We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

this was our second stay at the hotel.as impressed as first time around.lovely bar and balcony area where we sat in the sunshine.not the best of views but still nice to enjoy a cocktail and people watch.
rooms spotless,airy and bright
breakfast lovely
staff friendly and polite
recomend hotel la tour to all
we will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,347
    632
    221
    76
    41
See reviews for
180
1,068
53
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed here for Business in July 2013 and would certainly return.

Having never been to Birmingham before I did not have any expectations. Upon arrival into this modern hotel (within walking distance to train station) we were met by friendly reception staff in the spacious reception area. I was bowled over at how nice it was. First impressions were first rate.

We were utilising the conference space, which was excellent may I add. We had conference room booked for evening, and they allowed us access as soon as it became available. Staff were on hand to set up exactly how we wanted it. The complimentary hospitality area was welcomed as well. Nice sofas (with a view) and comp refreshments.

Room was modern and stylish with key card entry, modern TV, comp Wi-Fi, top of the range bathroom and appliances- even Brabantia bins in the bathroom. Had fantastic view over city centre with floor to ceiling window. Full length mirror and loads of wardrobe space. I had an excellent nights sleep as the room was dark (blackout curtains) and the bedding was beautiful. Clean, plush with choice of pillows and suitable room temperature.

Shopping centre and station within walking distance so excellent location. There are staircases and lifts (as I don't like lifts) I always feel this is an important comment to make.

All meals at the hotel were excellent.

I'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a luxury hotel with modern amenities, and with key location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrieb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

5 minutes walk from Birmingham New Street. Very easy to find. We arrived at 1.30pm. Too early for 3pm check in. But....as we entered the building a queue to check in was visible. We used the automated check in...so easy and no queue. Have a go. Up to room 601 an hour and a half early. Executive City View. Great room. Not enormous but ideal for 2. Large rainfall shower with lovely White Company smellies. The mirror was a surprise in the bathroom...as it steamed up a clear section would appear - no having to wipe it! Clever. There was water, tea & coffee. The TV was set in the wall. WiFi was free. Floor to ceiling window. We decided not to eat in the restaurant in the evening as there was not a lot of choice. But breakfast was a different matter. Lots of choice of all the normal breakfast fare. The cooked breakfast was fresh and presented pleasantly - the chef took pride in what he was doing. Check out was carried out via the automated machine also. It took less than 1 minute!!
We were very pleased with this hotel. We stayed at the Du Vin last time in Bham which was wonderful too but this hotel is virtually new....loved it.
We'll be going again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We only stayed for one night. We immediately came in contact with very friendly and attentive staff. The rooms are modern and comfortable.

When asked about Gluten Free diet they were able to accommodate me immediately. They understood what i was asking and were able to adjust the standard meals to suit. They didn't make me feel uncomfortable for asking and they weren't overly fussing.

All in all it was an excellent stay, the only minor issue was some of corridors smelt a bit of nicotine (but only slightly).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablonewns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
The whole team at Hotel La Tour Birmingham are working hard to deliver excellent customer service so it's particularly welcome to hear you had such a great time: I'll make sure your comments are passed on. Kind Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Love this hotel, it's comfortable, elegant, clean, great food and fab staff...totally recommend this to anyone wanting a lovely treat, really affordable as well.thank you for making our stay so great! When you come to birmingham stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
It was a great pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham during your recent stay. Thanks very much for all your positive comments. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kind Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Amazing stay, wonderful hotel, great food and welcoming charming staff. This will be my preferred hotel in Birmingham from now onwards.

Stayed here midweek for two nights in a superior room with breakfast. Furnishing and decor are modern, plush and extremely clean. Spacious and light for a city centre location, but they also managed to make the spaces feel intimate as well. Our room was large with a desk area, HUGE bathroom with double shower and bath (with TV), bed, large TV and seating area. Impeccably clean and comfortable with little extras like chocolates, cold water and a coffee machine.

The hotel has a small carpark which costs £10 per night, but has arrangements with two other carparks for reduced parking. We decided to park in the Selfridges carpark (as per the hotel instructions), but got confused because once you get into the carpark all the signage and tickets refer to it as the Bullring carpark. But it cost us £5 for the whole stay as we did not move the car.

We had drinks at the bar the first night, which were reasonably priced compared to local pubs and restaurants and the bar staff were very welcoming and friendly, whilst making us feel like guests.

Breakfast was good, a selection of pastries, cold meats, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices. Cooked food was sausage, black pudding, bacon, scrambled or fried eggs, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms and hashbrowns.

Dinner was just fabulous, we hadn't intended to have dinner in the restaurant but I am so glad that we did. We had the most charming waitress who had such a sunny nature we couldn't help but feel welcomed. The food was modern british, cooked perfectly and presented with style, but reasonably priced (starter, main, water and wine for two came to £65).

Room service is also available with a 24 hour menu.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors will have less noise from buses
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyLouise39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I haven't stayed here as I live in the West Midlands, but we ate here on a business lunch recently and I have to say I was very impressed with the quality of the service and the way food was served with genuine attentiveness to the clients. If I were to tell you the nature of the meeting you would realise why many of us commented on this.
The food was stylishly presented and had that little bit of adventure that the menu suggested. If the bedrooms live up to the restaurant this has a little class to it.
On Albert Street there are no real issues parking and you are close to the main shopping areas and Selfridges, in walking distance to the IMax and a pleasant stroll from the main theatres and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobGraham1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Glad you had a good time at Hotel La Tour Birmingham! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,814 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
831 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing