We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights booking over the phone. on arrival we were met by a member of staff who did not introduce herself but started to book us in through the machine we found this very automated and not a friendly relaxing way checking in... Our room was very nice with all the usual things you would expect from a four star hotel, breakfast was ok book this on arrival because if you just turn up for breakfast it will cost you extra. The bar in the evening was relaxing though they didn't have any Baileys when i asked for a glass which i thought they should have. Our biggest gripe was the staff, we feel that some of the staff need to learn a bit more customer service, when you pass them they do not acknowlege you unless you speak first, just a smile and a hello goes a long way, and on the reception desk,if you can call it that!! they seem to spend time chatting to each other rather than looking after guests. Customer service goes a long way and just a "hello how is your stay" and a smile would mean so much. The hotel on the whole was nice, but the personal touch making you feel welcome was missing.

Room Tip: go for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admin37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel La Tour, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us.I was really shock to hear that you felt the customer service was lacking in all areas as this is something we have been highly praised on by other guests.
We appreciate your feedback, and I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in hotel La Tour and prove your recent experience is not the norm. Kind regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,102 - 2,108 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel La tour, Birmingham for our 2 year anniversary. We had a really lovely stay and thought the hotel was amazing! Fantastically decorated in a modern, quirky and chic way!
Excellent facilities in the room, the media hub was a great concept to have within a hotel room. We thought the anti-mist mirror was such a clever idea!! Never seen before! And the shower was just amazing!!!
The hotel itself was perfectly located, just a few minutes walk to the bullring and easy access to anywhere in the city. Just £5 parking for the entire stay was more than good value for money!
We thought all the hotel staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome within the hotel, almost home from home and were more than willing to help and offer any information that we required.
The food was served and presented to a high standard and the desserts were amazing!
We'll definitely be back to stay the next time we're visiting the city!
Thank you again Hotel La Tour for making our anniversary one to remember!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshallamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

We glad to hear we made your anniversary special; memories are something we love creating for guests. You compliments have been passed on to the team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back. Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Great addition to Birminghams hotel scene. Slight issue with check in as you are confonted with 4 machines to self check in which can be confusing when you are tired from travelling and loaded with luggage. Rooms are to a high standard and the whole place is tastefully decorated.Breakfast was also top notch. I have been three times now and won't be the last.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thank you for your feedback and your returning visits. I am so glad you are enjoying the decor and service at Hotel La Tour and hope this is the start of a long relationship. Kind regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

My Husband and I stayed 2 nights at Hotel La Tour on the weekend of our Wedding Reception (we were already married last year) we had an absolutly fantastic room to mark the occassion. The bathroom was to die for! TV, deep bath, walk in shower, champagne glasses attached to the bath rack.
The room was just perfect wall to wall window which overlooked the Selfridges Building. The room had a dressing area also with desk etc.
If there is a modern hotel in Birmingham I would recommend for a little luxury it would be Hotel La Tour

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

WOW what a lovely review. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I attended an exhibition and decided to stay for another day so I booked into the hotel at the last minute. The hotel is very modern and the location is smack in the centre of the city. My only disappointment was that they didn't have there own car park and i had to park 5 minutes away at a local car park. Id probably be worried if a lady had to walk there alone.

The staff were amazing in all aspects of the hotel and the room was spacious, clean and had all the mod cons.

Id definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you decided to give us a try and that you enjoyed your stay. Please watch this space for an update on parking. We hope to see you again very soon. Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We really enjoyed staying at this fantastic hotel. Everything worked extremely well. The room has a much more spacious feel than we expected and had really great modern touches like being able to continue hearing the TV in the bathroom.
Lovely big comfy beds.
Fabulous efficient bathroom with Villeroy and Bosch fittings.
The staff were extremely cheerful and helpful. Breakfast delicious.
In fact we would love to stay there for the Birmingham NEC trade fares but regret that it may be a tad too far away ...but you never know....

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank corkcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Don't be put off by the distance to the NEC it is only 110 minutes on the train and you are straight into the NEC, and no messing around with parking the car!!! I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

5 min walk from bullring, the hotel was perfect for us. Treated myself and my boyfriend to an executive room for valentines day and it was a bit pricey at 80 something pounds for a small room, but the extras.. The speakers in the bathroom, the bedside lighting controls and the INCREDIBLE shower made it all well worth it. Honestly i would stay here again just for the shower!!
We were dissappointed to not have some of the basic freeview channels on our tv though! Where was e4 etc?! But that was probably the only downside..
Felt very safe, had to use your key to get onto your floor which was very comforting. Extremely clean, can't fault the staff and it was a v enjoyable stay!
Did not eat there so cannot comment on restaurant but food smelt v good from the lobby!
Definitely recommend this hotel if you want something a little more luxurious!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothymw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,253 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,213 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England (Formerly Hotel La Tour)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £67 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Birmingham has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing