We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel was pretty much brand new when i visited,so everything was brand new and up to date. The room was a little on the small side but pleasant and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent with a big walk in shower. Location is excellent. 5 mins walk from bullring shopping centre and new street railway station. Great hotel. I recommend! (i did not have breakfast as the hotel was so close to the centre i had breakfast out,rather than pay the inflated price that hotels seem to charge for sausage eggs and beans! £15 per person)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matty558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Hotel La Tour Birmingham during your recent stay. Thanks very much for all your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Kind regards
Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,324
    621
    218
    76
    40
See reviews for
178
1,052
51
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We arrived at an unexpectedly beautiful hotel for a dear friends special bithday with a lovely reception area which gave a real sense of space in modern surroundings. There is an option of self service check in /out or the traditional manned check in. Trey on reception who welcomed us was brilliant and a credit to the hotel and also was the theme running through the hotel the staff were brilliant and so friendly without being over the top. Our room was spotlessly clean modern and really nice with lots of hi tech features with White Company products in the bathroom and for the first time for me a really comfortable bed and pillows.We had some fantastic bar snacks which swayed us into eating at the restaurant that night and what a treat that was .from the excellent service to the wine menu on i pads and of course really really good tasty food the night was faultless . Breakfast followed in a similar theme with a fantastic array of food in a buffet style accompanied by that now trademark brilliant service. This hotel is really a great find with tremendous staff comfortable spotless rooms and great food whats not to like . Brilliant

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
The whole team at Hotel La Tour Birmingham are working hard to deliver excellent customer service so it's particularly welcome to hear you had such a great time: I'll make sure your comments are passed on to Trey and looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have eaten here twice now & on both occassions it has been outstanding.

The Room, was very modern but slick, so this gave me a sense of money well spent.

Staff were great esspecially the guy on reception who made you feel welcome.

Great breakfast ranging from full english to continental (inc in room rate)

4 minute walk to the ball ring & main birmingham shops.

Parking, £5 which was in the bullring main carpark for as long as you like or their is an open air carpark directly over the road. (mak sure you get your tixket validated at the hotel reception)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chapman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
So pleasd to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for leaving your comments and tips. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

ok, where do i start, the negative reviews on here are from people who have no life, who in their right mind would go into a hotel room and inspect the labels on bed sheets? sad lonely people, so please ignore the sad peoples reviews as they are probably from other hotels, ok, my opinion of this hotel and its staff, I WANT TO STAY HERE AGAIN AND AGAIN, from the moment i stepped into the reception till i walked out the next morning i couldnt find fault.

the reception staff at check in and check out were on hand to amke sure it went smoothly as it did. the bar staff all served with a smile and a polite hello. the standard room was spacious enough for my partner and i, i was on the 4th floor and the floor to ceiling window wasnt a problem. the monsoon shower was amazing, plenty of hot water and pressure. plenty of towels also. the bed and pillows were amazing, bouncy pillows and a mattress topper made it very comfortable.

i asked for a taxi to be called to take my partner and i to the theatre, the reason for our trip to birmingham, and i waited 4 minutes from asking to the taxi arriving, perfect service.

i would definately be recommending this hotel to m family and friends and will definately be staying again.

i cannot comment on the quality of the food as i didnt eat in the hotel but probably will next time.

ignore the negativity on this hotel as it is only sour grapes by the minority

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padsybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind regards
Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Every year my friend and I meet in Birmingham for a weekend of shopping. We chose Hotel La Tour because of previous positive Tripadvisor reviews and a good rate inclusive of breakfast. The location is great: 10 min walk from New St and 5 mins walk to the Bullring, however, it isn't a particularly attractive part of town and is currently surrounded by road works. Our room looked out onto the road works but the double glazing is excellent so we had a good night's sleep. The room itself is well appointed but quite small for a twin with two narrow beds. We had a couple of drinks on the terrace of the bar on Saturday early evening and although it wasn't busy the service was inattentive, no one offered drinks even though my glass was empty and we had to go into the bar to ask for the bill. Breakfast was nicely presented although there was not a huge selection. It looks like the area is being redeveloped and I'm sure in a couple of years the location will improve but for a 24 hour shopping trip away from the kids it was ideal.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishfingersplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband as my daughter lives in Birmingham. The Hotel is stunning, you can tell a lot of thought has gone into this place! I wasn't sure about the fancy checking kiosks at first (being older I'm not au fair with technology) but they were actually very straight forward, a bit like airport checking.
The rooms are very comfortable-great beds, with a choice of hard/soft pillows which my husband liked. The newspaper on the loo made us chuckle, which turned out to be the menu/hotel brochure..we took that with us! The view wasn't great, but we weren't really worried as we were going out.
We had a drink in the bar, which was very pleasant my husband was spoilt for choice with the selection of beers and Ales, and the furnishings are lovely. We didn't have dinner, but really wish we had as the menu looks fabulous..but we made up for it at breakfast,I liked that breakfast ran until 11am and was definitely worth the extra £12 we paid when we booked.
We had a trip out to Warwick the next day, 30mins on a train which was a spur of the moment thing, the train station is just next to the hotel.
The biggest thing for me though was the staff, they just can't do enough for you, (checking train times for us and delivering them to our table at breakfast) everywhere in the hotel we were greeted with a smile and a hello, they clearly love theyre jobs! I definitely would recommend staying here..and for such a classy hotel, it's not expensive!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour.
Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel la Tour for a family celebration weekend and stayed in one of the superior rooms which was very chic and classy. The bed was super comfy and the tv in the bathroom was the icing on the cake. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and despite the fact it was really busy (a group called the Loveable Rogues were providing entertainment in the bar which made for a great atmosphere) the customer service and attention afforded us by the staff was first class. The food which is Marcus Wareing inspired was nothing short of sensational - i cannot recommend the pork belly highly enough! All in all the hotel is smart, fresh and designer with some nice technology to boot. The check in machines were easy to use and just as quick for check out although there was always plenty of helpful staff nearby in case of any difficulties. To round off a perfect weekend the mighty hammers won promotion back to the premier league and I was able to relive the magic over and over on the tv in the room which had a recording facility (a bit like sky+). Finally a quick mention about cafe ezra where we enjoyed a nice hot chocolate before checkout. The lady in there was lovely with our baby daughter and kept her happy with a few sneaky marshmallows! Will we be back? Definitely.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lock-Keeper-tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your very kind words, happy to hear you were impressed so much with the service, food and gadgets. My team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.Look luck to West Ham next season. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour soon... may be when the hammers play Aston Villa ????
Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing