We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another jewel in the Brummie Crown”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“another jewel in the Brummie Crown”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

this place certainly meets or rather exceeds normal expectations! From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and the afternoon tea was sublime....the room was well appointed and created that feeling of calmness which so many hotels seem incapable of achieving. Overall it deserves whole-heartedly the title of this critique

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for letting us know we exceeded your expectations- that is very much are aim- hope you get time to visit again soon. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    655
    226
    79
    42
See reviews for
187
1,109
54
546
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is very modern and well placed in the city centre. We stayed in a superior room with all the mod cons. The bathroom was great with a large power shower. We stayed with our 2 young children and had a z bed in the room. The staff were lovely and helpful, helping us with directions and printing maps for us. The breakfast was really nice with quality buffet produce.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivacioussarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Glad to hear you and your children enjoyed your stay. hope to see you back soon. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel La Tour is a very modern hotel only a 5 minute walk away from the Bullring. We stayed on a Saturday evening and the reception added a late check-in to our stay for free so how can we complain. The rooms are well equipped and full of technology which he loved. The bathrooms were clean and modern. The beds were large and comfortable. My only....very small comment is I would have liked to have seen a better standard of tea/coffee but overall we enjoyed our stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraheamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Hote La tour is a modern property, particulary convenient for The Bullring and city centre as well as Aston University.

Friendly staff, quite minimialist style. Room comfortable and efficient, no view to speak of as the area is a little dowdy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warks, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here last weekend and rated the la tour very highly. The staff are friendly and the rooms are big and appointed to a very high standard.

Digbeth isn't the best area but its proximity to the shopping centre, bullring etc, more than makes up for it.

Excellent bar and breakfast was first class too. Will stay here again soon and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Our stay at the hotel la tour wasn't as great as it was hyped up to be. The hotel definitely looks the business. The decor is great, and its still all shiny and new. But the main reason we decided to stay at la tour was the hi tech gadgets and gizmos they advertise on the website - which didn't deliver.
We were looking forward to checking in with the ATM like machines at reception, but didn't manage to get to use them as the staff at reception came over with printed out reservations in a pile that they sorted through to look us up.. not very high tech! But not a big deal.
Next we went to the room and were looking forward to being able to watch our own downloaded movies etc trough the media hub as advertised, so we loaded USB sticks with our favourite movies but it didn't work.. there are no instructions in the room to tell you how to use it, so we thought it was broken. After a call to reception we find that it's only a charging point.. no movies for us :(
We then wanted to try out the Bluetooth speakers in the shower. Again we had to ring through to reception as it seemed like it wasn't working.. But without instructions we didn't know how to turn the Bluetooth in the room on. We got it to work trough the tv, but not through the shower speakers. A couple more phone calls to reception, and we didn't hear anything back about getting that to work! We tried a few bar snacks.. They weren't anything special and small portions so opted for the papa johns and tesco around the corner!
The hotel also doesn't have parking so be prepared for a less than 5 minute walk from moor st car park, which is £5 per visit as long as you get the hotel to validate it.
We paid £129 for a standard room, no breakfast and we feel a bit robbed. We've paid a lot less for nicer rooms previously.
Oh but the shower was nice, and the towels big and fluffy! Would have preferred a bath, but at the cost of £100 to be upgraded no thanks..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutedbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
I am so very sorry that you did not have a good experience while staying with us. We are looking in to this now and I can assure you we would do anything possible to rectify this situation and the problems that you encountered. Once again please accept our apologies that we failed you while staying with us, this is not what we are about at all. Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel last night and were very impressed.

Let's start off with good. All the staff were very professional, not intrusive and seemed to genuinely care that all our needs were taken care. Special mention for the barman, Graham (you should try one of his own created cocktails, from what I can remember they were very nice!). A pint if beer was £4.20 which isn't too bad considering this is high hotel, bottle of fruit cider was about the same. We didn't eat there in the evening but if looks are anything to go by the food looked fantastic. We did have breakfast which was self service and very nice, they even had baked beans! The room we stayed in was lovely with a great view, plenty of space. Had some fun trying to set the lights (all very high tech) but got there in the end. Nice flat screen tele mounted on the wall, bed was very comfy and we both slept well.

Not so good. The shower in our room was good but the water did spill over into the main bathroom bit and lots of mopping was required. Having no onsite parking was a bit of a pain, Selfridges car park is about a 10 minute walk away.The only other thing, believe it or not, was the forks we used for breakfast. I couldn't control mine and it kept turning around in hand, weird.

I would definitely recommend the hotel, in fact I already have.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthGoneNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
I am so sorry that your stay with us was nowhere near as good as it should have been.
This is not what we are all about and I am so pleased that you have taken your time to send this feedback. I assure you that we will fix this and if we are lucky enough to have you back as a guest in the future it would be good if you can let us know what you think.
Thank you for choosing to stay with is while you were in Birmingham, we are very aware that there is lots of choice and that we must excel in all areas to ensure we earn your loyalty as a returning guest.
Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
864 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,680 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Prestigia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing