We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,569)
Filter reviews
2,569 results
Traveller rating
896
895
452
196
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
895
452
196
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharvey nicholsmailbox car parkmini barmail boxhotel bargood sizehot breakfaststandard roomafternoon teaclub roombars and restaurantscity centresaturday nightnew street stationlovely roomstayed for one nightfull english
Filter
Updating list...
2,392 - 2,397 of 2,569 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2009

An excellent hotel in a excellent position in the center of Birmingham.

The room was beautifull, confortable, large and above all very clean.
Excellent bed and bathroom.

Friendly staff always helpfull.

In the room there was a graet and helpfull FREE Internet connection.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic302nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Thanks to the very good corporate rate we are offered, we're currently working our way through all of the Malmaison's. The location of the Birmingham one is good, about 10 minutes walk to Corporation Street/the Bull Ring and the Mail Box is really quite nice. We wished we'd eaten in the Mailbox though as there was a lot of choice (and probably better than the Brasserie if you're not on an inclusive deal).

The £29 dinner for two with wine and coffee was very good value but the food was fairly bland, although the house white (Argentinian) was suprisingly good. You can also choose any wine from the list and they'll deduct £15 as part of the deal. The restaurant staff were lovely, although we basically had to serve ourselves in the bar and annoyingly ended up paying service charge for our bar tab as the waiter 'kindly' offered to transfer our bill over to the restaurant...be warned as service is added automatically!

The rooms are standard Mal, quite small but nicely decorated with good bathrooms and the toiletries are surely up there with the best as far as hotels go. The rooms are very quiet given the proximity to the busy road.

The spa is really lovely, bigger than the Manchester Mal but not quite as new. The spa pool is gorgeous! Mal breakfast's always seem to be good, and we didn't have to wait long at all however it was quite quiet on a Saturday morning.

An annoying niggle is that they don't have a hotel rate at the Mail Box carpark, which is overly steep at £16/24 hours. Suggest parking at the NCP Holloway across the dual carriageway (£14/24 hours) or the council car park opposite the hotel on Navigation Street (£13.50/24 hours or £1/hour).

All in all a really good hotel, especially if you can get one of their package deals.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexEee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed a romantic weekend here!
From the moment we arrived at the reception desk, the staff were so welcoming.
Room very clean and well presented, I love the quirky and vibrant decor!
Our Spa experience was outstanding, the ladies were very professional and I had a full consultation beforehand. Although my boyfriend wouldn't usually do the whole pamper thing, I don't think he would say no to another visit. The massage chairs were a very big hit!
Our Meal was superb, again well presented and very tasty. I would recommend the homegrown and local menu on the special deal - meal for 2 for £29. Wine and coffee also included!
We had no problem coming from the train station, with luggage, it's only a short walk on a flat road. Taxis no problem, right outside the hotel. I would certainly say "It's a hotel with many wonders," and visiting with a group of friends will be next on the agenda.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssimpson240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed at the Malmaison for one night as a treat midweek. The room was spacious, but as other guests have commented there are stains on sofas and bedding, which really should not be there. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was quiet considering its location. Happy with the room and bathroom.
The hotel has a great location and in the heart of the city.
Our only really disappointment was with the food and restaraunt, the claims of fine dining are wildly over exaggerated. The food is bland and you still feel hungary after eating. My husband had his very small starter of smoked salmon and asked if he could have some bread to go with it. A small piece of french stick arrived at a cost of £2.50!! It is all very over priced and pretentious. Its not cheap and you have to pay extra for any vegetables etc. The restaraunt has no atmosphere and the tables are so close together you feel as if you are eating with everyone else (not the romantic dinner we had envisaged) And the staff are so miserable! or were they just robots? How an earth they were voted best employer for 2008 beats us... as no one seemed to be enjoying working there, what happened to good old fashioned service with a smile?
Our advise is use the hotel but give the restaraunt a miss and eat outside in the Mailbox as there are some fantastic places to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

I used to really rate the Malmaison for both business and a weekend away but lately this one has not been up to scratch.

On the plus side - good sized rooms and lovely toiltetries in proper sized bottles. Nice warm decor, really quiet air con.

On the bad side - room service food is really not great - a steak and (very) limp chips cost nearly £20 plus service charge plus tray charge - it's extortion!! Breakfast is a nightmare - if you have an hour to chill out on a weekend then you probably won't mind whilst they take 15 minutes to bring your tea or coffee and then another 20 minutes to bring your cooked breakfast order (there is no hot buffet). The cold buffet is really lacking in much substance or originality - no cheese, cold meat, fruit salad or yoghurt. I have now got to the stage where I don't even have breakfast before leaving as it frustrates me too much. A good deal for them since it's included in my room rate!! I now only stay here if my other preferred choices are booked up. Might be ok for a Saturday night stay, but during the week - give it a miss!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scarlet-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews