in all honesty had we been paying full price it would have been a bit of a let down. It wasn't as good as our stays at other Mal hotels such as Edinburgh and Oxford. Our room was spacious, modern and clean like all Mal standard rooms, similar to Manchester. Staff were helpful enough too. The evening meal was very good value from the pre fix menu and it didn't mean compromising on the quality of the food either. This was the best bit about our stay. It's also good to hand in your car parking token at reception and get the 15% discount as parking is expensive. Breakfast didn't taste as good as other Mal cooked breakfasts which is a shame considering the evening meal was so good. I'd compare this hotel to you usual chains such as Crowne Plaza which is fine but we'd usually expect that little bit more from a Mal stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicnjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely evening and we were welcomed with open arms. The service was immense and I think we met the best cocktail maker in existence Alps! Special thanks to Alps for adding to the evening! We will be back!! Arun

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Creme123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
941 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,086 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,577 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#9 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £83 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing