We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointing - would not return.”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Really disappointing - would not return.”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We chose this hotel over Hotel Du Vin just to try something different at around the same price level. We stayed in the hotel on a Saturday night and checked in in the early evening.

I later found out there was some sort of event on in the bar that night, which partly explains why we were rather aggressively accosted by a suited doorman demanding our name to check off on his clipboard before we were barely out of the revolving doors. This, combined with the starkness of the entrance hall, didn't set us up with a very good welcome.

We had opted for the standard room - it looks nice on the website. But it's really all window dressing and just not as well designed as it could be.

Bad points of the room were as follows:
- There are no blinds or sheer curtains so even in daylight, if you want privacy, you have to draw the dark blackout curtains. I don't see why they don't put a frosting on the windows (unless other guests particularly enjoy the view of roadworks, multi storey carparks or block of flats around 20 metres away opposite looking in to the windows?!)
- The shower water pressure is pitiful and the water doesn't get hot enough. A really unsatisfying shower in what appears to be a fairly decent bathroom.
- The double beds have a join in the middle (ie two singles pushed together topped with a mattress topper which you can feel the join through)
- The bed sheets are not 100% cotton, they have a high content of man-made fibres, which makes them feel rough and bobbly and not luxurious at all. Horrible in fact.
- The kettle hadn't been emptied before our arrival (ok so we don't all empty our kettles at home, but in a hotel you expect it to be empty so you can use your own fresh water)
- The decor is meant to look designer and high-tech but our TV wasn't working (the hidden digi-box had been switched off by an unmarked button on the remote control).
- The anglepoise lamp on the desk, meant to look all modern and posh - doesn't actually angle. It's fixed (ie cheap), so if you want to use the space on the desk you have to pick the whole lamp up to turn it around.
- There isn't a clear Welcome Guide or any kind of room guide with room service details etc. It takes a while to find the one on the TV as you aren't told about it anywhere. If it was on a welcome homepage when you arrive this problem would be solved.
- If you have a room near the lift, like we did, beware of noise during the night by the heavy doors from the lift area banging. We were woken at 2am and again at 2.30am by noise from drunk people in the corridors.

The good points:
The breakfast was OK - fresh juices, nice jams and pastries, and the quality of the ingredients for the full english breakfast seemed good.
Checkout was quick using the checkout machines in the lobby.

In summary, it just isn't as nice as it looks, and isn't as good as it could be. It feels like they ran out of money after they'd bought all the touch screen telephones and click-wheel style light switches, and then had to go for cheaper furniture.

Compared to other value designer hotels, Hotel La Tour was disappointing on several levels. I would not recommend it and would not return.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room as far away from the lift as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel La Tour and for your feedback which we value. Your stay at the hotel coincided with an exclusive gig by the Loveable Rogues, fresh from the finals of Britain’s Got Talent. This is a unique and one off experience for the hotel and we now have a very unobtrusive pianist in the bar area every Friday and Saturday evening which I hope that you will enjoy.
You raise a number of points about your bedroom which did not meet your expectations and I can assure you we are looking at each and every one to ensure that we are improving and meeting all our guests’ expectations for the future. Without this valuable information we cannot hope to achieve our aim of being the best hotel to visit on Birmingham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    670
    231
    79
    42
See reviews for
193
1,143
54
557
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
strabane ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here 2 nights and found it a very comfortable modern hotel.Its easily accessible from New Street Station (5-10 mins walk) and 5 mins from there bullring.Rooms quiet and well equipped.WI-Fi worked well as did flat screen tv etc.Nice bathroom with large shower.Check in and check out are a bit quirky with the computerised kiosks a bit like a bank machine but they worked well.ANy staff I met were nice and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strabaneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay: your son left behind sweets from our café? Disaster! Please email your contact details and address to jane.riley@hotel-latour.co.uk so I can arrange for some replacements to be sent to keep him smiling until you have the chance to come back and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jewelsoo7
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Had an amazing time at Hotel La Tour. Took my 9 year old son for weekend away. Everything was brilliant but the best customer service ever experienced. Loveable rouges were playing and the whole event was very well managed. My son left his sweets from old fashioned sweet shop in bedroom drawer so planning his return to go back for another night to collect. Great stay and a special Thsnks to Michael at bar And restaurant who was very kind to my little boy. Thank you

Room Tip: City room was small but city hotel so expected
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelsoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Currently here. Hotel been open 6 weeks and at £110 a night it's rubbish. Rooms are too technical. Media interfaces don't work, telly is far too advanced and no instructions. Maintenance took over an hour to arrive. Shower is like p***ing in the rain. Speaker in bathroom is like talkin down 2 tin cans on a thread.

Hotel looks good but why not make sure it all works before opening. I am in Birmingham on business often and was looking forward to staying here but won't be back

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annanpiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
I’m sorry to hear that you had a few issues during your stay with us. We really do appreciate you letting us know your thoughts so early in our operational life and giving us the opportunity to put things right. We work very hard at La Tour to ensure we offer the highest level of service and value for money. I agree that we have had some teething problems with some areas of the product which have now been addressed.We have also implemented more training in these areas and hopefully next time you come you will be able to let us know your thoughts on how we have improved. Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Arrived at this hotel to check in unfortunately at the same time as many others. The hotel uses automated machines to check to you in, great in theory but a nightmare in practice. Having queued patiently at one, it went out of service. I then queued at the next machine, guess what I went out of service. The few staff there were on hand seemed totally untrained as to what to due in times of machine failure and peak demand. All in all, it took over 30 mins just to check in which is ridiculous. Surely, senior staff should make themselves available at times like this (to provide a contingency plan) to help rather than hide in the background? Once I finally got to my room, my TV would not come on and my desk light did not work. Regrettably, getting a drink at the bar later in the evening proved just as slow as checking in. It's shame, this is a nicely equipped modern hotel, but many of its systems are just not fit for purpose and I would not return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel la Tour Birmingham, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations in some areas. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel and provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the saturday night as we were in Birmingham to see the Happy Mondays,all i can say is the hotel is fantastic with great rooms and great staff willing to help you with anything you require.....! Excellent location as well for all parties......shoppers,clubbers or if you just want to enjoy all Birmingham has to offer.......will certainly return to this hotel soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collywill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Glad you had a good time at Hotel La Tour Birmingham! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough England
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights to shop and visit some of the sights in Birmingham. Takes about 5 mins to walk to the hotel from the station. On arrival there is no check in desk as you check in on a kiosk computer. This will be great when they get rid of the teething problems. Staff were very helpful in showing us to our room and showing how everything worked in the room. The rooms are very well specified and very comfortable. The room we had didnt have a bath but did have a very large walk in shower which was very nice. The location is great as its only a couple of minutes walk from the bull ring.

Only complaint is the wireless signal wast too good in our room so was hard to get a good connection.

In summary, great place, great staff and great location. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GBains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us at Hotel La Tour Birmingham, you will be happy to hear the issues with the Wiif concection has been resolved. I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,026 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,834 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
871 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing