We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay! Well worth a visit!”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Chose Hotel La Tour after deciding against the regular chain hotels and hearing nothing but astounding reviews from friends, naturally all good!
Everything was perfect, from check-in to check-out. Nothing too much trouble, and staff are very willing to help and assist in anyway possible.

We had a suite with a gorgeous view over looking the Bullring and surrounding areas. Good size room, nice separate lounge area and a huge spacious bathroom with an awesome bath, deep... Genuinely thought I'd drown! Beautiful rain shower too, a nice touch was the White Company toiletries provided also. Usual tea & coffee making facilities with a wide variety of tea's etc provided, excellent "illy" espresso maker, a nice touch was the complimentary bottle of wine.

Didn't eat in the restaurant as we had reservations elsewhere but heard nothing but great reviews, had an excellent cocktail in the bar though!

One thing however, I did think it was a bit steep to charge £5 for an ice bucket to be delivered the the room, but you can collect one from the bar for free!?

Overall an enjoyable experience/stay and will most definitely be returning in the very near future when visiting Birmingham.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyE577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I have noted your comment about the ice bucket charge, and room service does have a standard £5.00 charge for delivery as we don’t inflate the food and drink prices serviced in the bedrooms however this should have been communicated to you at the time. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had an extremely good stay better than expected .staff are extremely pleasant and smiley,
Rooms are spcious nd right on budget.location is good aswell
Overall will be coming back and defiantly reccomend

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Demi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Have stayed here twice - first in a gorgeous superior room, which had a separate seating area and huge deep bath, and then in a city room which was of course smaller but equally clean and comfortable. Staff are attentive, food in the restaurant and room service was lovely, and it's convenient - short walk to the train station, to the Bullring and main shopping areas, and parking is a 5-10 minute walk in the Selfridges car park (hotel staff validate your ticket when you check out so that you get the discounted rate). Couldn't be more satisfied and will be returning!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again for your 3rd visit in the near future.Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have never been so impressed with a hotel...

As soon as you walk through the door the staff make you feel very welcome, I could not fault one member of staff I came across for the duration of my stay. There was a little issue with another guest when we came to check in but I was more than happy to wait and the receptionists were more than apologetic.

The rooms were mind blowing everything is sparkling clean, the shower is lovely and powerful the shampoo, shower gel and body lotion provided had an amazing smell which I could smell throughout the hotel also very nice indeed.

One thing I would say is that if you are paying with cash they do ask for £200 cash deposit or £25 block on your card but you will get that credited back into your account if you do not spend that, they do not tell you this before the day of arrival but it was not an issue but I do understand people like to moan a lot :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aimmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. The £200 deposit is purely a bond against any charges that the room may incur during the stay, however I agree we should be advising guests before arrival. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We visited this hotel after seeing great reviews for it. We live fairly locally but decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay after watching Phantom of the Opera at the Hippodrome. As we had tickets to the show we had a discount on the standard room rates so we booked an executive room. Our only gripe was that as with many of the city hotels there is no on site parking. However, the hotel have negotiated rates of just £5 parking with a local NCP car park and Selfridges. However, we got confused as to which car park we could use as the parking rate only applied to the Selfridges part of the Bull Ring car park and not the other entrance to the Bull Ring car park which actually goes underneath Selfridges. Anyway - that sorted and we arrived at the hotel to be greeted by friendly staff who helped us use the self service check in.

Our room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was immaculate, there was no bath in the room which didn't bother us as we prefer showers anyway. The large shower cubicle and shower was superb!

We caught a taxi to the Hippodrome which cost just £5 and after the show we returned to the hotel and had a few drinks in the hotel bar. Drinks in the bar aren't cheap but to be expected in a hotel bar but we preferred the service from the bar tenders and the quiet atmosphere to going to a noisy bar in the city centre.

Our deal included the continental buffet style breakfast which included hot and cold choices, various juices, tea, coffee etc. Couldn't fault the choice or the service from the staff in the restaurant areas. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel as we were booked to see the show but the menu looked good.

On check out in the morning we were surprised when the bill had some extras on it that we hadn't had (drinks in the bar and an evening meal), we queried it as we knew we hadn't had the evening meal as we'd been at the Hippodrome and we'd paid by cash for our drinks at the bar afterwards. The member of staff apologised and sorted it out with no fuss - it turned out that a party with the same surname had stayed at the hotel and had obviously put their bill onto our room number in error.

All in all a great hotel with pleasant and helpful staff. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midlandsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the bar charges which we have since addressed. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband, 7 year old daughter and I have just spent 3 nights at the Hotel La Tour. We were due to stay 2 nights but decided to stay an extra night. There was a special offer on for a 2 night stay which was amazing value and they very kindly extended the offer to our third night.

The hotel is obviously new and we appreciated how immaculately clean it was. Like other reviewers, we also enjoyed the White Company toiletries. What really surprised us was how quiet our rooms were. Based in the heart of Birmingham on a major road and yet we had no outside noise at all. Excellent.

We only ate one meal at the hotel (which was good), choosing to explore the Bull Ring (very close by) instead - Jamie's Italian etc.

Customer service was brilliant. Trey greeted us on arrival and the next day we found a gift from him to our daughter in our room - which was a really nice touch. Thank you, Trey!

Wi-fi in the hotel was very patchy so that could do with improvement if possible.

Otherwise we were delighted with our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthaplatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments, and I have passed on your thanks to Trey. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel is only a year old and is first rate. We stayed for a show at the Hippodrome, which is 10 minutes away by taxi - only a fiver! Stayed in an executive room that was quite spacious and more than adequate for one night with a walk in shower. Had afternoon tea which had finger sandwiches, welsh rarebit, scones, jam and a selction of cakes with a huge pot of tea - delicious and staff very friendly. Bed comfortable and although in the city centre there was little noise. Breakfast included the full works, hot, cold, fresh fruit, juices and so on again served by friendly staff. All in all the best hotel we've stayed in for a while. Hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garys s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Hotel La Tour Birmingham during your recent stay. Thanks very much for all your positive comments regarding the rooms,food and service. We look forward to seeing you next time. Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,145 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,015 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,548 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £76 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing