We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend recently at this wonderful hotel. Very modern & great location for the Bullring and train station. Parking was right outside - secure & only £10 a day.
Reception was funky as they use machines for checking in and out. We were helped by a very friendly member of staff.
We didn't eat or drink there as we wanted to enjoy Birmingham. They had live music in the bar on the Saturday we stayed
Very reasonable rates too for a weekend. From the high standard I thought this was part of a large and expanding chain of hotels. Turns out this is the only 1 in the UK.
Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MatONtheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Hi MattONtheRoad,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour. Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass these on to the staff.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,324
    621
    218
    76
    40
See reviews for
178
1,052
51
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lovely hotel. Attentive staff. Food superb and breakfast a must. Parking could be better but apart from that I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are beautiful. Comfy beds and roomy showers. Went there on a Facebook deal which was excellent value.

Room Tip: I saw three rooms and all were the same. Very nicely done and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amberhulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Hi amberhulme,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend at the weekend. The hotel exceeded our expectations to say the least.

We were taken back by how efficient and professional the reception staff were throughout the whole stay and that's not usually something we would probably ever notice being a young couple.

We upgraded to an executive room which was fantastic. The photos really don't do it justice! The room was immaculate - very clean and the view over Birmingham made it special. Lights and air on were all controlled on a touch screen. Lighting could be altered to set the set mood. There was a small fridge in room too.

It's very close to the city centre which made the hotel stay very easy and hassle free.

I would definitely recommend staying here and upgrading to executive room.

I'm already planning my next trip back :-) xx

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tanniie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Hi Tanniie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour. Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass these on to the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

There is no doubting this hotel is lovely. We had Executive Rooms, which were fab, and with the kids, were adjoining, so good stuff there. The young lady on reception was exceptional, really happy, welcoming and still had a smile when we left this morning. We were staying there, as my daughter was getting married and it was convenient to the reception at Fazzely Studios.
However, apart from one lady in the bar, the service in the bar and restaurant was painfully slow which led to some frustration on my part.
Nevertheless, apart from that, it was a great stay at a great place

Room Tip: We saw a number of the rooms, al were good with plenty of room, very comfy bed, great shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Hi Phil O,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour and I hope your daughter had a beautiful wedding day! Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass these on to the reception staff, however I am so sorry to read that you found the service to be slow in the restaurant/bar. We are always very grateful for any customer feedback and will certainly take your comments onboard.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, fabulous dinner & breakfast ideal location if you want to be central x will defo be back one day x rooms every thing you need , very classy and modern , will be suitable for all types of guests. Very easy and quick check in and out.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dawnwood2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Hi Dawnwood2003,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that yourself and your sister enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour for her 40th! Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass these on to the staff.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a very big City centre hotel with all mod cons. It's had a lot of money spent on it and was a great base for shopping in Birmingham. Only a couple of hundred yards from the train station it's ideally located.

The room was very nice. Clean with a comfy bed and very intelligently designed. The breakfast was a very nice buffet style but with plenty of staff on hand to help.

My only concerns would be the staff all seem very young and lack a bit of experience, but I'm sure that won't be an issue in the long term. They also charge £10 to park and that wasn't clear when we booked or when I telephoned to enquire about parking. However, £10 isn't that much for secure City centre parking.

If I visit Birmingham again I would stay at the La Tour.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluetealeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Hi Bluetealeaf,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour. We are always very grateful for any customer feedback and will certainly take your comments onboard regarding the parking.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at La Tour recently. The decor..the rooms...and whole ambience of the hotel was lovely. Real quality. Staff were attentive and always smiling. A joy to see as one who has worked in the industry. The only flaw was the food. It was not bad at all! It was not great either. I would give it 2 stars. The new menu was not all available (skewers) leaving mainly grilled steak ...steak...or steak!!! And limited fish dishes.Doesnt take much skill or variety. Breakfast was good although bacon was usually over cooked and sausages poor quality. All the rest of it was great. As a caterer i expected more of the food...especially with such a chic, boutique like style of hotel. With all that said, and in the hope that these little minors will be sorted...i would recommend this hotel highly...and look forward to my next visit

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Veron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Hi Veron A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour. Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass these on to the staff. We are always very grateful for any customer feedback and will certainly take your comments onboard regarding the menu.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Property: Hotel La Tour
Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms. A floor specially engineered for business conferences.Five-star customer service. Conveniently located in the heart of England's second city. What more reason do you need to pick Hotel La Tour Birmingham? For a contemporary twist on a great British tradition immerse yourself in the unique dining experience that is Marco Pierre White's first 'English Chophouse'. This exciting restaurant concept has its origins in 18th century London when chophouses were created for businessmen to conduct their affairs over hearty plates of cooked meats washed down with fine wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing