We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$119
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelodge Birmingham Airport(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,633)
Filter reviews
2,633 results
Traveller rating
1,513
719
258
94
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,513
719
258
94
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel la tourselfridges car parktouch screenmoor street stationcity roommodern hotelchop housesecret escapeswhite company toiletriesexecutive roombull ringcity centreafternoon teamod conswalk in showerexcellent hotelconference facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,798 - 1,803 of 2,633 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel back in October for 2 nights. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left everything was excellent. We parked our car in the car park over the road from the hotel, bare in mind that its unsecured so park at your own risk.
The room was very big with a huge walk in shower big enough for two people :) also the room had lovely views over the city.
The hotel itself is very modern and looks different to many other hotels around. If you want to stay in a top class hotel then I would highly recommend this hotel.
Breakfast was also very good compared to other hotels, on both mornings I had a full English and was left very satisfied. One of the main bonus points about this hotel is that the Bull Ring shopping centre is located next to it which I loved.

Room Tip: Book a superior or executive room, They are amazing also try website Secret escapes for a good deal :)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoayb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel Friday evening, was very impressed on arrival, staff very welcoming and decor quite stunning. Rooms were just as we booked interconnecting. Went straight to bar for an emergency bite to eat as had to be somewhere. Bar was heaving with Christmas parties but bar staff very efficient and we got served quite quickly considering the parties. Delightful lady took our bar snack order as restaurant was full, the food didn't hang about and it was very tasty and very well presented. Breakfast the next morning was great too, very fresh and lots of it. Would I stay here again??? Yes I'm booking to go back in jan, ideally located for shops. Cannot understand why the hotel isn't 5 star??

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again in January Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Despite some recent bad reviews for this hotel which we found unsettling this worry was unfounded as we really enjoyed our overnight stay. with plans to see a show at the NIA the hotel was the ideal place to use as we travelled up by train. The room was clean, well equiped and quiet. The check-in was trouble free and the breakfast very good ...what would have made it excellent would have been the addition of Black Pudding. We will certainly return

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverMinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Just a note on the black pudding we do keep it stock so on your next visit please make your request to the restaurant team and the breakfast will be happy to cook you some. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Visited the hotel for a Christmas party and found the hotel to be very impressive and staff very friendly. The rooms were superb and really roomy, but the only thing to let our stay down was the meal it was very manufactured, almost liked precooked food. Everything was round, the turkey, stuffing and potatoes. The fire alarm went off twice in the night, apparently set off by people having a smoke in their rooms - not the fault of the hotel.

Overall the hotel is impressive, but our meal let it down. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DashvalleyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel La Tour, I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations in all areas. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I was sorry to hear you felt the food was manufactured, and almost liked precooked food, please let me ensure you that this is certainly not case and the Head Chef only ever use fresh ingredients in all of his dishes. However I do see your point on the presentation that it could appear this way. I will pass your comments on to Dan Pearce Head Chef and thank you very much for the constructive feedback. Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Only stayed one night whilst visiting the Christmas market but wished we had stayed for two. Only 5 minutes from the Bullring, this was the ideal place for our shopping trip. Great modern decor, extremely helpful & friendly staff & a very comfortable room made everything about our stay so easy. Would definitely recommend & would readily book again!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Glad you had a good time at Hotel La Tour Birmingham! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews