We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Ranked #57 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here when attending a family party in Birmingham. The hotel has a carpark which charges just £5 for 24 hours which we felt was great value for money.

The reception staff throughout our stay were very friendly and seemed happy to be at work.

Our room was quite small, but clean and had all we needed for a quick stop.

The hotel is located just minutes from the new Library and is ideal for a trip to Birmingham.

Overall I can't fault this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hi Laura C, Wow what a lovely review - thank you for taking the time to write it. It’s great to see that you chose our hotel for a base whilst you attended your party.
We are lucky to have an onsite car park with a great value rate of £5 per 24 hours and Im pleased you found this of use.
Our rooms are a little smaller than some other hotels however as you pointed out they do have everything you need.
The team here at Canalside do all that they can to ensure you have a comfortable stay and understand their part in this so I am pleased to see that you felt that.
I do hope you'll be back in Birmingham soon so that we can welcome you back.

Kind regards
Rebecca Whitehead
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Me and my friend stayed over new year for 2 nights, on arrival we were impressed with the location, right near town centre, train station and near the fab mailbox development with bars restaurants and shops. When we checked in the staff were so friendly and it made a big difference. The room was slightly small but clean and comfortable for a budget hotel, we payed £80 each for 2 nights and breakfast on the second morning which I suppose was reasonable for over new year and the good location however because of the small room I would have been happier paying around £70. During our stay staff were always happy to go the extra mile for me and my friend and what made the stay for us was the ongoing fun friendly attitudes of all staff and their good sense of humour ;) especially the manager Becky she was class! Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Birmingham later on in the year!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie-mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Hi Leonie-mc, Thank for taking the time to write this review. Its great to see some of the comments that you have written.
My team does try to ensure that our guests have all they need for a great stay and they realise what a big part they play by being so friendly and putting our guests at ease from the moment they arrive.
Our location is ideal for a city stay - as you said we are a 5 minute walk from New Street Station, the Mailbox and Broad Street and all the shops that you could ever need just 10 minutes away in the Bullring.
Thank you for your kind comments about the team (including me)
We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards
Rebecca Whitehead
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Chose this hotel because we had booked to see 'Thriller Live' at Symphony Hall and also because of the canal side location. Was aware of the 'problem' of the small chargeable car park as I had read reviews, but just managed to get a space on the Saturday afternoon, however on the Sunday it was a lot quieter in the car park. Don't really know where you would park if it was full. Staff on reception were very welcoming and always spoke when we passed them. Room was slightly smaller than some other Premier Inns we have stayed in, but very clean and comfortable. Only slight complaint was the noisy peculiar plumbing sounds from another room. Lovely walk just out of the hotel car park to the right, over the bridge to The Mailbox area with bars and restaurants and then along the side of the canal. Good shopping in the centre and some interesting buildings. Worth going up all the escalators and the lift to the top of the new library building for the great view. All in all an excellent place for a short break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Really good position for shows at the ICC ,Birmingham Rep or NIA . We went on a room deal of £29 . Car park is small but we arrived around 2pm and plenty of room to park, £5.00 for 24 hours ,very reasonable for city centre parking.Staff were helpful and courteous , rooms were excellent value for the money , clean and comfortable . Perhaps we were lucky that we stayed on a Sunday night so the hotel wasn't busy . It is situated just a 3 minute walk from the lively Broad Street
behind the prestigious looking Hyatt and convenient for Birmingham shops 15/20 mins walk away. .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adebelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for four nights from 25th December great location and spotlessly clean rooms ,reception staff very helpfull and pleasant in fact everyone connected to this premier in are very pleasant,downside was in the early hours ofsaturday morning when people arriving back from clubs being loud and deciding to have arguments with there partners in the corridors,I would recomended zero tolerance and this place would be excellent as they have very efficient staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanirome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Check in fast, efficient and friendly. Car parking £5 for 24 hours is a bonus being in the city centre, room fine no noise v quiet good nights sleep. Breakfast good although the toaster would benefit from being looked at, after passing the bread through it FOUR times it was barely warm never mind toasted. Have stayed here before and would stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Had a very comfortable stay while Christmas shopping in the city.
Check in was very good. The young lady who checked us in ( Carla I think) was very nice and very cheerfully. She was very informative and offered advice on places to go in the city.
The room was adequate for a one night stay but was not up to the normal clean standards of other premier inns I have stayed in. There was a bad smell coming from the sink the bathroom and the water took an age to go down the plug hole. It did not spoil our stay but I did report it when I checked out. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and as much as you like. Parking was £5 for the night which is very good for city parking. Location is great, with broad street just 2 minutes away and the bullring 10 minutes.
All in all this hotel is excellent value for a city centre hotel and I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor. Ground floor rooms either have cars parked outside window or peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviejay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4,213 reviews
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#37 of 118 in Birmingham
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £46 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing