We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, food and facilities”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after a friend had a function in one of the private rooms, the function room was a good size and like everything else had a modern feel and was very clean. The food was amazing and even with catering for such a large number of people was high quality and served quickly. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MurfinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,638 - 1,644 of 2,504 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very comfortable and clean bedrooms, quiet (floor 5).

The conference room (room 2) had good facilities and lots of natural light.

Dont try and park at the hotel, use the Selfridges carpark just down the road. Its secure and by staying in the hotel you get to park there for a low fee: £5 for 3 days.

Meals were good with fresh vegetables and a good choice. Both lunch and Dinner. Staff were welcoming and helpful and the automated checkout avoided queues.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the conference facilities at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for the second time at this hotel in the 7th of Jan and it's definitely a cut above where we've stayed else where in Birmingham (only the hotel du vin comes close). We booked late on the day of arrival under the 'love brum' package, total cost £95,the room costs £25 and then you have £70 to spend in the hotel but you can't use it on room service or breakfast. If the website says this deal is unavailable then check with reservations as we managed to book it through them. Parking is directly across from the hotel and costs an additional £10 for the night but is very secure (you need someone from reception to open the gates). The rooms are of a high standard and very modern which is to our taste. Bar prices aren't cheap but then not over the top either, pint of Becks and larger glass of rose about £10. We used up what was remaining of our £70 credit on two burgers from the bar menu and they were excellent, really good quality and some of the best chunky chips I've ever tasted! Graham on the bar was an absolute gentlemen and really knows his stuff (try a French mojito if you get a chance) and Aimee on reception an absolute star. We were so impressed that we staying here again tonight.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank SouthGoneNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and I will pass on your special thanks to Aimee and Graham ( French Mojito that's a new one on me). I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I booked a conference here, the 12th I've organised, and the entire experience blew me away. We got the best ever evaluation reports form the 90 delegates for a conference in The Auden Rooms, but the entire set-up was exemplary, from the hi-tech spotless rooms, to the brilliant views and the stunnng food. I don't know how the hotel produced conference food of that exceptional quality and how everything was replenished constantly, for the price. There were even hand-made cookies and treats in the breaks. All delegates scored the venue at our highest 5 rating.

There were some glitches. There always are. But that they were rectified in moments from a willing team who sometimes went beyond anything I'd ever experienced from a UK hotel. Ask the barman for a non-alcoholic Mojito. If you do wine, this is one of a handful of hotels that can get hold of Cloudy Bay Sauvignon - and the mark-up isn't too scary, either.

Just amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drbeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one, we will have the Cloudy Bay on ice. Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My partner and myself stayed here over New Years. On arrival the staff were friendly and assistant. They helped us get checked into our room using the self-serve system. This was a little confusing but we were seen to and checked into our room very quickly. The room itself was full of modem technology, audio docks so you can listen to your music in the bathroom, touch screen light switches and a arrange of sockets to plug your devices into. As a young couple we would have liked a brighter, bigger more colourful room (like Malmaison we recently stayed in for the same price) but this hotel has its own style and sophistication which we appreciated. Would stay here again, possibly for a cheaper price but to bring in the new year it was ideal. Location was spot on, 7/8 min walk for Birmingham New street with the infamous Bull Ring 5 mins walk away. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Got a very nice email from the hotel for 95 pounds a night city double.

That included 70 pounds towards food and drink so the room only cost 25 pounds excellent.

Again i have stayed here now for 4th time and its gets better.

The only thing to complain about was the lift on the left handside kept opening and closing seemed to have a fault lots of guest where complaing about that lift.

La Tour yr such a nice hotel bar and resturant can you much improve on the food you have offering in the evening.

I mean its ok for lunch but offering fish and chips or burgers aint grand.

You could much offer a good British menu offering good food and i dont my paying more of course.

Again i like the hotel but change the menu.
The

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank waynese15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thanks for posting a review about your time here at La Tour. Clearly we didn’t delight you as much as we would have hoped in some areas. We are building a product for our customers today and with this we are very open to listening to our customers and learning about what they think will make us the number one venue in Birmingham so thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here the first weekend in January for a joint birthday celebration with 3 other couples. The hotel is very modern, and the bedrooms/bathrooms were extremely clean. The breakfast was also great, but the thing that stood out to me most was the friendliness and competence of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they all appeared genuinely interested in making your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. When next visiting Birmingham, I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you decided to give us a try and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon, Regards Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,137 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
3,999 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,545 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £76 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing