We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern and classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern and classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We booked via Secret Escapes for the first time - we will definitely be booking again via this site! The hotel was relatively easy to find with a satnav and observant passenger!! (look out for the signs for the Selfridges car park)
Little bit of a walk down the hill to the hotel (thus back up the hill to get into the city centre), and on the edge of a redeveloped area so I wouldn't feel safe walking around late at night as a female/two females alone but was fine with my boyfriend.
We tried checking in with the self service machine but it didn't work, receptionist very friendly and helpful to check in for us.
Room was fab!! Modern, classy, clean with large double bed, walk in shower, speakers in the bathroom, lovely smelling toiletries, cool touch screen telephone which doubles up as a "welcome" folder with all hotel/local info etc available electronically.
Although we didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, we went for nightcap cocktails. Service was particularly slow (one cocktail waiter on a Saturday night with most people in the bar ordering them!) but it was quite a relaxed atmosphere anyway.
Breakfast the next day was very busy but there was lots of choice and was tasty; staff running about to catch if needed tea/coffee. A sneaky chocolate muffin with truffle centre taken for after breakfast was divine!!
Would recommend to friends and family and would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loubird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    632
    222
    76
    41
See reviews for
181
1,069
53
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
newcastle, staffs, england
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed for 1 night Sun 15.9.13 - room etc all excellent!! Very chic and boutique style, lovely feel to the place. Only experienced breakfast as part of the 'Secret Escapes' package.
Seems to be a regular event for us wherever we go and ie the service at breakfast not good eg ran out of semi skimmed milk, asked staff for more- which shouldn't happen anyway - only to be told to use the whole milk instead - needless to say - we have passed that on!!
But the food itself was all good!!
Ideally located, right behind the Bullring. Even found some where to park for free, literally 2 minutes walk from Hotel - bonus!!
Will return!!

Room Tip: No comment - package came with an Executive room - which overlooked the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mend0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts, we really value your feedback, and I will investigate your comments regarding the breakfast service. I hope I have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Tour for two nights while we were in town for a concert. Our room was lovely, modern and sophisticated. Our booking was through Secret Escapes,with a good price and an offer of a bottle of wine in the restaurant if we booked in for dinner.Everyone that we came in contact with was lovely, starting with Justin in Reception, to the staff in the restaurant, bar, and housekeeping. We ate in Aalto Restaurant one night and had drinks each night in Alvar Bar. The food was excellent, well presented, prompt, and the servers were present but not intrusive. Although we never had many dealings with Jo in the Restaurant, I would like to mention her. I am a manager in customer service and I watched the dynamic that Jo had with her staff (I am assuming she is a manager there). She was present, on top of everything and delegated to the staff with kind words and mannerisms. I just thought that she should be mentioned for her exemplary service as we saw her in the restaurant in the evenings and then met her again for the breakfast.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for its staff, service, location and price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cthomas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and I shall pass your comments on to Justin and Jo. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour in the near future. Kind Regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Considering this was my first Visit to Birmingham we picked a great ultra modern hotel! Check in was very quick using the self service style check in machine. The room was very bright and had a huge window letting lots of natural light in. Brilliant location the hotel was within walking distance from the train station, main shopping center and restaurants. The breakfast was great but could of been a bit better organised by the staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts, we really value your feedback, and I will investigate your comments regarding breakfast. I hope I have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for one night after a wedding. The location is excellent, the rooms are lovely but the service lacks a little. To park the car, you have to go into the hotel and ask them to come and open the gates for you which is very inefficient. The breakfast was a shambles, we arrived at 10am, they had no tables. We had to sit and wait for 20 minutes and nobody was apologetic about this. When we did get a table, there were plenty free, they were just not being cleared away fast enough. After sitting at the table for 10 minutes, we were asked whether we would like tea or coffee, unfortunately we never got it. On the plus side, the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineLear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel la Tour Birmingham, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations in some areas. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel and provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations. regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed one night on business trip - couldn't really fault it. Great price, great location, very clean and the staff were welcoming, professional and friendly. Breakfast was good too. If we ever travel to Birmingham again, will definitely book at Hotel La Tour!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Els28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thanks for making Hotel La Tour your hotel of choice in Birmingham, look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel is well located, around 5 mins from the Bull Ring, 2 mins from Moor Street Station and 10 from New Street. Decor wise it is a large modern style building, with a very tasteful, minimalist feel to the interior. We stayed for two nights during August to see the Lion King at the Hippodrome, paying what seemed like a suspiciously low rate (for a 4 star hotel) of £68 per night. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly and efficient staff, and were very pleased with the size and decoration of the en-suite double room.
Both nights we ate out so cannot comment on the quality of the food. However one afternoon before dinner we did decide to have a drink in the bar where we were given impeccable table service by the waiter. Lest to say the cocktails we ordered were fantastic too!
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for a top quality but good value city break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel La Tour during your visit to Birmingham. I hope that you enjoyed the Lion King as much as your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing