We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel let down by disastrous staff communication.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I so wanted to give this hotel a raving review but was totally let down by the service.

The hotel decor is fantastic. Really love the layout. Rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. From reception to your room, It just gives you a feeling of being something above the rest. Which it deserves to be...but sadly not.

Booked one night through secret escapes, breakfast included and the second through themselves, room only, as the deal wasn't available. Birthday weekend for my girlfriend, so rest, relaxation and shopping was on the agenda. Advised on check in that both nights were breakfast included...told the girl that only day was included. Said nope, both included and not only that, we had £40 voucher to spend in the bar. Fantastic so!

Breakfast the first day they didn't have us on the list as having included. Advised the duty manager that there was probably a mix up as we were only supposed to have one day included. Quick call to front desk cleared it up. He then mentioned that they usually match the secret escape deal rather than one day on the deal and one not. On a positive note the cooked breakfast was very good. Continental could do with more of a spread.

It all went to pieces when I made the mistake of going to the bar for dinner that night with the voucher. We sat down and waited a few minutes and thought I had to order at the bar. Went to the bar, table service only. Someone will be with you in a few minutes. No one for about 10 minutes. Went up again and asked, said someone will be there in a minute. Asked for a menu so we can decide. After the server running around like a headless chicken for several minutes (Quite literally) looking for a menu he found one behind the bar...covered in wine..but menu non the less. Took one of the restaurant menus myself and specifically asked can we order off that menu while sitting in the bar area. Yep, no problem. Ordered drinks off him while at the bar. So we sat down with both and decided on dishes off the restaurant menu. Server arrived with drinks, food ordered. After a few minutes he came back saying we can't order off the restaurant menu as it's too busy...restaurant only half full...Obviously it was just a case of us not being allowed to order off that menu in the bar. Asked for alternatives we remembered off the bar menu and was told there is no fish and chips on the bar menu...Brought us down the menu again and turned out to be a different one to the one he found earlier. Said he would come back in a minute...we waited...and waited and waited.... We had been in the bar 45 minutes at this stage. Went up to the and asked him what's going on..we want to order food. Ohhh...it's nearly 10pm...kitchen is closing. What do you want and I'll see what I can do. Cheers...doing us a favor, much appreciated...what a joke. Sharing platter arrived missing items...just like putting petrol onto a fire. Asked for more bread sticks and the response was that the kitchen was closed...Asked him if there was a padlock on the door preventing him going in and getting them...he then looked sheepish and arrived back with some. Initiative...?

Morning comes...time for our included breakfast...right? Rang up to have the Continental breakfast brought to the room. No breakfast included, said that we were told it was on more than one occasion. Negative. Now I asked, if no breakfast...what about £40 bar voucher. No was the response and she will look into it. On call back they said nothing to do about the £40 but we can have the breakfast complimentary and being £15 each it's close to the amount spent in the bar. Not a chance given what happened the night before. On the next call back they agreed to comp the bar bill with no breakfast which was agreeable to me.


So much potential in this hotel, but for our stay...glad to leave the service behind.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KollieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

I have direct messaged you so I can deal with your issues, Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,700 - 1,706 of 2,544 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stopped in this hotel while visiting the Christmas markets. The hotel is situated just a short walk from the bull ring and car parking available for £5 at Selfridges car park which is just a 5 minute walk.
The hotel is modern and clean with good sized rooms. Hotel staff were very friendly on check in/out.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food and service was very good, also had breakfast in the morning and again the food was good with a good choice, hot and cold.
The only issue we had was the table service in the bar which was poor, waiters walked past tables with empty glasses repeatedly, it was easier to go to the bar.
On checking out the staff member asked how our stay had been and we mentioned the poor service in the bar area, he was very apologetic and removed the bar service charge from our bill.
Overall a good stay and will use the hotel again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel La Tour, but I was disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations in some areas and I will be investigating your issues in the bar will my bars manager. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies and hope it doesn't put you off returning as clearly we did delight you in general. Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Each year we book a hotel close to Christmas and do all our shopping in one hit. We usually stay in Mal Maison by the Mail Box in Birmingham but wanted a change. Don't get me wrong the Mal is a lovely stylish hotel and we love it. However we may now be La Tour converts.
The hotel is very stylish and super clean. The staff make you feel extremely welcome and cannot do enough for you. The check-in staff are friendly and helpful. We upgraded on arrival to an Executive Room which had a large comfortable bed, lovely rainforest walk in shower and fun digital controls for the lights. The television was huge and had an excellent picture. The only slight critisism would be that the wardrobe was small. Not a problem for us though.
It took us less than 5 minutes to walk to the Bullring shopping centre. La Tour is about two minutes walk from Moor Street Train Station. (We had tickets to travel from New Street which is walkable unless you have as much shopping as we did! The taxi fair was £6.50 from the hotel to New Street station and well worth it for us.)
I cannot fault the food, it was superb . We ate in the Bar area and the Restaurant. Both excellent service. You are encouraged to give Star Cards if a member of staff is outstanding but they all were. We had live entertainment in the form of singers both nights. It was nice to see so many others enjoying the La Tour Christmas hospitality.
We will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a Birmingham city break.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 3. The room was very comfortable but because we stayed when there were Christmas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for making Hotel La Tour your hotel of choice in Birmingham,the whole team at Hotel La Tour are working hard to deliver excellent customer service so it's particularly welcome to hear you had such a great time: I'll make sure your comments are passed on and look forward to seeing you back soon. Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stay 13/12/13 - The hotel location is brilliant, right near the bullring perfect for shopping. I came to stay for my works Xmas party and wanted a central hotel that was also luxe (rather than the usual inns and lodges out there)

I booked an executive room, was a little small I thought it would have been bigger for an exec but still a good size. (I may have had one of the smaller execs?) The room it self was very clean, comfortable and to a high standard. The bathroom again spotless and the shower was amazing. Great techy gadgets, lighting etc. All worth the money.

It was a tad annoying that we couldn't reserve parking in the hotel car park and we were told it was just first come first serve. Further to this if we wanted to leave the carpark to go exploring we were not guaranteed a space when we got back. This needs to change. The space should be allocated to those who reserve and pay which can be done by a first come first serve basis but at least be guaranteed for them.

It was a great shame though that my experience was ruined by the poor customer service we received. Firstly the fire alarm went off twice at early hours of morning, when we questioned this with a hotel representative (Clive?) we were not given an apology for the inconvenience or given a reason as to why this had happened. In fact some people were that annoyed with him that they wanted to check out there and then and requested refunds. If he had been apologetic and explained the situation we all would have been assured that our concerns had been taken in to account and that we were valued customers. Secondly due to the interruptions in our sleep we wanted to request a later checkout but again the hotel did not accommodate this for us. I was feeling particularly unwell and this just made my stay unpleasant. After being disturbed twice in the early hours and being given no explanation or empathy from the hotel we were then refused a late checkout.

It was then only the next morning did the staff at the reception allow us a couple of extra hours. I did not get her name but thank you for restoring some faith that the customer comes first ideology.

The staff were not all that bad, I think he was a member of the concierge, a man called Salah? He was fantastic, friendly, helpful very welcoming and accommodating. Salah restored some faith that good customer service was still present at the hotel. He is a great asset to the team at hotel la tour.

It is just a shame the night staff at the reception were rude (they laughed at us when we were refused requesting a late checkout ), not accommodating and didn't seem to want to please us as a customer. For that reason I would think twice about staying here again which is a shame cos the hotel in terms of facilities, room calibre is brilliant and very luxe, I would expect more for the luxury hotel they want to be.


  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x_hoz_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thanks for posting a review about your time here at La Tour. Clearly we didn’t delight you as much as we would have hoped in some areas. We are building a product for our customers today and with this we are very open to listening to our customers and learning about what they think will make us the number one venue in Birmingham so thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We chose to stay at Hotel La Tour on a recent visit to the Birmingham Christmas markets - loved every minute of it!

Our room (405) was an Executive Room - spacious, immaculately clean and really modern (though not in a "clinical" sense). We had a floor to ceiling window, with great blackout curtains to ensure a good night's sleep. Nice touches included the chaise longue (yep, really), White Company toiletries, a fabulous "wet room" style bathroom, and ample tea/coffee making facilities, along with 2 small bottles of mineral water. The room was spacious and comfortable, complete with the latest in-room technology.

We had breakfast in the hotel - great selection of continental & cooked food. Throughout the hotel all the staff were really helpful - a young gentleman on reception helped us structure our visit & gave us a city map to ensure we made the most of our visit to Birmingham. We really appreciated his suggestions.

Location-wise you can't fault this hotel. An easy stroll takes you into the Bullring shopping centre, and Moor Street Station is less than 2 minutes walk away. The hotel had a fabulous deal on whilst we were there that was a huge help re car parking - we paid £5 to park in Moor St Selfridges car park from 12 noon one day until 7pm the next. I don't know if this is a permanent offer, so check before you go. It certainly was a most welcome arrangement and took the sting out of city centre car parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

i am a real fan of Hotel La Tour having stayed a few times, eaten there as a party or as a couple and twice at the chef's table and also booked conference facilities on business. This time i met a friend for afternoon tea in amongst a busy day's shopping. it was amazing - lovely menu, real care taken over the choices - all seasonal - we had a couple of autumn cocktails (it wasn't quite Christmas). We had a choice of teas, lovely sandwiches and welsh rarebit, a scone with clotted cream and jam and a choice of homemade desserts which were wonderful. If we wanted more the staff were more than happy to provide more which is great as i usually prefer more savoury than the sweet options. We had afternoon tea on a Saturday afternoon and there was a brilliant lady vocalist singing for nearly 3 hours to accompany our tea. I love having afternoon tea and this was the best we've ever had. i would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to take a break from the hustle and bustle of shopping as it is close enough to come out of the Bullring and wonder down there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

3 hours for afternoon tea now that is our idea of a great experience at Hotel La Tour. We are so glad that you have had lots of good visits, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. Please come back and see us again soon. Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at hotel La Tour last weekend as part of a 'cultural' visit to Birmingham, taking in the German market experience, the restaurants and a lovely show at the Symphony Hall. This is a lovely, modern hotel with fabulous amenities. What's more, the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay special. Our room was spacious, clean and we had a wonderful night's sleep. Well worth the trip and put the cherry on the icing on the cake for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fenella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,256 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,214 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Birmingham

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England (Formerly Hotel La Tour)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £68 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Birmingham 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clayton Hotel Birmingham has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing