We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning hotel in the center of birmingham”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“stunning hotel in the center of birmingham”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

stunning hotel - rooms very nice with walk in showers

beds and pillows very comfy - you can just tell its quality

breakfast is outstanding with staff being very helpful and polite

parking is in Selfridges which is about 5 mins walk fore £5 for 24 hours!!! you just cant beat that

i would gladly stay here again - only £90 per room including breakfast

Room Tip: if you have the top floor there are stunning views and the lifts are quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you decided to give us a try and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon :) regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,388
    654
    226
    79
    42
See reviews for
187
1,108
54
544
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is very modern, with large shiny, blacked out windows so you can’t see inside, which makes it look rather imposing. It’s set in a somewhat run-down area, opposite some wasteland and an ugly 70s style car park, handy in some ways as the hotel has no parking of its own.

It didn’t appeal to me as somewhere to stay overnight as it was too impersonal, however I was only there for a conference, and for that purpose it was very good. The conference facilities, toilets and meeting rooms were numerous and of a particularly high quality. The meeting rooms had large floor to ceiling windows that gave great natural light (although views were only of the car park!). The staff were helpful, the air conditioning was excellent and the seating in the conference rooms was extremely comfortable.

The buffet lunch was only average, although I must say the coffee was excellent, with fine beans that were ground and cooked as part of the coffee making process.

Overall, great for the businessman, but not for the holidaymaker.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiddyDoddyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
thank you very much for your feedback regarding our conference felicities I am pleased your enjoyed them. hope to see you again soon. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed recently (30/6/13). Lovely new hotel, comfortable room (516 I think ) with good amenities. However, I found it almost unbelievable that in central Birmingham there was no mobile internet signal (EE), or the hotel construction blocks the signal. Equally maddening, in a new hotel with obvious and welcome investment in tech, there was no wifi signal in our room. We spent the evening with our son, had no urgent need for the internet and enjoyed our stay, but would have been seriously annoyed if we had needed the internet. We switched all our devices on and off and there was no improvement. It is a shame that a hotel so good in other ways is let down by this. It's as if in days gone by the Savoy only had hot water in some rooms (sorry, the boiler can't pump the water to that end of the building!) Ask for a room with a good wifi signal and ideally mobile signal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the wifi and/or mobile signals are adequate, if you need them. There are wired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback, both mobile and wi if signals are being addressed and you should see a marked improvement in the near future. regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helmshore
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Latour on a Friday evening a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is wonderfully warm and welcoming and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious , contemporary and very well equipped. The breakfast service and selection of food was excellent - again the staff were lovely. About a week after my return, I realised I had left a dress in the room - I phoned the hotel to see if it had been found. Not only had the housekeeping staff found my dress and kept it to one side, the lovely receptionist offered to post it to me. I asked if they would let me know the postage cost so that I could reimburse the hotel but she would not hear of it. Three days later, my dress arrived at my home. Hotel Latour's customer service is fantastic and coupled with a great hotel and restaurant made our stay very special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thanks for your review. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and you have been reunited with your dress, hope we'll be able to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham very soon. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The hotel is modern and very spacious yet has a warm, grown up feel in the public areas. We visited to use the bar after a dinner at another restaurant in Birmingham. Wanting a few properly mixed cocktails to round off the evening, the Hotel La Tour crew were able to oblige. Although not an extensive menu, the bar staff were very knowledgable and happy to make suggestions for drinks not on the list. Graham who served us was friendly and offered service that went beyond expectations. My wife was drinking non alchoholic drinks and Graham suggested some novel and very creative alternatives for her that didn't leave her feeling left out when we were exploring the other options on the menu. The icing on the cake was live music played at a perfect volume to allow conversation but provide terrific atmosphere. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aydinlatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Glad you had a good time at Hotel La Tour Birmingham! I have passed your comments on to Graham Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Went to Birmingham on business and a member of our team had researched the hotel and and this was an excellent find. We were made to feel welcome even before we arrived with an reminder e-mail just before the trip with helpful advice. The parking in Selfridges car park was an excellent deal. From checking in to checking out the service was faultless and genuine. The rooms were well designed, comfortable and well equipped. We ate in the Alto restaurant and were very surprised by the standards of food and service, an excellent meal. All in all a very pleasureable experience. Travelling regularly for business I would definitely look to stay here again and can't wait for them to open more - I hear Manchester's next.!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLF440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Lived in Birmingham my whole life and seen many changes. This hotel is heading in the right direction with the interior very simplistic and chic. The exterior is neat too. Everything is very forward thinking technology wise with the LED bedside lights and media hub in the rooms so you can plug just about anything in. Bed are exceptionally comfortable with nice filled pillows.Towels are nice and soft. Breakfast has everything you could want but I suggest they make sure the ham slices are covered especially when it's hot the flies are more than happy to go there. Wish I could have had dinner because the food looked amazing. No really complaints just hope the rest of Birmingham moves in the same direction.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Glad to hear I feel we are an asset to the city-we think so to- thank you for your feedback and your kind comments. Hope to see again soon and maybe for dinner next time. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,922 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
861 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing