We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Ranked #57 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Stayed here while visiting the German Xmas market.The room allocated was on the ground floor, it was a room for disabled guest which we were not. Pleasant and comfortable but the layout of the room not practicable as the TV was not in an ideal position for where the bed was.There was slight noise from the font lobby door as room (No 1) is adjacent to the lobby entrance.Due to unforeseen circumstances during the night (which we were unaware of at the time) there was a lot of noise above our room sounded like an entrance door banging. We mentioned this on checkout and were given an explanation of what had happened(from the duty manager) and that a full refund would be given.
Would stay here again but would not choose this room.....

Room Tip: Would not choose the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Feebss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Feebss,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I am sorry about the disturbance you experienced during the night and for your understanding when I explained the circumstances in the morning. As I am sure you understand the circumstances were very unique & not something that happens regularly in the hotel.

As we discussed a refund has been processed under Premier Inns Good Night Guarantee but if you would like to discuss this matter further please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Wishes for Christmas & New Year.

Kind Regards

Joanne Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

I can't honestly say that this branch of Premier Inn was up to the usual standard. There's nothing majorly wrong, and the location is excellent, as well as the benefit of free parking, assuming you arrive in time to grab a space. There are just some small details which let it down. Some of these are not immediately rectifiable - only three sockets in each room, none near the bed, and all situated so that you can't plug a laptop/phone charger in if it has a bulky plug. Not great for a supposedly business-orientated hotel. Other issues could be easily improved upon - a chain which prides itself on a good night's sleep, complete with mildly-patronising "Ssshhh!!" signs all over the corridors, should really make sure that they put their own house in order first, by training cleaning staff not to bang doors, chat loudly etc from 9am onwards - even holding what sounded like a full-blown staff briefing outside our door at one point. Front desk staff were curiously unapologetic about keys malfunctioning (not great when you have to trudge up and down from the 4th floor). Soap dispenser in the shower wasn't replenished because it had actually stopped working - fixing it would have been the logical step. All minor issues, which you might put up with at a Travelodge, but not issues you usually find in a Premier Inn. Could do better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strollingplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear strollingplayer,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us.At Premier Inn we take the experience our guests receive very seriously & fully investigate any occasion where we fail to exceed our guests expectations.

I have discussed your comments about the early starts of the housekeeping team with the management team & we have reviewed the start times the team will work at weekends.

Thank you for the comments about the location of plug sockets in the bedroom. Many guests have fed back about this & as a brand Premier Inn now has additional plug sockets closer to the bed in all it's new openings. Obviously ours is an older building but we hope to be able to introduce extra sockets as a long term project.

Again thank you for your feedback. All the issues you raised will be discussed with the team & used as an opportunity for further coaching & development for the team. If you would like to discuss any of these issues any further please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Wishes for Christmas & the New Year.

Kind Regards

Joanne Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

If you stay here you will find the staff friendly and keen to please. If you want a drink walk 100m to the nearest Weatherspoon where you can save 30% and breakfast is half the price. Ask what room they are putting you in and avoid 215 and nearby rooms as the fridge plant is directly below and the staff clearing up the kitchen and bar seem to make more noise that they have to till 11.15ish. Close to key entertainment venues

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger-marston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear Roger-marston,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I am pleased the team looked after you & were happy to help but I am sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your room. At our Premier Inn it really matters to us that you enjoy your stay and that is why we guarantee everything you need for a good night or your money back.

We are constantly looking at ways to reduce noise in our hotels & value feedback about the noise levels in our bedrooms. Please be assured we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be discussed & actioned with the team. Reception are always happy to pre-allocate rooms for guests if they have a preference however I would strongly recommend you contact the hotel before arrival as these preferences can sometimes not be facilitated on check in.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future. If you would like to discuss this matter further please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Joanne Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed here for our first night away with our five-month old baby. Upon arrival, the receptionist was excellently friendly and efficient, which created a good first impression.

We had booked a room with a cot. Whilst it wasn't in the room when we opened the door, a member of the Premier Inn team was at our room within 5 minutes to assemble the cot and put the sheet on. In the meantime, our little one took the opportunity to spread out on the massive bed!

The room was very comfortable and it seemed that Premier Inn had spent money where it mattered whilst keeping to a budget. The bed was really comfy and the bedside lights were excellent for letting us read whilst letting our baby sleep.

Overall an excellent stay at the Premier Inn Birmingham Canalside.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth+andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Dear ruth+andy,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted the team looked after you so well & you had such a relaxing stay with for the first night away with your new baby .

I take pride in sharing positive feedback with the team so please be assured your comments will be shared & celebrated.

We look forward to seeing you all again next time you visit Birmingham.

Best wishes for Christmas & the New Year! Enjoy your little ones first Christmas!

Kind Regards

Joanne Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This premier inn is one of the best for location. It is very handy for broad street and the canal side bars. Ideal for the german market. In fact ideal for anything in Birmingham. The six of us found that all staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 411JoanneH411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear 411JoanneH411,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us. I am delighted the team looked after you so well & that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind Regards

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed her on a saturday as we were attending a christmas function at the Hyatt hotel. The on site parking is good but limited. The hotel id situateed a two minute walk from the entertainment and restaurants on Broad strret,mailbox and the cube. The hotel was quiet with no noise from outside. (we were on the fourth floor facing thr car park). Did not have breakfast this time but did use the bar which was open until 2.00am.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidtj0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Hi MaverickDave,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had a nice quiet night after your Christmas Event. I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy the german markets whilst you were in the city. Our weekend late bar is proving very popular with guests returning after a hard days shopping in the city centre!

We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit Birmingham.

Kind Regards

Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We booked this hotel for £56 for a Thursday night stay in Birmingham for a gig at the NIA.
The hotel is, as the name/address states, on the canal (off Broad st), and just a short walk (about 15-20 mins) from New Street station. At this time of year there are Christmas markets all along the way up to Broad street, really nice.
Check-in was friendly and efficient and we were given room 211. We've stayed in many Premier Inn's across the country and they're our preferred chain hotel, as they're a better standard than most and the beds are so comfortable!
There are many places to eat and drink along the water side, on a few different levels too, and at night all the bridges and barges are lit up with fairy lights, really pretty. I really recommend this area for a lovely day/night out.
The National Indoor Arena is about a 10-15min walk away from the hotel, again just following the canal will take you there, once you reach the Malt House pub the NIA is just behind it - you can't miss it.
We arrived back to the hotel in the early hours of the morning, but as check-out is 12 noon, we knew we could have a good lie in before travelling back home.
Unfortunately we were woken by house-keeping hoovering a nearby room at 9am, which we were not happy about. It stopped after 15 mins or so and we didnt hear it again, but we weren't very happy as surely hoovering should be done nearer to 11am, seen as check-in isn't until 2pm. I informed reception on check-out, an apology was given.
All in all a great location for a stay in Birmingham, close to the NIA, station, shops, Christmas markets & plenty of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUZELANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamCanalside, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear SUZE008,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Birmingham Broad St Canalside Premier Inn. It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend & I love the picture you posted! The hotel is in a great location & it is lovely at night time with all the lights & the canal.

I'm sorry you were woken up by the noise of the hoover in the morning. I have fed back your comments to the housekeeping team & rest assured they will be reviewing the ways they work over weekends to prevent this happening in the future.

We hope to see you again next time you visit Birmingham.

Kind Regards

Joanne Gray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,213 reviews
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#71 of 118 in Birmingham
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £46 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing