We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms; quite a few disappointments”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The pluses:
+ new hotel with great interior design
+ 10 mins walk to Bullring

The minuses
- Indifferent customer service
- Hit and miss food - and expensive
- A triumph of style over function

I stayed twice, for a week with work on my second trip. The hotel looks beautifully designed but after a while, a series of minor deficiencies and annoyances begin to wear. Non are major but they add up to a hotel that needs to pull its socks up a bit.

The hotel is a bit like the City Inn/Mint/Doubletree in Manchester - but without the customer service or reliability of decent restaurant food.

The TV in the room has some over-elaborate system, but basic Freeview channels like Sky News are missing and all rooms get BBC1 for East Anglia - this wasn't fixed in two weeks.

There is a gap where the missing mini bar would go in each room. You don't even get a pen and paper in the rooms. Or a glass for the bathroom. Even the complimentary little bottle of water doesn't get replenished over whole week. Used room service plates get left in the corridors all night. It's a bit mean for rooms costing over £100+/night.

The main disappointment is over the restaurant and general customer service. The receptionists were mostly nice but managed to get taxi bookings wrong a few times, didn't seem very confident with guests or remembered to follow-up on items.

The restaurant meet and greet staff/managers seem to be in the wrong job. They barely acknowledge guests as others have commented. At breakfast they are not on top of basic replenishment of essentials like plates and glasses. The food was hit and miss at breakfast and dinner - sometimes very good, sometimes very overcooked and greasy. The ratio was 50/50 over a week. And it's definitely not cheap. There's also a £5 charge from bringing room service up in the lift. The cafe is permanently shut due to lack of custom - so there's only the expensive full restaurant or a few bar snacks. There is nothing within a 5 min walk as an alternative.

Overall, the building is great but they need to work on staff training and better recruitment of restaurant managers, fix basics like the TV and stop penny pinching in the rooms with things like pens, water and glasses.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the executive rooms is not really worth it - even at just £10 - almost no difference.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel La Tour, Birmingham, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent this from happening again.
We appreciate your feedback, as this helps us ensure we are always meeting the high expectations we set for ourselves and the standards our customers expect and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Tour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,025 - 2,031 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

Spent two nights at this hotel. Room was on the small size and the window looked out at some flats opposite. But there was a decent sized bathroom with a good shower. It's a very nicely designed hotel but possibly because of the weather - it was snowing - it did feel very chilly. It's very handy for Birmingham New Street and Moor Street stations. Bit complicated getting back to the hotel at night when the Bullring is closed. Had a lot of problems with the wifi - we never successfully managed to connect our tablet. We did have a couple of cocktails in the bar - they were expensive expensive but beautifully presented!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Widmerpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay.
We always take every comment on board so your views will be passed back to the team and we’ll work together on ways we can improve on the points which you raise. I hope you will come back in the not too distant future so we can show you the changes we have put in place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Had three nights in the Hotel last week, staff extremely friendly always there to assist if you need any help.
My suite was amazing, especially the TV over the bath. The restaurant is excellent, the Lakeland Ribeye is one of the best steaks I've had.
This was my third visit to Hotel La Tour and it just gets better & better, big thanks to Claire and her colleagues !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Hi Nigel, Thank you for your comments - it is so nice to hear you had a great time during your recent stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham. The whole team works very hard to ensure all our guests have a brilliant stay so it’s very nice indeed to hear that you like what we’re doing! Please come back and see us again soon, the chef is waiting with a Lakeland steak. regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel La Tour in March 2013 for one night as we had tickets to see Madame Butterfly at the Hippodrome (Which is a must see!) On arrival, the staff were very helpful. There was self check-in points which we were happy to use but were approached by a member of staff that said he'd do it for us. The hotel is beautifully stylish and has an impressive stair case and bar area. We had a quick drink, it was a little pricey but the wine was beautiful.
We had a standard city room (316) which was plenty big enough for the one night. The bed was large - it seemed bigger than a usual double - it was very comfortable! The room had a small wardrobe, enough for us for one night. The lights and heating were touch screen - a nice touch and easy to use. Now, the shower! It was amazing, very powerful and spacious. The bathroom, in general, was great - the heated mirror was a good touch also. The view wasn't much to be desired - some plush apartments but that didn't bother us.
All in all, we would recommend the room and will return to the hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiaalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thanks so much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay with us as this is how we are able to continually improve the service that we offer. It’s also a great boost to our staff to hear you’ve enjoyed your stay – there’s nothing like a pat on the back to make someone’s day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This hotel is wonderful and I am very, very glad I've discovered it. I've stayed in many different hotels in Birmingham and this is far and away the very best!
I visit Birmingham regularly on business and from now on this is the ONLY place for me.

Thank you especially to the staff - you are all wonderful.
I couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyshine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Nowadays it’s often the way that you only hear feedback when people have something negative to say so we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s so nice to know we are achieving our goal in providing an enjoyable, relaxing stay and a pleasurable experience from the moment you book. Thank you and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is the third time I have used this hotel. This visit was for a business meeting with 9 colleagues & overnight accommodation. The booking process & help provided was excellent (thanks Claire!).

The hotel is quite new,with all the required amenities needed (except parking, but there are secure discounted rate car parks near by).

The bedrooms & meeting rooms all modern with top equipment & connevtity options for your own iPads, iPods, computers etc. free wifi is standard throughout the hotel & speeds seemed fine even with everyone of my group using at the same time.

The meeting area has its own breakout area with hot drinks, cold drinks & snacks always available.

The food in the restaurant for lunch was also very good.

Overall for me the staff in the hotel made the difference, on the whole (with only one exception!) they were extremely helpful, fun, efficient & seemed to really enjoy working there - nothing was too much trouble for them. This meant I could concentrate on running the meeting without being distracted.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boosh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

We are so grateful that you’ve taken the time to publish a review about your stay at Hotel La Tour. The whole team here at the hotel are always keen to read what our guests have to say about us and there will be lots of smiling faces after they’ve all seen your comments. It means a lot that you’ve passed this on so thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I booked this hotel for a 3 day meeting for 5 people. The location was good but what really impressed me was the staff. Our meeting host was Tom and the service he provided was 1st class, he made my job of chairing the meeting so much easier as no request was too much trouble refreshments and lunch were on time and of excellent quality. I will be booking again.

Room Tip: I booked 5 rooms and all were excellent.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicci438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

It’s so nice to hear that you’ve had a brilliant stay at Hotel La Tour – we aim to please, as they say, so it’s really good to hear that you like what we’re doing. I have passed on your thanks to Tom. We’d like to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,088 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
3,928 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
2,516 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £69 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing