We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Went here recently as a base for Christmas shopping. Well placed for Bullring, superb service in the restaurant and bar in the evening. Bar staff, special mention to Will, were happy to talk to you to explain last order times rather than simply call time. Staff helped on check in and check out. Lovely quality hotel. Super bathroom. There was an event in the hotel that evening and the was even a note in our room explaining that our room had been allocated with this in mind to ensure we had a peaceful stay. What a wonderful touch. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team a specially Will will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    647
    223
    78
    41
See reviews for
183
1,090
54
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Nice clean rooms with nicely fitted out bathroom.

The hotel was really as you would hope it to be, no complaints. view was good looking out over the Bull Ring. Despite being on a corner room with the main road we were not woken up with the rush hour traffic.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife & I stayed in a suite for two nights 20th/21st December. From check in to departure everything was straight forward. The accommodation was clean & comfortable. Staff were impeccable with attention to detail. A Special mention to Christopher the restaurant manager and our young waitress Lydia. Food was yummy and hot. The parking deal with Selfridges for £5 was a bonus. 10/10 all round and will definitely be coming back next time we are in Birmingham.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and experience in Aalto, Chris and Lydia thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I so wanted to give this hotel a raving review but was totally let down by the service.

The hotel decor is fantastic. Really love the layout. Rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. From reception to your room, It just gives you a feeling of being something above the rest. Which it deserves to be...but sadly not.

Booked one night through secret escapes, breakfast included and the second through themselves, room only, as the deal wasn't available. Birthday weekend for my girlfriend, so rest, relaxation and shopping was on the agenda. Advised on check in that both nights were breakfast included...told the girl that only day was included. Said nope, both included and not only that, we had £40 voucher to spend in the bar. Fantastic so!

Breakfast the first day they didn't have us on the list as having included. Advised the duty manager that there was probably a mix up as we were only supposed to have one day included. Quick call to front desk cleared it up. He then mentioned that they usually match the secret escape deal rather than one day on the deal and one not. On a positive note the cooked breakfast was very good. Continental could do with more of a spread.

It all went to pieces when I made the mistake of going to the bar for dinner that night with the voucher. We sat down and waited a few minutes and thought I had to order at the bar. Went to the bar, table service only. Someone will be with you in a few minutes. No one for about 10 minutes. Went up again and asked, said someone will be there in a minute. Asked for a menu so we can decide. After the server running around like a headless chicken for several minutes (Quite literally) looking for a menu he found one behind the bar...covered in wine..but menu non the less. Took one of the restaurant menus myself and specifically asked can we order off that menu while sitting in the bar area. Yep, no problem. Ordered drinks off him while at the bar. So we sat down with both and decided on dishes off the restaurant menu. Server arrived with drinks, food ordered. After a few minutes he came back saying we can't order off the restaurant menu as it's too busy...restaurant only half full...Obviously it was just a case of us not being allowed to order off that menu in the bar. Asked for alternatives we remembered off the bar menu and was told there is no fish and chips on the bar menu...Brought us down the menu again and turned out to be a different one to the one he found earlier. Said he would come back in a minute...we waited...and waited and waited.... We had been in the bar 45 minutes at this stage. Went up to the and asked him what's going on..we want to order food. Ohhh...it's nearly 10pm...kitchen is closing. What do you want and I'll see what I can do. Cheers...doing us a favor, much appreciated...what a joke. Sharing platter arrived missing items...just like putting petrol onto a fire. Asked for more bread sticks and the response was that the kitchen was closed...Asked him if there was a padlock on the door preventing him going in and getting them...he then looked sheepish and arrived back with some. Initiative...?

Morning comes...time for our included breakfast...right? Rang up to have the Continental breakfast brought to the room. No breakfast included, said that we were told it was on more than one occasion. Negative. Now I asked, if no breakfast...what about £40 bar voucher. No was the response and she will look into it. On call back they said nothing to do about the £40 but we can have the breakfast complimentary and being £15 each it's close to the amount spent in the bar. Not a chance given what happened the night before. On the next call back they agreed to comp the bar bill with no breakfast which was agreeable to me.


So much potential in this hotel, but for our stay...glad to leave the service behind.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KollieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
I have direct messaged you so I can deal with your issues, Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped in this hotel while visiting the Christmas markets. The hotel is situated just a short walk from the bull ring and car parking available for £5 at Selfridges car park which is just a 5 minute walk.
The hotel is modern and clean with good sized rooms. Hotel staff were very friendly on check in/out.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food and service was very good, also had breakfast in the morning and again the food was good with a good choice, hot and cold.
The only issue we had was the table service in the bar which was poor, waiters walked past tables with empty glasses repeatedly, it was easier to go to the bar.
On checking out the staff member asked how our stay had been and we mentioned the poor service in the bar area, he was very apologetic and removed the bar service charge from our bill.
Overall a good stay and will use the hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel La Tour, but I was disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations in some areas and I will be investigating your issues in the bar will my bars manager. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies and hope it doesn't put you off returning as clearly we did delight you in general. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Each year we book a hotel close to Christmas and do all our shopping in one hit. We usually stay in Mal Maison by the Mail Box in Birmingham but wanted a change. Don't get me wrong the Mal is a lovely stylish hotel and we love it. However we may now be La Tour converts.
The hotel is very stylish and super clean. The staff make you feel extremely welcome and cannot do enough for you. The check-in staff are friendly and helpful. We upgraded on arrival to an Executive Room which had a large comfortable bed, lovely rainforest walk in shower and fun digital controls for the lights. The television was huge and had an excellent picture. The only slight critisism would be that the wardrobe was small. Not a problem for us though.
It took us less than 5 minutes to walk to the Bullring shopping centre. La Tour is about two minutes walk from Moor Street Train Station. (We had tickets to travel from New Street which is walkable unless you have as much shopping as we did! The taxi fair was £6.50 from the hotel to New Street station and well worth it for us.)
I cannot fault the food, it was superb . We ate in the Bar area and the Restaurant. Both excellent service. You are encouraged to give Star Cards if a member of staff is outstanding but they all were. We had live entertainment in the form of singers both nights. It was nice to see so many others enjoying the La Tour Christmas hospitality.
We will definitely return and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a Birmingham city break.

Room Tip: We stayed on floor 3. The room was very comfortable but because we stayed when there were Christmas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for making Hotel La Tour your hotel of choice in Birmingham,the whole team at Hotel La Tour are working hard to deliver excellent customer service so it's particularly welcome to hear you had such a great time: I'll make sure your comments are passed on and look forward to seeing you back soon. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stay 13/12/13 - The hotel location is brilliant, right near the bullring perfect for shopping. I came to stay for my works Xmas party and wanted a central hotel that was also luxe (rather than the usual inns and lodges out there)

I booked an executive room, was a little small I thought it would have been bigger for an exec but still a good size. (I may have had one of the smaller execs?) The room it self was very clean, comfortable and to a high standard. The bathroom again spotless and the shower was amazing. Great techy gadgets, lighting etc. All worth the money.

It was a tad annoying that we couldn't reserve parking in the hotel car park and we were told it was just first come first serve. Further to this if we wanted to leave the carpark to go exploring we were not guaranteed a space when we got back. This needs to change. The space should be allocated to those who reserve and pay which can be done by a first come first serve basis but at least be guaranteed for them.

It was a great shame though that my experience was ruined by the poor customer service we received. Firstly the fire alarm went off twice at early hours of morning, when we questioned this with a hotel representative (Clive?) we were not given an apology for the inconvenience or given a reason as to why this had happened. In fact some people were that annoyed with him that they wanted to check out there and then and requested refunds. If he had been apologetic and explained the situation we all would have been assured that our concerns had been taken in to account and that we were valued customers. Secondly due to the interruptions in our sleep we wanted to request a later checkout but again the hotel did not accommodate this for us. I was feeling particularly unwell and this just made my stay unpleasant. After being disturbed twice in the early hours and being given no explanation or empathy from the hotel we were then refused a late checkout.

It was then only the next morning did the staff at the reception allow us a couple of extra hours. I did not get her name but thank you for restoring some faith that the customer comes first ideology.

The staff were not all that bad, I think he was a member of the concierge, a man called Salah? He was fantastic, friendly, helpful very welcoming and accommodating. Salah restored some faith that good customer service was still present at the hotel. He is a great asset to the team at hotel la tour.

It is just a shame the night staff at the reception were rude (they laughed at us when we were refused requesting a late checkout ), not accommodating and didn't seem to want to please us as a customer. For that reason I would think twice about staying here again which is a shame cos the hotel in terms of facilities, room calibre is brilliant and very luxe, I would expect more for the luxury hotel they want to be.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x_hoz_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thanks for posting a review about your time here at La Tour. Clearly we didn’t delight you as much as we would have hoped in some areas. We are building a product for our customers today and with this we are very open to listening to our customers and learning about what they think will make us the number one venue in Birmingham so thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing