We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Did everything a hotel should do, great reception staff, clean, tidy, great location, clean towels, 9/10 well done. Only gripe was having to pay for parking, but suppose it is in the city. and was only a fiver for 24 hours. could do with a light near the parking meter as it was dark when i arrived.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our stay was a group booking for 6 rooms which we have had nothing but problems with from the start. We initially booked 5 rooms which we changed to 6. We amended this with Premier Inns who sent the new invoice through with an additional admin fee for amending the booking which we were not advised of whilst making the amendment.
On arriving at the hotel to check in, the first member was asked to pay for their room upfront despite the booking being paid for in full months earlier! A week after our stay, they also took another payment without prior authroisation for the full amount again for the 6 rooms we had booked.
The rooms were small (including the bathroom) and not great value for money and the beds are two singles made into a double. Also despite being in a city centre location where you expect noise, we received a complaint about noise levels.
The breakfast (which was not included in the room cost) had a good selection however, the lack of hot water, milk and coffee makes it a little bit difficult to get a drink!

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat_Nat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Room was freezing, parking is difficult if checking in late. Door to the landing was broke and took 3 trips to reception to resolve. Food was ok and staff in restaurant were pleasant enough. Bathroom stunk of mould and sweat so apart from that ok!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H20LBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were in Birmingham for a two day Concert and shopping break.
Check in was effortless, our room was clean and tidy and all of the staff that we spoke to could not have been more friendly.
We did not hear any noise from other rooms.
We did not eat in so we can't comment on the restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I have spent many Fir/Sat nights at this hotel on long weekends. Wherever you go Premier inns are clean and tidy, with comfy beds and the basic facilities and this is no exception. Always know what you are getting. This one is ideally sited within easy walking distance of the city centre, New St, Broad St and the canalside pubs. Quiet safe, good, convenient parking. There is lots to see and do in Birmingham. Good shops and some convivial pubs where all ages mix even on a Saturday night. We'll be back for more.

Room Tip: Standard advice for any hotel-Pick a room away from the lift and stairs and you will not be bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Turned up at 16:45 for a group check in and was advised i had to pay £59 for room ( already paid for) after 1hr i checked courtesy of an uncomfortable conversation with the booker of the room.in room307 and constant water running noises and had knock on the door to say i was being noisy-cheek bad hotel -cant wait till morning

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my friend for a 2 night break. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's just on a side street off the bustle of Broad St with ample bars and restaurants.
The hotel is dated. Our room was a tiny twin. The kettle didn't turn off. It was noisy and cold. The walls were paper thin and at 6.30am the room next door were up. That was our lie in gone. I had a disposable shower cap with me. It disappeared on the second day. Small things I know, but they impact. The staff were friendly enough but we didn't get any of the usual Premier Inn patter - wifi, restaurant, good night policy etc
A little disappointing. I'd go for an alternative next time.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Nowlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#53 of 118 in Birmingham
730 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham City Centre
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
3,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £50 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing