We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,654)
Filter reviews
2,654 results
Traveller rating
1,524
725
259
95
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,524
725
259
95
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel la tourselfridges car parktouch screenmoor street stationcity roommodern hotelchop housesecret escapeswhite company toiletriesexecutive roombull ringcity centreafternoon teamod conswalk in showerexcellent hotelconference facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1,668 - 1,673 of 2,654 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Used La Tour a lot for business meetings. Service is always great, food is good and staff always friendly and helpful. Less formal than some other hotels, but always professional. Only drawback is parking as does not have own carpark, but walking distance to main train stations balances this out.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

First time in Birmingham. This hotel is very new and high tech. The size of room is ok. Everything is very new and clean. Bed is a bit softer but very comfortable. Aircon is just right and quiet. Wifi is fast and free. It is just 5 min walk from the Bullring shopping mall. Very convenient. There's a Tesco Express nearby and therefore quite handy. Breakfast selection is ok, food quality is good. The only complaint is you can hear people slamming the door when they leave their room. Quite annoying. Otherwise everything is just perfect!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Summer_Traveller_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Myself and my partner spent an evening here which we booked through Secret Escapes. Fantastic value for money, room was beautiful, very stylish and bed was amazing. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, I became quite ill during the meal and the staff were very friendly and had my food taken to my room for me to finish.

All the staff in general were very helpful and it was an all round pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Only downside was the media hub, we were under the impression we were able to connect a device and have it play videos however this did not work and we were told that we could only stream audio through this.

We have already booked in to visit again and feel there will be many more stays in future.

Room Tip: Executive rooms and beautiful however slightly small.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2015

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Five of us decided to give La Tour a try for afternoon tea.

We had pre-booked so they had a table set up for us with a couple of sofas and chairs. All of the furnishings were smart looking and very comfortable. It was also nice that the table were well space away from one another so you didn't hear the other tables.

The service was excellent and they were very accommodating. They seem to really want you to enjoy the experience which goes a long way for me so extra points for that. It is appreciated.

The food was okay. It was pleasantly presented on a floor stand which meant the table was not over crowded. It was nice to have the soldiers and welsh rarebit as a savoury. I also enjoyed the scones and the macaroon was lovely. At least two of us thought so while 3 were not so keen on it.

None of us really cared for the marshmallow item they offered.

The only slight disappointment was the tea itself. The selection is very modest and they use tea bags. That being said they at least use the tea bags from twinnings that are filled with whole leaf tea. And they were kind to offer my partner another bag for his pot as he likes his tea strong. They also brought new pots of tea when requested which was nice as well. So these two things helped make up for the previous two minor complaints.

Overall we all said how much we enjoyed the afternoon which for me it was mostly down to the staff and the environment.

I would certainly recommend La Tour for their afternoon tea and look forward to my next visit. It is one of the better afternoon teas I have had in Birmingham and worth the £20 price tag.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful reception staff. Well appointed rooms - very high tech. Excellent nights sleep. Convenient parking arrangement but a bit of a walk with
Luggage. It's not the easiest place to get to, but it's Birmingham. Highly recommended. Didn't use any of facilities - just a wedding stopover.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Gregatimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2015

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel La Tour Birmingham. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Jane Riley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews