We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked an executive room for 1 night at £80 including breakfast for two. This was an absolute bargain considering it was so close to the city centre. I requested a quiet room with a view, a surprise night our for my husband's birthday. This was granted no problems, the room was spacious and very comfortable. Staff were also really friendly and validated our bullring car park ticket so that we would only have to pay £5 when exiting (no matter how long you are parked for).

The only issue I would say we had was the in room heating control. It was set at 23 degrees which was balmy during the evening, but too hot to sleep at night. I got up twice to reduce this, but after both occasions I noticed that the temperature would go back up again. We turned this off in the end and had no further issues. On reflection, we should have mentioned this to staff on checkout in case it needed checking.

Breakfast was also plentiful with good variety. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kadoo-pappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. Next time you are here please let us know about any issues you may have -like the one with the heating you experienced- and we can sort them while you are still here, I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    621
    218
    76
    40
See reviews for
178
1,052
51
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked this hotel on a Secret Escapes deal to go Christmas Shopping and we were not disappointed. It is very convenient for the city centre shopping areas, about a 5 minute walk. The self serve check in wasn't working and had to check in the 'normal' way with a bit of a que but the staff were friendly. The executive room was modern and roomy with a very comfy bed. We drank in the bar which had a really nice atmosphere and the prices were what you'd expect to pay in a city centre. The only disappointment was that we had to que and wait whilst tables were cleared for breakfast. We then had to ask for our tea and coffee which they had forgotten and ask for the hot breakfast trays to be refilled so we could help ourselves. The service was very poor but the food was nice.

Room Tip: Room 601 is an executive room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesspenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts, we really value your feedback, and I will investigate your comments regarding breakfast and the service. I hope I have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed one night in a City room. All the signs were promising from the website to the reception area on arrival but overall, I would say this place is overpriced and needs to pay more attention to important details. They've got the style right in terms of decor but there is little of substance to back it up i.e. room well designed, good size, tasteful decor but spoiled by badly made bed, dirty shower, cold and poor quality room service food (also overpriced); check-in machines that don't work, non-existent cafe despite advertising and signage. Certainly not a bad hotel, but not up to the standard for the price asked.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lozdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thanks for posting a review about your time here at La Tour. Clearly we didn’t delight you as much as we would have hoped. We are building a product for our customers today and with this we are very open to listening to our customers and learning about what they think will make us the number one venue in Birmingham so thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

The only reason this hotel doesn't get an excellent rating from me is because I had to get 3 room cards and some of the in room technology didn't work. This may sound picky but for a hotel which seems to major on technology it was a flaw.

Check in was a self service electronic process which whilst looking intimidating was quite easy. Your room card is produced as part or the process. Don't loose your card as it is the only way you can access the room corridors.

I had a suite on the 4th floor. The room was excellent, 3 flat screen TV,s very comfortable bed, complimentary wine and chocolates, fantastic bathroom with walk in rainwater shower and large bath, complete with champagne glasses. A really pleasant experience with the WOW factor.

I didn't use the restaurant but the bar was very very good.

The hotel is within a 10 minute walk of The BullRing and the city centre.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jenx2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts, we really value your feedback, and I will investigate your comments regarding the IT systems with my team. I hope I have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I'd carefully examined the evidence, all the signs looked really positive. I was going to arrive late to I decided to reward myself with a suite, after all 4 hours on the motorway network in the dark can be pretty soul destroying. I'd phoned ahead to ask if they could fit me in in the restaurant..."no problem" was the response - "as long as you get here before 21:45". I managed to arrive at 21:30. The car park situation was confusing to say the least. No lighting, locked gates it was reminiscent of the local compound at the police station. I had to abandon my vehicle to seek advice - this cost me an extra 10 minutes before a hotel worker unlocked the gates (leaving me alone in the dark). I finally arrived in the restaurant at 21.50 to be completed blanked and then told it was shut. After appealing the manager appeared and allowed me to take my seat. This is despite being "booked in" by reception. Three very mediocre courses followed with a £9 glass of wine. I went to bed again to be disappointed with the "suite" When you are paying more than £200 you expect more refinement and luxury. HlT is not a luxury hotel, it's a run of the mill city centre crash pad. My bed was very small forcing me to sleep diagonally - work up feeling grumpy. Needs to improve on many levels to tempt me back.

Room Tip: The suite is not a suite - it's like a toblerone
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeMTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel La Tour, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service and product experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry to hear we wont be your hotel of choice in Birmingham for future stays.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour, Birmingham and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

we booked this hotel for a weekend break to take in the Christmas market and do some Xmas shopping. Our first choice of hotel was booked up, but we will definitely be using this hotel again. the location of the hotel for the shops and market was a 5-10 minute walk. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the rooms were very comfortably furnished and very modern with wifi available. The only reason i haven't given the room 5 stars is due to the view from the window (on booking it states a city view and ours was over a street). Breakfast was fresh, hot and plentiful. We chose to eat in the restaurant on our second day after a busy day in the city and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaH3ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Just left Birmingham after a 3 day business trip, the La Tour was comfortable and certainly well located.The Hotel is tastefully decorated, the rooms of a generous size and the staff are courteous and helpful.Breakfast was of a good quality and the gym was a great way to unwind!.Recommended

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASAF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing