We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful surprise!”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just returned from a weekend away with friends and wanted to post a review on this, a fantastic hotel. The service was outstanding and consistent across everyone we met. The hotels decor is fresh and modern, cleanliness was first class - but the biggest surprise of all was the standard of food in the restaurant - outstanding! Beautiful devilled mackerel to start, followed by sea bass. I have stated in many hotels up and down the UK and could not fault this one bit - well done to all the obviously very dedicated staff! Will definitely return....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AD_1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and the food at Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    655
    226
    79
    42
See reviews for
187
1,109
54
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed on business last few days and it was a revelation! I was looking for something close to the Bullring as I was working nearby and couldn't have picked a better spot. When staying on business we like to find something a bit different from the 4 star chains and this fit the bill perfectly.
Selfridges is only 100 yards away so you couldn't be closer if you're in town to shop.
It's not cheap but is in line with any Hilton/Ramada type hotel, but so much more individual and with chic. contemporary interiors, state of the art electronics in room, fine food and friendly staff. What more do you want whether on business or pleasure? Boutique hotels are usually smaller (this has 174 rooms) but everything is new and immaculately clean. Being city centre parking is not on site but the hotel has done a deal with Selfridges/Moor St (among others) where you can park for the duration for £5! Where else can you get a deal like that? the only downside is the walk back from the car park to the hotel at night (about five minutes) - might be a bit off putting as it feels a little seedy, but if you are getting there during the day or whilst the shopping centre is still open and buzzing it is fine. Check in and check out was speedy and room (even standard double) was spacious and comfortable with great contemporary design. I liked it so much I'm taking the wife back for a shopping trip in a few weeks!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpookyDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Hotel La Tour Birmingham during your recent stay. Thanks very much for all your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you next time
regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

This is a fabulous hotel. The service is excellent and the whole place has style. It is on a par with some if the best hotels we have stayed in in Europe. Faultless. Can't wait for a reason to go back to birmingham to go again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S94744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on my birthday as a treat from my Fiancée, the hotel looked great and was matched by the service. From the time we arrived nothing was too much trouble, staff were very friendly and resturant staff knowledgable about the food. Apparently staff were picked for personality as well as ability. We say at the chefs table for our meal as our table was late, was great to see in the kitchen and the staff were very attentive. Head waiter kept coming to see how we were and answered all our questions about food and hotel. Would recommend this to anyone, as for value I gave 5 as I didn't pay but was great value. The food was fantastic from bar snacks to evening meal and breakfast!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asbotwoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts, we really value your feedback and we are glad you had a great birthday . I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed over in Birmingham for our 5th wedding anniversary and after multiple reviews decided on the Hotel La Tour as it looked modern and close to the city centre.
The check in was very easy and the staff very polite and helpful.
The room was really nice with all mod con. The bed was very confortable and the bathroom was really clean and nice. You can order the pillows you need. We ordered a taxi which was well organised. We also ordered breakfast to our room was really yummy and the service was prompt and efficient. I would definitely go back there.
We did not try the restaurant but it looked reasonably price and high quality. maybe next time !!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerome_worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your 5th wedding anniversary here with us at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at Hotel La Tour, Birmingham in August 2012. My partner and I fancied a break and saw this Hotel on line and booked it. We arrived in Birmingham at 11am however our check in wasn't until 3pm. I rang the hotel and asked them if we could check in early, they was very welcoming and said it was fine... Great we thought, lets go and Explore!!!
The hotel room was amazing!! Very modern! Touch screen everything-but very easy to use, big shower, tv, ironing board, iron, selction of hot drinks and biscuits. Was Lush!!!
The staff was lovely and very welcoming!!
We explored the shopping centre and went on the very well known 'Broard Street'. At night we went to the Mailbox and had a lovely meal on the canal.
The next morning we went down for breakfast were yet agin the staff made sure we was happy and brought us coffee etc, the breakfast was set out lovely with a full english to help yourself to as well as muffins, yoghurt, fruit, and many more choices.

We had late check out until 2pm which was lovely as we got to relax in the beautiful room. Once 2pm came we checked out! We both didnt want to leave!!!!

BEAUTIFUL HOTEL!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here through groupon deal so was quite cheap. Modern hotel near centre but stunning views??? Mainly carparks!
Check in machines which all but one were broken and needed a guy to help you check in anyway
Rooms were nice enough but the a/c would not go above 22 and the room felt really cold
Returned to room after evening out to find half the street outside full of diggers and a crane which ended up outside the window and was really noisy the main desk said it would stop at 1am which was actually 1:30 (if they had known this would happen why not have us in another room!) next morning breakfast queue was silly so silly they have a table by the queue with flasks of coffee while you wait! Plenty of room and space why not have few more tables
Overall would not rush back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel La Tour, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour, Birmingham and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,677 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing