We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic New Hotel”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on my birthday as a treat from my Fiancée, the hotel looked great and was matched by the service. From the time we arrived nothing was too much trouble, staff were very friendly and resturant staff knowledgable about the food. Apparently staff were picked for personality as well as ability. We say at the chefs table for our meal as our table was late, was great to see in the kitchen and the staff were very attentive. Head waiter kept coming to see how we were and answered all our questions about food and hotel. Would recommend this to anyone, as for value I gave 5 as I didn't pay but was great value. The food was fantastic from bar snacks to evening meal and breakfast!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asbotwoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts, we really value your feedback and we are glad you had a great birthday . I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    647
    223
    78
    41
See reviews for
183
1,090
54
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed over in Birmingham for our 5th wedding anniversary and after multiple reviews decided on the Hotel La Tour as it looked modern and close to the city centre.
The check in was very easy and the staff very polite and helpful.
The room was really nice with all mod con. The bed was very confortable and the bathroom was really clean and nice. You can order the pillows you need. We ordered a taxi which was well organised. We also ordered breakfast to our room was really yummy and the service was prompt and efficient. I would definitely go back there.
We did not try the restaurant but it looked reasonably price and high quality. maybe next time !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome_worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your 5th wedding anniversary here with us at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at Hotel La Tour, Birmingham in August 2012. My partner and I fancied a break and saw this Hotel on line and booked it. We arrived in Birmingham at 11am however our check in wasn't until 3pm. I rang the hotel and asked them if we could check in early, they was very welcoming and said it was fine... Great we thought, lets go and Explore!!!
The hotel room was amazing!! Very modern! Touch screen everything-but very easy to use, big shower, tv, ironing board, iron, selction of hot drinks and biscuits. Was Lush!!!
The staff was lovely and very welcoming!!
We explored the shopping centre and went on the very well known 'Broard Street'. At night we went to the Mailbox and had a lovely meal on the canal.
The next morning we went down for breakfast were yet agin the staff made sure we was happy and brought us coffee etc, the breakfast was set out lovely with a full english to help yourself to as well as muffins, yoghurt, fruit, and many more choices.

We had late check out until 2pm which was lovely as we got to relax in the beautiful room. Once 2pm came we checked out! We both didnt want to leave!!!!

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here through groupon deal so was quite cheap. Modern hotel near centre but stunning views??? Mainly carparks!
Check in machines which all but one were broken and needed a guy to help you check in anyway
Rooms were nice enough but the a/c would not go above 22 and the room felt really cold
Returned to room after evening out to find half the street outside full of diggers and a crane which ended up outside the window and was really noisy the main desk said it would stop at 1am which was actually 1:30 (if they had known this would happen why not have us in another room!) next morning breakfast queue was silly so silly they have a table by the queue with flasks of coffee while you wait! Plenty of room and space why not have few more tables
Overall would not rush back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel La Tour, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour, Birmingham and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Hotel La Tour is a brilliant hotel to hold an event. The staff are knowledgable, friendly and efficient and made us feel that our day conference was as important to them as it was to us.

From our initial contact with the Events Co-ordinator we were made to feel valued and welcome. The conference facilities (room, equipment and a really good break out area) are excellent and being able to have a delicious hot lunch in a the well appointed restaurant was a bonus, particularly as delegates had travelled from all over the country.

The hotel is new to Birmingham and on our experience deserves to do well.

Room Tip: We didn't have accommodation so cannot comment but the conference facilities are excellent/
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NationalPortageAssoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and conference at Hotel La Tour Birmingham the team will be delighted with your comments, Claire and Tom enjoy serving you all in the Auden rooms please come again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed overnight during the weekend. The hotel was as described by other reviewers and staff were all very helpful. A pity there is no option for a early check in but we were able to store our bags at the hotel until 3pm. Breakfast was very good.
The only minus was that the sound travels and when other guests arrive back in the early hours of the morning and make A LOT of noise, this does tend to wake the other guests up. I did hear a ?staff member come up and knock on the door and the noise settled.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwidocLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback and I am sorry that you had a distrubed nights sleeps, but glad my nights team were able to sort this quite quickly.I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amybu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel La Tour through a deal we had booked through Secret Escapes (bed, breakfast and dinner). The hotel is well located a short walk from the Bullring and the main shopping area of Birmingham. On arrival we used the self check in but there was also a very helpful and friendly member of staff on hand who helped. The first impression of the hotel (exterior and lobby) is excellent - modern, well presented and clean. Our room was an Executive room on the 6th floor. It was plenty large enough with a modern, clean and spacious bathroom, a huge, incredibly comfy bed and a nice chaise/day bed with pretty good views of area and Selfridges. There was a small tea/coffeee making area, a slimline wardrobe with ironing board/hairdryer and a large TV.
In the evening we had drinks in the bar which was a lovely space with comfortable seats and a very relaxing (and talented) pianist. We were pleasantly suprised with the price of the drinks menu given that this is a new, luxury hotel in the middle of Birmingham (£5ish for a glass of prosecco) We then ate in the Aalto restaurant. The food was delicious and well portioned and the waiting staff were friendly and curteous. We were talking to our waitress (sorry, I didnt take your name..but was young with a Geordie accent!) and mentioned that it was our anniversary and also our last weekend away before our baby arrives in October. She was very sweet and chatty.
After our meal she brought out a lovely plate with chocolate writing saying 'Happy Anniversary and Congratulations' and some truffles. Such a lovely gesture that really rounded off our great meal.
After a sound nights sleep the breakfast the next day was plentiful (fruit, cereal, breads, pastries, cooked food).
We had a fantastic weekend away and thought the service, food, and room at Hotel La Tour was fantastic and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and I will pass your feedback to Jo (the Geordie waitress). I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing