We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and restaurant”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Book through the Hotel La Tour website for dinner, room, and breakfast and was massively impressed.

Food and service were excellent and the room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was the best we have had at a hotel. Only paid £129 all in and that includes £60 off your dinner bill.

Amazing good value, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarson46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    655
    226
    79
    42
See reviews for
187
1,109
54
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed for a Saturday night and really felt welcomed by the friendly staff. We ate in the restaurent and really enjoyed the food. Best part was the excellent breakfast. Lots of choice, well presented and all fresh and warm. Also lots of helpful cheery staff which gave a pleasant atmosphere. Only minor gripe was lack of bathtub - even in the exec room (although do appreciate this is a city location). However a design fault on the walk in shower meant a very wet floor ( hope they can sort that as the rooms and decor are lovely).

All in all a great deal - good packages available as well as cheap, secure parking at Selfridges. Definitely recommended and will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarka0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Thanks so much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with us as this is how we are able to continually improve the service that we offer. It’s also a great boost to our staff to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay – there’s nothing like a pat on the back to make someone’s day.
regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Please stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed ,the rooms are brilliant ours had touch button controls for the lighting,a king size bed and even a tv in the bath room. the staff are great and couldn't do enough for you and all this in a great central location.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for your great review we are so pleased that you enjoyed Hotel La Tour. We have worked so hard to provide a product that guest will love and all of the team are then determined to offer the very best in customer care. We hope to see you again soon. regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

we went for a large party, very pleasant ,,, cant rememeber too much about it,, very good party.
breakfast was a blur,, dinner more so, but can say it was clean, tidy, staff were pleasant,,,
Rooms were clean, bed was comfy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review it sounds like you had a great time which we are very pleased about. Do come back soon when I hope that you can remember more about your visit but it was good to read that the parts not a blur were good! Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

When me and my friend arrived at the hotel both the service and accommodation were fabulous, 5* cosmopolitan luxury is how I'd describe this hotel. The room was beautiful, the bed so comfy! The touchscreen for the lighting added an extra sense of class and luxury to the hotel. The bathroom was so spacious and the shower was amazing! The bar staff were extremely friendly and the food from the hotel restaurant was beautiful! An overall great stay in a beautiful hotel, would recommend it!

Room Tip: Even the standard room was great and such good quality for money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Hotel La Tour. We have worked hard to develop a hotel that our guests will love and have changed much about what we do through customer feedback, one being the now amazing showers! Please come and see us again soon.Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed at Hotel La Tour last weekend with my boyfriend having seen the hotel on an agency website. Although it looked great on the website I did not expect to be so impressed in the flesh. The decor is fantastic - trendy with a minimalist edge, but still managed to be welcoming and comfortable, with clean lines, lots of space and a real wow factor when you walk in. We stayed in a city room which, despite being the lowest grade room was still gorgeous and stood out a mile from even significantly more expensive rooms I have stayed in in the past. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had an awesome wall mounted TV (which we could record stuff on to watch after dinner), touch activated light switches and thermostat and ipod plug ins. The design of the rooms is great in terms of convenience (the plug for the hairdryer was next to the desk and mirror - sounds so simple but I am always amazed how many hotels get this wrong!) as well as being cool and different, whilst the bathroom was beautiful and luxurious with a fab shower.

We ate in the Aalto restaurant which was just lovely. Great wine, very tasty food and good portions and the staff really knew their stuff, determined to make sure we had the best possible experience. I recommend the fig tart to start - delicious! The cocktails in the bar were great and again the staff were unfailingly warm and helpful, ready to serve with a smile.

Breakfast did not disappoint. There was absolutely everything to choose from, continental and pastries, lovely meats and cheeses and of course the obligatory cooked breakfast. The scrambled eggs, hash browns and sausages were to die for, and I didn't walk away feeling over greased. I loved the fact that you could pour a decent glass of juice instead of having it dispensed into a tiny little glass - always annoying when you are hungover and dehydrated and when I asked for a paper to read over my coffee afterwards the staff gave me an iPad - very cool!

Loved this place - thanks Hotel La Tour. This is how a hotel should be done.

Room Tip: Don't book through an agent if you can afford not to. The manager there told me that you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and I am so pleased that you had a great experience with us. We have worked hard to design a hotel that will be the number one choice in Birmingham and we can only do this by providing a great product but most importantly having a natural ability to give a the very best customer service. All the team feel a great pride when they read reviews like yours. Please do come and see us again soon. regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I had a nice stay at the La Tour on Saturday 17th November but would like to point out a few little things that the hotel should work towards being a 4 star hotel if they consider opening a second hotel in the future.

1.Checking in very little staff on and we was not greeted or asked if we needed help with checking in or with bags etc.In fact very little staff anywhere apart from the breakfast it did seem the hotel was run more on a budget.

2. Being a 4 start hotel i booked a suite and i would have thought a night turn down would be complimentary or even an extra when booked online.

3. No Menu or drinks menu in the room or real welcome pack. We where staying for the classic car show but they don’t mention anything that i could see on what was happening in Birmingham.

4. Nice bar and we thought about eating in the restaurant but i was told its full and at no time was we offered or asked when we checked in or a call to the room would you like to book the restaurant so we had to eat out.

5. The coffee machine had no instruction on how to use it and did not seem to work so we had to have instant coffee.

6. The fridge did come with a complimentary bottle of wine and a complimentary bottle of water. But if you wanted anything else you had to go to the bar there was nothing else in the fridge again being a suite i would have thought the bar fridge would have offered a lot more.

7. The best part of the stay was the breakfast very good cannot fault this and a very nice lady that worked there serving teas and coffees.

8. Overall the hotel is nice modern and a good feel, but the little extras would go a long way when making guests feel more at home.

9. Would i stay again i don’t see why not but not a suite. I just felt like the little things a 4 star hotel should offer was forgotton.The overall look of the hotel was 4 star i agree but the service and extras more like a 3 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waynese15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Thank you very much for leaving a review and I am very pleased that in the main you had an enjoyable stay.
We are determined to be the number one choice of hotel in Birmingham which is why we encourage as much feedback from guests as we can get. It is only though this that we will be able to achieve our goal and I am very grateful for your constructive comments. You really should have had a better welcome to the hotel and we have revisited out standards for this so that we do not fail in this area again. It is not normal practice for there to be nobody available to welcome you and this has now been improved.
Regarding your suggestions regarding your suite we are looking at each point to see which are practical for us to add to the service but we will immediately ensure that a drinks menu and instructions for the coffee machine are added.
Many thanks again for your time in reviewing the hotel and I do hope that you will visit us again soon.
Kind Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,677 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing