We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #10 of 119 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very clean modern hotel in excellent city centre location. We stayed for 2 nights and had breakfast both days and used the restaurant on one evening. Food was very good for both. Staff were very helpful and friendly and rooms were excellent with all the latest in hotel technology. Also very quiet considering the location. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,297 - 2,303 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Had a great time staying at this hotel, it looks fabulous and the service was great. It's also in the centre of Birmingham and close to moor st station. Their customer service is five star and I would definitely visit again

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

It delights me to read that you have had a great time staying at the hotel however what thrill’s me even more is such positive comments with regards to the customer service you have received during your stay.

We hope to see you back again soon when you return to Birmingham.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Brilliant hotel, cannot find fault with anything about it. Received a nice warm welcome when I arrived at reception, excellent facilities in the room, very comfortable bed and superb bathroom facilities. Breakfast had a wide range of food which was very well presented and cooked. Will certainly stay here the next time i'm in Birmingham.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maninblue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Many thanks for your recent comments on trip advisor.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others and we are glad
that all aspects of your stay here at Hotel La Tour have met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again soon when you return to Birmingham.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Fantastic hotel, hi tech rooms, stayed in an executive room... all the gadgets you could need,bathroom superb, bed huge & comfortable,staff excellent a credit to the Hotel, breakfast on Sunday morning buffet style, changed slightly on Monday morning to buffet style for cold breakfast & made to order hot breakfast which was also excellent.Didn't get chance to dine in Aalto so can't comment but the menu did look good! Would we recommend The Hotel LaTour absolutely!! Excellent stay .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ishywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.

I am delighted to read your positive comments about the hotel and that you have enjoyed all aspects of your stay including all of our gadgets we have fitted as standard in all our bedrooms in the hotel.

We hope to see you back again soon and hopefully have the chance to dine in Aalto restaurant.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel overnight and enjoyed the stay. This hotel is new and well appointed. Rooms are modern and very comfortable. Bathroom is complemented by a large walk in shower. Touch controls for the lighting and air conditioning but the cupboard space would be a little small if you were stopping for a long period. The breakfast was buffet style but very tasty.Very handy position for walking 5 minutes to the Bullring shopping centre.All told can recommend and would return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thompsons3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor.

I am delighted to read your positive comments about the hotel and that you have enjoyed your stay and all of our controls and layout of the walk-in showers.

Our location is very central in Birmingham so I am glad this has pleased you too. I very much hope we welcome you back at Hotel La Tour in the future.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I stayed in La Tour for work and unfortunately booked the wrong room - city view room. Apparently the higher class rooms have more amenities and the "small things" I missed in my room - table where to put stuff (there is a desk, but no other space where to put things - I used the ironing board), face cloth (other towels all in order), cups where to put toothbrush and toothpaste, window from which sun would enter (with a side window you get no sunlight at all), hanger for the coat (you either hang it in the super tiny wardrobe or put it on the chair). It has a potential to be a great hotel, but great hotels pay attention to details even in lower class rooms. One definitely positive side - great cafè in the lobby area!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share a response on trip advisor.

Clearly our City Double Room has not lived up to your expectations from your comments you have mentioned above.

I would like to mention that all rooms feature the same technology and specifications no matter what grade of room however the Executive & Superior Rooms are just larger in terms of floor space.

A lovely mention at the end about Café Ezra – we are working hard to raise the awareness of our Café and improve the products we have available so I appreciate your comments.

I hope you will still consider staying here with us in the future and if we can assist in advance to ensure you are allocated a Room with larger floor space please do not hesitate to contact a member of our Front of House team who will be happy to help.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I travel around with work and have stayed right from the worst to the higher end hotel and this is one of the best hotels I have had the pleasure to stay in.

Very modern, rooms are great and well kitted out..You can even have your laptop on the in-room plasma screen..You dont get that everywhere...

The bar is a great place to meet and chill with good sounding music in a modern looking area...The restaurant really does impress with a brilliant feel and continued back ground music to keep you company when dining alone! The food is brilliant with service to match.

A 4* hotel with a 5* feel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheThirstyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share a response on trip advisor.

In designing Hotel La Tour we worked hard to ensure it created a modern, fresh and contemporary feel. It delights me to read that you have felt this throughout the whole hotel and when in the restaurant the food and service were to a high standard also.

When you return to Birmingham we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 119 in Birmingham
1,004 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 119 in Birmingham
3,335 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 119 in Birmingham
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#27 of 119 in Birmingham
2,486 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#2 of 119 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England (Formerly Hotel La Tour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 119 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £67 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Birmingham has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing