We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel La Tour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Tour
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here on a leisure break - the location is good, convenient for the Bullring and Moor Street Station, and only a short walk from New Street Station.

Our executive room was lovely - all mod cons - not much storage but fine for our 3 night stay. Basic toiletries provided. OK shower (no bath).

Breakfast was ok - not a great choice - but everything we needed.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balikissangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Hi Balikissangel,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,504 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed for a weekend recently at this wonderful hotel. Very modern & great location for the Bullring and train station. Parking was right outside - secure & only £10 a day.
Reception was funky as they use machines for checking in and out. We were helped by a very friendly member of staff.
We didn't eat or drink there as we wanted to enjoy Birmingham. They had live music in the bar on the Saturday we stayed
Very reasonable rates too for a weekend. From the high standard I thought this was part of a large and expanding chain of hotels. Turns out this is the only 1 in the UK.
Highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MatONtheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Hi MattONtheRoad,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour. Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass these on to the staff.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Lovely hotel. Attentive staff. Food superb and breakfast a must. Parking could be better but apart from that I highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are beautiful. Comfy beds and roomy showers. Went there on a Facebook deal which was excellent value.

Room Tip: I saw three rooms and all were the same. Very nicely done and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amberhulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Hi amberhulme,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend at the weekend. The hotel exceeded our expectations to say the least.

We were taken back by how efficient and professional the reception staff were throughout the whole stay and that's not usually something we would probably ever notice being a young couple.

We upgraded to an executive room which was fantastic. The photos really don't do it justice! The room was immaculate - very clean and the view over Birmingham made it special. Lights and air on were all controlled on a touch screen. Lighting could be altered to set the set mood. There was a small fridge in room too.

It's very close to the city centre which made the hotel stay very easy and hassle free.

I would definitely recommend staying here and upgrading to executive room.

I'm already planning my next trip back :-) xx

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tanniie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Hi Tanniie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour. Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass these on to the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

There is no doubting this hotel is lovely. We had Executive Rooms, which were fab, and with the kids, were adjoining, so good stuff there. The young lady on reception was exceptional, really happy, welcoming and still had a smile when we left this morning. We were staying there, as my daughter was getting married and it was convenient to the reception at Fazzely Studios.
However, apart from one lady in the bar, the service in the bar and restaurant was painfully slow which led to some frustration on my part.
Nevertheless, apart from that, it was a great stay at a great place

Room Tip: We saw a number of the rooms, al were good with plenty of room, very comfy bed, great shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Hi Phil O,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour and I hope your daughter had a beautiful wedding day! Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass these on to the reception staff, however I am so sorry to read that you found the service to be slow in the restaurant/bar. We are always very grateful for any customer feedback and will certainly take your comments onboard.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, fabulous dinner & breakfast ideal location if you want to be central x will defo be back one day x rooms every thing you need , very classy and modern , will be suitable for all types of guests. Very easy and quick check in and out.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dawnwood2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Hi Dawnwood2003,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that yourself and your sister enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour for her 40th! Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass these on to the staff.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a very big City centre hotel with all mod cons. It's had a lot of money spent on it and was a great base for shopping in Birmingham. Only a couple of hundred yards from the train station it's ideally located.

The room was very nice. Clean with a comfy bed and very intelligently designed. The breakfast was a very nice buffet style but with plenty of staff on hand to help.

My only concerns would be the staff all seem very young and lack a bit of experience, but I'm sure that won't be an issue in the long term. They also charge £10 to park and that wasn't clear when we booked or when I telephoned to enquire about parking. However, £10 isn't that much for secure City centre parking.

If I visit Birmingham again I would stay at the La Tour.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bluetealeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane R, General Manager at Hotel La Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Hi Bluetealeaf,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Tour. We are always very grateful for any customer feedback and will certainly take your comments onboard regarding the parking.

I hope that we will welcome you back in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
952 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,137 reviews
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,004 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#14 of 118 in Birmingham
2,546 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Tour

Address: 85 Albert Street, Birmingham B5 5JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £76 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Tour 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Tour has 174 luxurious bedrooms located in Birmingham City Centre a short walk from Bullring Shopping Centre and Grand Central. Offering five star service as well as facilities to make your stay like a stay away from home. A floor specially engineered for business conferences. Grill Bar & Restaurant offers great quality steaks, fish dishes and vegetarian specials, the bar has daily offers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing