We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Birmingham
Ranked #22 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay ”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights for work and i had a lovely stay. The room was really comfortable and spacious and had a great view of the city. I also used the gym and spa, both of which were small but very well equipped.

The highlight though was the breakfast, there was a very good cold selection and then an excellent menu of hot breakfast dishes. The eggs Benedict was particularly good.

While I do agree with some of the other comments about the decor starting to get a bit tired, this didn't detract too much from the hotel for me.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie M, Manager at Malmaison Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent stay with Malmaison Birmingham, we are pleased to hear that you had a relaxing stay and that you enjoyed our fantastic mal breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards

Jamie Moss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    796
    396
    173
    110
See reviews for
168
951
77
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was very disappointed with my recent stay here.
On arrival reception staff were rude and disinterested, they went out of their way to be awkward.
On entering the room shocked to find the bed cover all stained.
Despite do not disturb notice - I had reports to write - I was interrupted twice.
Room was dark with no view except other aspects of the building.
On check out I found none of the information given at check in had been noted so all had to be gone through again making it lengthy.
This is not the usual standard from this chain and I was shocked by the standard set - I will loom elsewhere in Birmingham next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Good rooms, good but expensive restaurant....reasonable wine list with very good selection by the glass. WiFi not good enough for business use and really needs to be upgraded. High staff turnover. Safe but expensive parking. Near the canal and Mailbox which offers a good selection of cheaper dining options.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The service and attitude in the hotel was good, but the hotel itself is tired. The carpets are worn the rooms are a little ragged around the edges and the bathroom has a little ingrained dirt.
The wi-fi might as well not have existed, it never registered close to half a meg.
The room wasn't cleaned properly dirty glasses were left in the room and the bathroom was not cleaned. This was despite us calling reception and their reassuring us that housekeeping would come and redo the room and clear the glasses away - it never happened.
Generally the room was comfortable, though my wife the bed was too hard.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pablonewns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

As a brand, Malmaison never fails to deliver and this time was no different. From the prompt, warm welcome at reception, beautifully designed and kept room, and (the deal breaker) a good shower(!) I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Mark_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed for my 50th 5th & 6th July 2014. We upgraded to a junior suite and I have say the whole experience was great. Well done Malmaison team. The service was brilliant and I was made to feel special from the outset. Breakfast was really nice also. All in all we had a great experience and will be going back again in the future.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a junior suite on the 7th floor and it was great. Our adult kids each had a standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I thought I had tried the best of fine dinning in Birmingham but I'm a little disappointed with myself for leaving it so long before visiting here. But guess its a blessing in disguise as I may not have gone anywhere else if I had know how good it would be.

From the point of calling to make a reservation through to leaving, the experience was fabulous. I have to say our waiter (Andrew) was excellent, very knowledgable about the menus and complementing wines.

Being a self acclaimed steak connoisseur I was a little disappointed the menu only offered Rump and New York Strip steaks, but my apprehensions were proven wrong. The Lollipop Chicken was delicious, New York Strip cooked to perfection and a gorgeous Cheese cake to top it all off.

Will defiantly be visiting again soon.

You may even get to see a celeb.. Jeremy Kyle was sat on the next table to us... which made it my wife's best dinning experience so far.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Epicurean80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
922 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
2,985 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#33 of 117 in Birmingham
1,541 reviews
AC Hotel Birmingham
#17 of 117 in Birmingham
249 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Birmingham

Property: Malmaison Birmingham
Address: The Mailbox 1 Wharfside Street, Birmingham B1 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#10 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Malmaison Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Malmaison Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing