We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small missing things”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed in La Tour for work and unfortunately booked the wrong room - city view room. Apparently the higher class rooms have more amenities and the "small things" I missed in my room - table where to put stuff (there is a desk, but no other space where to put things - I used the ironing board), face cloth (other towels all in order), cups where to put toothbrush and toothpaste, window from which sun would enter (with a side window you get no sunlight at all), hanger for the coat (you either hang it in the super tiny wardrobe or put it on the chair). It has a potential to be a great hotel, but great hotels pay attention to details even in lower class rooms. One definitely positive side - great cafè in the lobby area!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share a response on trip advisor.

Clearly our City Double Room has not lived up to your expectations from your comments you have mentioned above.

I would like to mention that all rooms feature the same technology and specifications no matter what grade of room however the Executive & Superior Rooms are just larger in terms of floor space.

A lovely mention at the end about Café Ezra – we are working hard to raise the awareness of our Café and improve the products we have available so I appreciate your comments.

I hope you will still consider staying here with us in the future and if we can assist in advance to ensure you are allocated a Room with larger floor space please do not hesitate to contact a member of our Front of House team who will be happy to help.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,226 - 2,232 of 2,505 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

I travel around with work and have stayed right from the worst to the higher end hotel and this is one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure to stay in.

Very modern, rooms are great and well kitted out..You can even have your laptop on the in-room plasma screen..You dont get that everywhere...

The bar is a great place to meet and chill with good sounding music in a modern looking area...The restaurant really does impress with a brilliant feel and continued back ground music to keep you company when dining alone! The food is brilliant with service to match.

A 4* hotel with a 5* feel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheThirstyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share a response on trip advisor.

In designing Hotel La Tour we worked hard to ensure it created a modern, fresh and contemporary feel. It delights me to read that you have felt this throughout the whole hotel and when in the restaurant the food and service were to a high standard also.

When you return to Birmingham we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just recently stayed at the above hotel for 2 nights visiting family.. We found the hotel to be in a class of its own, fantastic room as we stayed in a suite, we dined in Aalto on the first night and found the food and service to be excellent, would highly recommend a visit.. The front of house staff are all very friendly indeed and all stop to have a chat with you..We look forward to staying here again on our next visit..

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

It delights me to read your comments about the hotel with particular mention towards your Suite and Aalto restaurant. I am glad you found the service excellent and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend us to other guests.

Should you be returning to Birmingham anytime soon in the future to visit your family again I hope we will welcome you back at Hotel La Tour.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Had a 1st class meal with outstanding service. We choose this resturant for my mother in laws 80th birthday meal. All of our party had agreed that the meal, service and hotel were 4* and more. We are sure that the resturant will top the best of Birmingham resturants.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor after dining in our Aalto restaurant.

I will ensure your comments are shared with the Food & Beverage teams as we continue to work hard to ensure our standards are maintained at the highest level.

We hope to see you dining with us again soon.

Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one night at the end of October. We found the hotel clean and very modern with friendly helpful staff.
The hotel is situated a 2-3 minute walk from the Bull Ring shopping centre. Its location is great but the immediate surrounding area is under renovation and is currently quite rough. Upgrading to a room with a view is not recommended as you will not get much of a view!
The shower was a large walk in but we found that the water was not hot enough for our liking.
The breakfast was an adequate buffet, both English and continental. There was not the range of options you would expect for a full continental option but the English was as expected.
For a modern hotel like this we would have expected such things as an IPOD dock or stereo stystem but this was not present. Free WiFi was available however

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a recent review on Hotel La Tour.

Hotel La Tour is in the city centre of Birmingham and we are pleased our location suits most of our guests. Unfortunately you are correct in stating that the area surrounding Hotel La Tour is under renovation from Moor Street Station all the way down to Millennium Point which is due to be completed in the next 1-2years.

In every bedroom we have installed media hubs that are linked to our flat screen TV’s and although there isn’t an IPOD docking station you will find any media device can be played through a jack plug.

Once again many thanks.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We have just stayed at the fabulous Hotel La Tour in Birmingham. We were attending a function where 140 guests were enjoying a Champagne tasting evening and a five course meal at their Aalto Resturant.
Firstly the bedroom was lovely, very high standard of finish, very clean and cosy. The shower was about the best I have experienecd in a hotel.
The bar area was very welcoming, very stylish and I really like the way that you felt as though you were part of the whole hotel.
The food was amazing, the chefs worked really hard to cater for such a large party and they delivered 5 courses of supurb quality food. A real joy. The waitors were equally excellant, pleasent and attentive. A turely memorable evening in a fantastic hotel.
Well done to all at Hotel La Tour, I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Hotel La Tour following your evening with us.

I am glad you found all aspects of the hotel to a very high standard.

The Champagne Academy function was clearly a very successful evening in Aalto restaurant where the celebration of champagne complemented with great food prepared by Alex Penhaligon and team was all-in-all a fabulous event which everyone enjoyed.

Look out in the future on Twitter and on our website as we plan to organise other events similar to this.

Hope to see you back in Birmingham soon.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stylish hotel, absolutely spotlessly clean, dinner in Aalto restaurant was exceptional with very attentive service, three different members of staff actually stopped and had a chat with us despite being busy and this made us feel very special and then we had surprise truffles at the end of the meal to mark my husbands birthday, executive room was fabulous with views over Birmingham. Loved the option of breakfast in the Cafe if you dont want a large meal - they made the best bacon sandwiches!! Cafe is also a nice option to the noisy Bullring for lunch or a coffee and only five mins walk from Selfridges. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne1Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

It delights me to read that you have had a great time here at Hotel La Tour celebrating your Husbands birthday. I will ensure your comments are shared with the teams in the hotel and we all hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,138 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,010 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,546 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £76 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing