We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of this world!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of this world!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

I purchased a groupon voucher for the restaurant and thought we may as well make a day/night of it so booked a room as well we booked an executive room with breakfast real value for money.
When arriving at the hotel earlier than check in time we were greeted by marco who was happy to see if the room was ready which it was then we were upgraded to a suite which was a lovely surprise we were then greeted by trey another guy behind reception who was lovely also asking us what we were doing for the weekend I told them it was my birthday so the upgrade was a nice treat.
Wow the room out of this world couldn't fault it even if I wanted to so clean and very modern the view of the bullring was amazing as I didn't have far to go shopping haha!!!
So after shopping what a way to relax nothing better than unwinding in a deep bath watching television sipping tea although you had the option of a glass of wine from our fridge complementary bottle of course but being pregnant this was my other option.
Ready to go down to the restaurant we stopped at the bar for a drink were we were greeted by Joanne very well presented lovely to talk to,we then headed to the Restaraunt sat at a table for two and had the best food ever six courses and I was so full I was then presented with a plate saying "Happy birthday!!" with some chocolates on lovely touch and then also given a small box of chocolates gift wrapped in a box the service here was of highest standard and quality.
Woke in the morning after the most amazing sleep I've had in a long time went down for breakfast were they do a buffet breakfast loads to choose from I had fruit to start which was fresh and then a full English which was amazing,we then checked out early to do a little bit more shopping and have to say I can't wait to come back again this is certainly a hotel I would recommend to family and friends and cannot wait to come back again this is a five star plus hotel for me and a huge pat on the back for all the staff that work there just incredible thank you for the most amazing stay!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzaovestimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

It delights us to read about your comments and clearly from your arrival all the way through your stay until your departure our staff have excelled and helped to make your experience a memorable one.

Your comments will be shared with the team and we hope to see you back again in the future.

Many Thanks

Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,328
    622
    220
    76
    40
See reviews for
178
1,055
51
517
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Booked la tour hotel for 2 nights executive room as we were going to see lionel ritchie in concert at nec. Quick check in fabulous room food excellent and staff very friendly. Book this hotel you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodgkinson1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

It delights us to read you enjoyed your experience here at Hotel La Tour.

I am sure you would have had a great time going to see Lionel Richie and should you return to Birmingham we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

In the meantime

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aldridge,west midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Stayed here on Friday night with my husband and friends. We had a fabulous room,very modern boutique style with every luxury we coulD need. The bar area is spacious and stylish and staff very friendly and helpful.
we didn't eat out evening meal in the hotel but breakfast was luvly, plenty of choice, very relaxed not rushed.
Overall this was the best hotel we have stayed in in Birmingham and we will definitely be returning again soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minimaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
I would to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a comment on trip advisor.

With Birmingham having a number of excellent hotels already in the city we very much appreciate your positive comments following your recent stay here at Hotel La Tour.

We hope to see you back here again soon in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

With three of our party flying in specially from various parts of Europe, expectations were high for a great family reunion at the Hotel La Tour - and it didn't disappoint. We had a great deal for DBB, in Executive rooms, for our weekend stay.

Clearly, the hotel is the place to be on a Saturday night - the bar was buzzing and the restaurant was completely full. We enjoyed pre-dinner cocktails, before heading in to the restaurant for a delicious dinner.

With exceedingly friendly staff, a good location for shopping, a really comfy bed and White Company toiletries in the bathroom - we couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor.

It delights us to read such positive comments following your stay with us.

I hope you and your family had a great weekend here in Birmingham all together and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Many Thanks

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
towcester
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

an excellent addition to the Birmingham hotel scene, great room, great staff and a wonderful breakfast. Park in the overground car park, take the right just after the hotel, much cheaper and more convenient than the Selfridgfes multi storey.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulwTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

We do appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments on our Rooms / Staff and your breakfast experience the following morning.

We hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I stayed here for one night this weekend and would definitely stay again. The location couldn't be better - close to the Bullring, rail stations and car parks which others have said you get for £5 if you get your ticket stamped by the hotel.

The hotel looks brand new and the rooms are very nicely furnished with all the mod cons. We had the most basic room it had everything we needed although shower caps would be useful due to the design of the shower.

We didn't eat but did have drinks in the bar after our night out. The only downer was that the bar stops serving cocktails after 11pm. There was no explanation as to why and I thought it might be due to lack of staff but there were 3 people behind the bar at midnight. I would be interested to know why this is.

Anyway, the staff on check in and check out were very pleasant, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Go on and treat yourself to a short city break!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to right a review on trip advisor.

It delights me to read that in nearly every aspect of your stay with us we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed yourselves here at Hotel La Tour

With a particular mention to Daniel our restaurant manager and our Head chef Alex Penhaligon I will ensure your comments are shared with them and their teams.

We hope to see you back in Birmingham in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel La Tour to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist, who offered us an early check-in [we arrived at 10.30am]. Once we had been told where the restaurant, cafe, bar, gym and lifts were located we made our way to our room. What fantastic rooms! They have all the technology you would expect from a modern hotel and plenty of space for a short stay. I would have liked a little more in room information, maybe a folder on how to program all the gadgets and some local information but it in no way affected our stay. We did request an ice bucket and bottle opener [normally found in most hotel rooms] but were told there would be a £5 charge to have this delivered to the room! This is a huge charge and I hope the hotel review their policy on this as it didn't seem a justifiable amount just to have an ice bucket sent up to us.
We had an evening meal reservation for Aalto and Daniel greeted us with a smile and a warm welcome. The food was delightful, My husband had the Scallops to start and I chose the Pigeon. Both were cooked perfectly and the flavours were just wonderful. For main I had the Braised Pork Cheeks which were melt in the mouth, and hubby had the Ribeye, rare. He said it was a delicious steak and cooked just to his liking. There was a chap at the side of us who had ordered the steak too - well done, but complained of it being dry. The staff were fantastic at dealing with this gentleman, I was very tempted to tell him that if you order over cooked meat what do you except!
We finished with a plate of the Truffles between us, Oh my goodness, they were wonderful! I wish I'd ordered a portion to go!
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and attentive staff. The sausages and hash browns were a highlight though!
All in all we had a terrific time at Hotel La Tour and would definitely stay there again. Well done to all the staff and management for making this a top class hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheReginaFalange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your recent response on Trip Advisor following your stay here in Birmingham.

I am very glad you chose to stay here with us in Birmingham and it delights me as to how memorable your experience has been celebrating your wedding anniversary here at Hotel La Tour.

We do very much appreciate your comments also on your dining experience in Aalto restaurant and I will ensure your comments are passed onto Alex and his kitchen team and Daniel and his restaurant team. Following the change of our menu in recent weeks these comments will be welcomed by the teams.

I am glad you had such a terrific time and hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Kinnes – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing