We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very stylish”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

the hotel was immaculate, felt so clean everywhere. my room was perfect in size and the decor was modern and well thought out, especially liked the rain fall shower. couple of moans though! the complimentary WIFI was very slow, I could not get an EE signal in my room for the duration of my stay and no mini bar facility in the room is pretty poor for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking your time to leave feedback following your stay with us. I am pleased that you liked the hotel but disappointed that there are areas where we let ourselves down. We have recently changed our WIFI supplier for what was supposed to be a better offering but this has experienced some technical problems which are not acceptable and we are working through now. We have also had intermittent with phone signals without going in to great details, due to the construction within the building. Again we are hoping this will be improved very soon.
Thank you for choosing Hotel La Tour and I promise you we will work hard to improve on these services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 2,504 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

A fantastic hotel, a real find and wish we were staying for longer. Service was excellent from the minute we arrived, food superb and communal areas are gorgeous. We stayed in an Executive room, beautifully decorated, hi tech, great shower room, toiletries and coffee making facilities all included. There is even a chaise longe!

Wifi was free for 24 hours and worked well.

The hotel is about 5 minutes from Birmingham Moor Street station and 10 minutes from New Street.

Room Tip: Executive room was lovely, we were above reception on the third floor and didn't get any street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank FionaandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience of staying with us at Hotel La Tour.
It was so pleasing to read that you had a good experience. I always make sure the team read every review that we receive and it makes them very happy when they read that our guests like what we do. We are determined to be the best at what we do and it is so motivating when we hear that our guests enjoy being with us.
We know there is lots of choice of hotel in the city and very much appreciate you choosing Hotel La Tour. I hope that we can welcome you back next time you are staying in Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went on a Secret Escapes deal having been recommended to the hotel by my daughter. Although only 10 minutes walk from New Street Station this hotel is enough out of the city centre to be lovely and quiet at night. Beautifully decorated and with floor to ceiling windows, comfy chaise longue and loads of electronic devices (which even I, in my sixties could use) the room was light, airy and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and all staff very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: odd numbers have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hicaz446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience of staying with us at Hotel La Tour.
It was so pleasing to read that you had a good experience. I always make sure the team read every review that we receive and it makes them very happy when they read that our guests like what we do. We are determined to be the best at what we do and it is so motivating when we hear that our guests enjoy being with us.
We know there is lots of choice of hotel in the city and very much appreciate you choosing Hotel La Tour. I hope that we can welcome you back next time you are staying in Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

I don't think I've stayed in a cleaner hotel in my life! The place is quite simply immaculate! Check in was simple,and the staff very friendly. Great hotel bar with a wide selection of wines, spirits, beers and cocktails. The rooms are fantastic, modern touch panels for lighting and heating and really easy to use. The room is well equipped with a REAL iron and board, 1100w multifunction hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, 32" inch tv that let's you record a programme if you wish. King size bed which is very comfortable with a comfy duvet too! The bathroom features a walk in shower with an over head shower head and hand held one too. Great smelling products supplied, which makes a change to a lot of other hotels. Parking is £10 for the night, just opposite the hotel. The location is a five minute walk from restaurants such as San Carlo, Fumo and Bodega. We took a taxi, but don't get a black cab! The area is a network of one ways and could actually take you longer in traffic. Overall the hotel is amazing and is definitely worth a stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Emmlee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience of staying with us at Hotel La Tour.
It was so pleasing to read that you had a good experience. I always make sure the team read every review that we receive and it makes them very happy when they read that our guests like what we do. We are determined to be the best at what we do and it is so motivating when we hear that our guests enjoy being with us.
We know there is lots of choice of hotel in the city and very much appreciate you choosing Hotel La Tour. I hope that we can welcome you back next time you are staying in Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a Sunday night in the city and as it was close to Birmingham Moor Street Station for a day out to Royal Leamington Spa and Warwick. On arrival at check in time we were amazed on how the hotel was lovely, modern, clean and how friendly the hotel staff were. The young guy on reception was excellent. Room allocated to us was amazing for what we paid. Standard double room for 2 with breakfast. As it was a Sunday night and was pouring down with rain outside we choose to eat in the hotel restaurant. Excellent food, beverages and staff. Given the Sunday set menu - tasty and you could not fault anything. Excellent portion size. Quite nights sleep and breakfast the next morning was as good as the nights meal before. Check out was easy and we left our bags till late afternoon on our return. Great location for Birmingham train stations. Loved it and will return. Malmasion and Hotel du Vin watch out for providing a 3* service and accommodation at much higher prices compared to our new experience at Hotel La Tour 5* Sunday night experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davide79_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Wow! Your kind comments are music to our ears and really do mean a lot. Thank you for taking the time to let us know what we are doing right. I will make sure this is passed back to our hard-working team and that they continue to be recognised for the great work they are doing.
I hope we have the opportunity to take care of you again next time you are in Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice rooms, good facilities, very limited restaurant menu - but manageable. Any positives completely wiped out by "complimentary wifi" which did not work. The option was to upgrade £10 for 24 hours by "collecting a voucher from reception". No work, no downloads, just a frustrating evening. I hope that the extra £10 that the hotel receives outweighs the loss of custom from frustrated guests who don't come back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank ALSSW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I am so sorry about you experience it is not acceptable and you are right to be so frustrated with the situation. We changed our WIFI supplier to what was supposed to be a more improved service and it has had technical issues which I believe are resolved. I know that this is not good to you now but if ever we manage to encourage you to stay with us again and there is an issue please contact reception immediately and they will be able to attach you to the network through our internal systems if there are issues with our public WIFI.
We work so hard to maintain high standards of service and building and it is very upsetting when technical issues let us down, we won't allow this to happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I live just down the road but my wife booked this hotel as we were on a night out in B'ham. The hotel is modern and minimalist and therefore just what I enjoy. The facilities are new and all in very good working order. The tech in the rooms is just stunning and before long I had connected the iphone to the TV for some music. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Parking at Moor St was only £5 and therefore very sane. Breakfast was very good and perfectly fine for that level of hotel. Price seems very fair when you consider the type hotel and the convenience of the location. May have been a bit more because it was midweek. I liked it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJPRB2007, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We very much appreciate you taking your time to leave feedback following your stay with us at Hotel La Tour. I was so pleased to read that you had a good time and have made sure that all of the team have read this. I am very lucky to work with a fantastic team of people who are all determined to be the best at what they do and the love to hear about our guests experiences.
Thank you for choosing Hotel La Tour and I hope that we have the opportunity to take care of you next time you are in the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,137 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,001 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,546 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £76 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing