We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night in January. Got a deal with travelzoo which allowed us to afford two rooms (family of four). Although check-in is automated and done using computers, there was someone at the front desk who actually checked us in. That proved useful as they were able to tell us where we could park. Parking is a bit of an issue as it is not their own and you have to make do with the car park in the shopping centre or one of the side streets. Neither is appealing as the area isn't that particularly nice. That said, our car was safe (probably because it's a normal car and not an expensive model).

Rooms are decent. Good range of tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. It is four star hotel so no slippers or robes. Separate shower which for me is a deal breaker as it always distinguishes an old hotel from a new hotel.

We had breakfast the next morning. It was good and set us up well for the day.

The hotel is fairly new and looks it. Nicely decorated and spacious. There is a gym which we didn't get the chance to use, but it looked decent with good modern equipment.

The area, like is said earlier isn't the nicest looking. Run down and close to A road. It does look like there will be some building work done to the area, but for now it doesn't help the hotel. On the plus side it is literally on the doorstep of the shopping centre.

All in all a very nice hotel which I would use again if I have to Benin Birmingham again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTravellerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    632
    222
    76
    41
See reviews for
181
1,069
53
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

The room was large and stylish. Close to bham city centre and moor street station. We had dinner at the restaurant there too and it was all delicious and not too expensive either. Would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I first stayed in this Hotel for my Birthday last year and thought it was amazing. Exceptionally close to all the amenities and some wonderful watering holes. The Station is very close and there is convenient parking at the Bull ring (though the instructions could be a little clearer) at only £5.00 for the stay.
I returned in March this year with some friends and once was welcomed with open arms. The Manager remembered us from our last visit. The staff were friendly and attentive. This time we ate in the Restaurant and the food was fantastic. They could not do enough to please us and even though we had to wait a little while they made sure we were kept up to date and comfortable.
The rooms are modern and comfortable. I love the gadgets. All I can say is give it a try you won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for your comments - it is so nice to hear you had a great time during your return stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham.The whole team works very hard to ensure all our guests have a brilliant stay so it’s very nice indeed to hear that you like what we’re doing! Please hop on the train soon from Milton Keynes and come back and see us soon. kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

just stayed at hotel la tour 15th-17th march.amazing hotel excellent staff beautiful food. catered for food allergies once informed not a problem for them.hotel spotlessly clean.all staff impeccably turned out and happy.stayed on the shop till you drop offer-well worth it good value for money.did not want to leave-and we have been to luxury hotels every year on long haul all over the carribbean for the last 12 years and this hotel is among the best we have been to.well done to you all.please build a hotel in mexico and we will be there!

Room Tip: i expect all rooms are of a high standard we were in a double which was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
It’s so nice to hear that you’ve had a brilliant stay at Hotel La Tour – we aim to please, as they say, so it’s really good to hear that you like what we’re doing. We’d like to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I chose this new hotel for afternoon tea with friends after I'd seen it from the train and a work colleague subsequently recommended it. The access is excellent (only a couple of minutes walk from Moor St station). It's great to have such a stylish addition to the market in Birmingham (since the city has been slow to catch on compared with places like Manchester, where possibilities for afternoon tea are plentiful). Served in a Deco-inspired lounge on first floor, in comfy chairs and on high chrome stands set between the armchairs. There was clear attention to detail in the presentation and a good balance between savouries and sweets. The veggie sandwich selection was delicious (not all hotels are good at offering variety), and there were profiteroles, pink macaroons, lemon cheesecake and scones to follow (with a generous helping of clotted cream). It's a real shame that they don't use proper tea leaves, but they made up for this with generous-sized teapots and helpful, unobtrusive service. It's not exactly cheap, but still better value than some hotel chains, and done with such panache that it's hard to begrudge the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your High Tea experience. We have an excellent spring version available this month so please come back and see us if you have the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This hotel is well located,just a 5 minute walk away from the Bullring and the Pavilion shopping centres. Moor street train station is just a few minutes away. I had a direct bus to one of the hospitals where I was attending a course.
The design and decor was very modern. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The temperature was adjustable and we kept it at a confortable 25 degrees. Nice big flat screen Tv on the wall.
We booked very early and got a great early bird discount! Had complimentary wifi which was really lucky. No mobile phone signal in the room on our network though.
Reception staff were always friendly and polite although they didn't always have the answers to our questions.
Did not eat the breakfast buffet in the hotel which was priced at £12.
All in all, we had a good stay for 4 nights. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowflakes017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

5 minutes walk from the famous Bull Ring shopping centre. Parking is near by in a secure car park and only costs £5.00 per stay (stay for 2 or 3 nights still £5,00). Hotel excellent throughout, rooms are the cleanest we have stayed in, staff really friendly and helpful. Parking immediately outside reception to off load before moving to car park. Bull Ring fantastic atmosphere and we felt completely safe.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you decided to give us a try and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing