We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for 4* just a few minor niggles”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for 4* just a few minor niggles”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in an exec room, very nice and comfy, but not very spacious. Lovely bathroom, no bath but big lovely shower. The White Company toiletries a nice touch, but sparse and no facecloths either which was odd, the lovely housekeepers immediately sorted some shampoo. Air Con although easy to adjust, was actually a bit complicated as we were stiflingly hot in the night no matter what we did to adjust it! TV and the services great. On arrival, check in was efficient, perhaps a little too efficient as were not informed of breakfast times or where it was, or the hotel facilities at all and had to ask other guests about some things. The bar is lovely and well kept, bar food and wine list is very nice, drinks and cocktails great too. Most of the staff are very friendly and keen to help, and happy to greet you with a smile, but they were nearly all very young and student age and this did reflect in the customer service which was friendly and helpful but a little immature at times, but as they were so lovely it just didn't matter. Breakfast was really excellent, good variety and great quality. I was here on business and pleasure, but spent a lot of time in the hotel, and would recommend it, but be aware the bars etc are a 5-10 minute taxi ride away. Nice hotel and great rooms, spacious areas and clean and modern if a little unatmospheric. Would recommend to others as decent 4 & 5* hotels are sparse in Birmingham. Would definitely benefit from a pool though! Very nice stay all in all.

Room Tip: High up are better, we had 4th floor and could hear traffic from very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate34Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    670
    232
    79
    42
See reviews for
194
1,148
54
557
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel through Secret Escapes who unfortunately did not notify the hotel of our booking. However, the hotel reception quickly resolved this and found us a room; though there was a moment when we'd thought we'd been forgotten as the member of staff serving us disappeared and never seemed to return.

The concierge was efficient dealing with our meal reservation and taxi requests whilst checking us in despite our best efforts to confuse him.

The room was pleasant and overlooked the park and car park. It was clean and tidy and quiet with traffic noise only becoming noticeable in the morning rush hour. We did have a bit of a problem initially getting to sleep at night as first we noticed that the phone was really bright and though it dimmed it didn't turn off. We then noticed there was also a really bright green led by the door (probably to do with the emergency lighting) which made us feel like we had a nightlight. However, a quick bit of ingenuity on our part solved these. We were woken by the light coming in under the curtain as the curtains were about an inch to short.

The audio visual system looked good, though we only used the TV. The TV itself, whilst good, only had a number of digital channels and no access to any movies except Film4.

Bathroom was nice though I was a bit disappointed with the rain shower which felt too low pressure.

We ate in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast where the food was good. Especially the chicken supreme.

The overnight bar staff were also quick to resolve a missing bottle of wine and a request for crisps which they didn't stock.

Overall a very nice hotel and we'd recommend it to anyone staying in Birmingham and no doubt will stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts, we really value your feedback. I hope I have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Booked my one night stay through Secret Escapes and only cost me £80 with breakfast included which is extremely good for a city centre 5 star hotel. Was not dissapointed at all. Arrived at the hotel and was greeted by lovely reception staff. The room was very clean and high tech! lights and heating was controlled by an electronic wall panel and you could also connect your phone to the rooms bluetooth and listen to music. Did this easily and there was also a speaker in the bathroom which was a nice touch. The bed was very big and comfy with nice sheets and enough cushions.
There was also a touch screen phone by the bed that you could set alarms on and control the lights, although it was a big annoying during the night flashing and i didnt know how to put it of.. Although in the morning it went off by itself, typical when i wanted to use it! The decor was nice and a large tv with lots of features on it. The bathroom was very clean and had a big walk in shower.
We had breakfast in the morning and it was delicious, we ere greeted at the restraunt by a lovely gentleman, We had to wait about 5minutes as it was quite busy then taken to our seats and asked what we wanted to drink. It was self service on the food and you could eat as much as you like - they had toast, breads, pastries, cereals, fruits, full english and more and everything was very nice.
We parked our car at the hotels car park which was only £10 for 24hrs, not bad compared to other car parks.
All in all a lovely stay in a lovely hotel in birminghams city centre. Would definetely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you were impressed by our facilities and that you appreciated so many aspects of our hotel. At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and we are delighted we achieved this for you. We look forward to seeing you again, Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a suite and had a lovely time. The room was huge with separate lounge and bedroom area, three televisions with one in the bathroom. All the staff were extremely friendly and nothing seemed to much trouble. The restaurant in the evening was great and all the food was of good quality. Breakfast was also great with everything you could ever want. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin29000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you were impressed by our facilities and that you appreciated so many aspects of our hotel. At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and we are delighted we achieved this for you. We look forward to seeing you again, Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Another stop over at Hotel La Tour Birmingham and I'm pleased to say it still doesn't disappoint -

Still modern (very), still a great vibe (great music being piped around the hotel), still a great welcome from the staff I encountered on my visit.

The food is still as ever fantastic as are the restaurant surroundings - The breakfast is something I have to mention...Fantastic.

I'm surprised by the negative comments of some (whilst valuing their views), it says it all when these reviewers 'flaws' are so minor - I find it hard to fault, especially when staying in lesser city centre hotels for a higher price...I would highly recommend it to all types of traveller, I would say it covers all bases for a great stay if looking for a new, fresh modern hotel stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheThirstyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It's great to hear you are still impressed with the Hotel and that you still found the facilities of a great quality. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Unusual for me to be quite so critical but paying the same to stay in 4star in birmingham as London with less facilities made me feel quite disappointed.We found the staff very helpful,but we upgraded our room & wondered why,no dressing gowns,no saving/vanity mirror in the bathroom.breakfast was a big let down laid out on the (chef,s table) food not hot enough,very limited choices.Hotel a lot has a lot of style over substance.

Room Tip: Not worth upgrading your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 8 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Hotel La Tour, Birmingham, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Hotel La Tour, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent this from happening again.

We appreciate your feedback, as this helps us ensure we are always meeting the high expectations we set for ourselves and the standards our customers expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a fabulous hotel! £160 for two nights B & B in exec room, plus a bottle of wine if dining (and a nice bottle of wine that was too). Staff were great, room really lovely, breakfast very fresh with lots of choice.
Also, everywhere was clean and modern, cutlery and crockery spotless - my type of hotel. 2 minutes walk from 'Think Tank' 5 mins walk from the Bullring, 15 mins walk from the Back to Backs. We parked in Selfridges - a deal with the hotel - if you do not intend to move your car you can park in this well lit multi storey for £5 for the whole of your stay. Room in hotel restaurant was lovely, we ate in Browns the second evening and that was great too. Fabulous stay, would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the two roads and railway and it was still a very quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It's great to hear you were impressed with the Hotel and that you found the facilities of a great quality. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team. Regards Jane Riley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,847 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
874 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
2,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing