We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We only stayed one night as we were going to see The Lion King at the Hippodrome. The hotel is within an easy walk to the theatre and also the Bull Ring shopping area. There isn't a car park but there is a big dropping off area at the front and the hotel have a good arrangement for parking in the Selfridges car park, £5 for however long you are staying as long as you don't move your car. The car park again is only a short walk away. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room had everything we needed and didn't smell of stale smoke like older hotels. Breakfast was good with lots of choice, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Great news we now have a car park!! I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,845 - 1,851 of 2,505 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed in room 614 for 2 nights during July.

The hotel is located on within a gyratory system close to the city centre. There is no parking on site but there is a drop-off area that is handy. The hotel provides subsidised car parking within the Selfridges complex. Parking as a result costs £5 per stay so as we didn't use the car during the period we paid just £5.

The hotel feels recently built and very modern with an atrium at reception along with a bar and restaurant with a fitness centre on the first flor.

Our room was 614 which was quiet. It had a large bed, big flat screen TV, time limited wifi and a big walk-in shower that did the job. Very comfortable especially with aircon during the hot spell. The view was a bit limited as the room faced a block of luxury flats.

In terms of location, whilst it is not a right in the centre it is just a short uphill walk to the Bull Ring and the major shopping and eating experiences. If you become tired and emotional from all the shopping opportunities it is all downhill to the Hotel.

We dined in the restaurant on the first evening. The food was reasonable but this is a business hotel which caters for the lonely diner rather than couples. The second night we ate at Jamie's which was packed and lively with reasonably well priced and unpretentious food. The bar at the hotel is welcomed and we drank there after our excursions in and around the city centre. Our deal was room only so we ate in the City Centre with the best value breakfast being provided by Selfridges.

Birmingham for us was a welcomed and unexpected experience with loads to see - National Trust Back to Backs, the Jewellery Quarter and Museum, the Canal with all the city centre development plus the city centre - all could be done on foot which is what we wanted.

From our experiences we would return to both Birmingham and the Hotel La Tour . Thnka you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for business purposes. It has everything you need in the room as a business traveller re connection for phone laptop.
The hotel is located well near moor st station and also not far from New Street Station and Bullring shopping centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashy12348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I spent one night at La Tour hotel in Birmingham in August.

Arrival was very late, but the check-in went smoothly, my room was very nice and everyhting worked in the room as expected. I got the impression the hotel was rather new.

What was special and veeeeery nice, was the the bar on 1st floor was open 24/7 for hotel guests! So arriving to the hotel at midnight and having the possibility of enjoying a beer and an excellent ham sandwich while checking my emails in the bar was definitely a big bonus for the hotel.

Check-out went smoothly as well, but unfortunately I did not have the opportunity to check out the gym, but there is one though. Also, what I especially like is that the corridors were well lit, which is a quality I always like.

If I return to Birmingham, I will most likely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Glad you had a good time at Hotel La Tour Birmingham! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A two night stay whilst working in Birmingham. hotel is just round the corner from the Birmingham Courts so excellent location, a matter of minutes to get to the City Centre.

The hotel is beautifully decorated. Very contemporary and stylish. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Lovely hot powerful shower. My only gripe is that my mattress was rather too firm and I did wake up a couple of times with a sore back.

But my word, this place comes alive in the restaurant. I had rump of lamb, gorgeous succulent tender lamb, perfectly cooked, really pink and matched with minted peas and mange tout and a lovely sauce. Cheeseboard to follow which was excellent, especially the rustic, slightly viscous goats cheese. This food wasn't just churned out, the chef clearly put a bit of his soul into it. Oh and man you must come and try the plate of chocolate truffles. Mmmmmmmmm.

My second night I just had the burger and chips from the bar menu but this was equally excellent. A juicy, rare and tasty burger complimented by a tangy coleslaw and crisp lettuce.

My rate per night was £78. This was outstanding value for the excellent food, good room and delightful service that I received.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself. You are right Dan ( head chef) does put his heart and soul into everything that comes out of the kitchen and he will be delighted you noticed his efforts. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour, and hope we are now your hotel of choice in Birmingham Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

lovely clean hotel.
excellent modern bathroom and room facilities.
Lovely breakfast.
comfortable bed.
2 minutes walk from the train station and The bullring shops
nice gym
quiet bar area for quick drinks
well equiped room with coffee making facilites and safe

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norhtern-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you decided to give us a try and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at Hotel La Tour with my best friend, her young daughter and mine, whilst visiting the Think Tank Museum and Cadbury World last Thursday and Friday. This hotel is a credit to the management and their team. We were waited on by courteous, friendly, attentive staff, our bedrooms were immaculate, quiet and the food, ... absolutely superb. - So much so, we squeezed in a full dinner, after a gorgeous lunch and took breakfast the next morning!!! I would certainly recommend this hotel and, look forward to returning, with a combined shopping trip to the Bull Ring, which is less than a five minute walk away. Truly a fantastic find, exceeding Michelin and AA rosette premises we have dined at, over the years. Well done all!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darcy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

WOW Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and food at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,138 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,006 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,546 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £76 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing