We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Brand new, modern, staff were great, bar area is amazing, rooms are perfect.
Loved every bit of this hotel, had a great deal so even before I got there it was amazing!
Didn't see the point of the self checkin as somebody checked us in on it but that was fine by me, less work after all.
Great location for the Bullring but it was a bit of a taxi ride to the nice bars etc.
Loved every bit of my stay at this hotel and would definatly recomend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richarddare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,065 - 2,071 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

What a fantastic hotel this really is...... stayed here Easter weekend. Took advantage of a weekend offer which included dining in the hotel's restaurant. The rooms are large and really well equiped. We upgraded to an executive room. The large TV's are amazing and the beds and pillows possibly the most comfortable we've ever had. The bar and restaurant area are really nice. The food in the hotel restaurant Aalto was amazing. Service both in the restaurant and the hotel is friendly and efficient. One big plus was car parking, as we didn't get ripped off. The hotel has a special rate with NCP nearby, although you can pay a little more and park on one of the more 'makeshift car parks next door for a tenner fo twenty-four hours. We'll definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Great hotel - modern, clean and nice feel - only down side is parking which others have said here also. If you have an expensive car don't take it as parking is in horrible area we were greeted this morning with homeless people sleeping on the stairs ! Not Lwats their fault but I wouldn't take car next time

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall at Hotel La Tour Birmingham. we take on board your comments about the carparking and are looking at ways in which we can improve the arrival and departure from the hotel. We and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel was stunning, food was great and staff were very helpful. The executive room we were in was massive with a huge bed n TV. Even the bathroom was stunning. Will definately be paying a visit again sometime :-)
Thanks

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

After a muddled check in we found ourselves in a fabulously laid out reception area. The room we stayed in was very welcoming, very chic but with a cosy feeling. No bath, but a brilliant walk in shower. The staff on th bar were very friendly and it seemed you could order anything! I would definitely recommend the sweet inspired Bellinis!
The bed was so very comfortable that we found it hard to get out of and breakfast was nice.
All in all a hotel worth considering if you are here in Birmingham, only small detail would be to ensure they keep on top of the cleaning-although a brand new hotel there were some areas particularly in the bathroom that were already starting to look tired!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are great but don't choose if you like a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolligeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about cleaning of the bathroom which we have since addressed with the housekeeping team. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Booked the La Tour Hotel, birmingham for a theatre break(inclusive package).
Fabulous! Wonderful hotel, luxurious, but friendly and welcoming. Wonderful staff, wonderful food, this hotel has it all.
We had an executive room - just everything you want from a top class hotel, comfortable kingsize bed with lovely cotton duvet and sheets. Flat screen t.v. beautfiul bathroom. The decor is outstandingly tasteful.
The deal included front circle tickets to see Phantom of the Opera(see review) and £40 credit towards food and drinks in the hotel.
Parking is at one of the close by carparks, reduced rates for hotel guests.
The hotel does incredibly lovely afternoon tea, has to be seen to appreciate how lovely.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Best ever stayed at.

Room Tip: there was a gym/spa but didnt use them. but sure they would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Wow – thanks. It’s a challenging but rewarding job running a large hotel like this but we love it and, most of all, we love hearing how happy our guests are. Thanks for taking the time to post your views, I hope it will be helpful to others and it has certainly put a smile on our faces! Come back before too long – we’re always making changes so hopefully we’ll be able to delight you further next time round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

What a fabulous hotel! The staff were professional, friendly and helpful and the restaurant is excellent. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it. We stayed here when the Birmingham Spring Fair was on and did not have high expectations although it came highly recommended on Trip Advisor but we were so surprised. One of the best hotels we have stayed in due to the combination of the high standard of service, the presentation of the rooms and the wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillyHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and I am so pleased that you had a great experience with us. We have worked hard to design a hotel that will be the number one choice in Birmingham and we can only do this by providing a great product but most importantly having a natural ability to give a the very best customer service. All the team feel a great pride when they read reviews like yours. Please do come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,256 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,215 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England (Formerly Hotel La Tour)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £68 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Birmingham has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clayton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing