We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Ranked #60 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
1 review
“Ideally Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

If you want a hotel that is no frills and good value for money then look no further. Ideally located for Centenary Square, Brindley Place, The Mailbox and the City Centre. On site car parking at a very reasonable cost. Only criticisms are the bedrooms are a bit small and they lack air conditioning - but at £29 for a Friday night who cares?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Than You for taking the time to write your review, We appreciate all the feedback so we can make our hotel an even better place for our guests.

We are lucky to have an onsite car park with a great value rate of £5 per 24 hours and Im pleased you found this of use.

We are certainly in a great location and I am glad that this was another good point added to your experience with us.

Our rooms are a little smaller than some other hotels however as you pointed out they do have everything you need and I am glad you had a good nights sleep.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Canal Side in the near future

Kind regards
Rebecca Whitehead
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    380
    162
    76
    43
See reviews for
106
427
50
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We always stay at Premier Inn when travelling on a budget. It;s great that you know you'll get a nice big bed, a clean room, strong shower and the promise of a good sleep or your money back. Birmingham Canalside did not disappoint. Very handy indeed for New Street Station and the conference and concert area, i was able to walk easily to and from the hotel. I had a lovely view over the canal at the back, with the only noise the geese now and then. The room was comfy and clean and everything worked. Premier Inn staff are always fabulous and so very helpful. They always give you a big smile when you arrive. So if you're looking for a handy reasonably proved hotel smack bang handy for much of the centre of Birmingham, this is the one for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review I am glad that you found our Location perfect and our rooms clean and tidy. We try to ensure that we provide everything that you need to have an enjoyable stay. My team does try to ensure that our guests have all they need for a great stay and they realise what a big part they play by being so friendly and putting our guests at ease from the moment they arrive. So your feedback will be passed onto the reception team also. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards
Rebecca Whitehead
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Faces onto a building site which will soon not be an issue. Offers everything I have come to expect from the excellent Premier Inns and was very comfortable. Limited parking is a bit of a shame but there is a multi-storey very close by. Location was brilliant for ICC, Symphony Hall, Mailbox. New St station and Bullring shopping centre/markets 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolOldtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. It is great to hear that you found our location convenient and hopefully this helped to make your stay and enjoyable one. We are lucky enough as a city centre hotel to have on site car parking and at £5 per 24 hours we find that that does provide great value for our guests compared to many other hotels. We do also recommend a nearby car park if all of our spaces are taken. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Rebecca Whitehead
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

When we entered the room it was around 6.30 after a very frustrating time finding the inn, we had already been to another inn just up the road.

The room was tiny and looked more suitable for a single wheelchair user, the bathroom door was hanging of very crude, we were beside the main entrance and the door was banging all night. after paying 91 pound for this hole, we were asked to pay 5 further for parking, then had to park on the side of the hill, I was so annoyed as this was a birthday treat for my partner, she was mortified it ruined the night, thanks Lenny Henry, Don't believe all he says, check the room before you pay your good earned cash.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Quiet, very comfortable, a pleasure as ever with Premier Inn but smiley happy staff is not so common! Carla was as a pleasure to meet after a long drive, very welcoming. She was not the only one to seem so happy but I didnt catch their names. The difference this made was special, well done to the manager!
Also, the best breakfast I have ever had at ANY hotel!! Also served by happy friendly staff.... a perfect start to a day. Thank you all xxxx
The hotel is a very brief walk away from the NIA . Dont hesitate to book a stay here!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review . It is great to hear that you found our location convenient and hopefully this helped to make your stay and enjoyable one.

I am delighted to hear that the team were very friendly especially Carla and the other team members in the restaurant at breakfast

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Rebecca Whitehead
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Spent a weekend in this hotel and found the location very convenient. Right on the canal and just a few minutes walk from Broad Street with all it's bars and restaurants, the Birmingham City Hall, Victoria Square and the main Library . Also close to New Street Station and a 15 minute walk to the Bullring. Also for £8.95 had a great cooked and continental breakfast . On the second evening had a good dinner (rack of ribs, salad and vanilla cheesecake). Ok not the most attractive building and pretty small rooms but very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for Canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. . It is great to hear that you found our location convenient and hopefully this helped to make your stay and enjoyable one. We appreciate our rooms are a little smaller than at some Premier Inn's and we are glad you had everything you needed.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Rebecca Whitehead
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Location good,
Rooms good
All clean tidy and just as expected from a Premier.

Extra Points:
The girl on reception was extremely helpful and pleasant, making check in a good experience.
Food was surprisingly good in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W, General Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear that you found our location convenient and hopefully this helped to make your stay and enjoyable one. Your feedback on the cleanliness of the room and hotel has been passed on the appropriate departments.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Rebecca Whitehead
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Novotel Birmingham Centre
Novotel Birmingham Centre
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel
Address: 20 Bridge Street, Birmingham B1 2JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#31 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#34 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a taste of Venice in the heart of Birmingham at the canal-side Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street. Overlooking the city's own world-famous waterways, it's a laid-back spot for exploring the city - whether for business or pleasure. Saunter to the conferences, events and exhibitions at the NIA, ICC or business district. Wander to the Bullring for designer shopping. Finish the day in style at the bars and restaurants of Broad Street and Brindley Place. Then return to friendly service, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Directions: From M6 (J6) follow A38m towards city centre. Follow signs for city centre/ICC/A456 (Broad Street). Turn left at Hyatt Hotel. Hotel is situated on the right at the bottom of Bridge Street. From A4540 (Ring Road) follow signs for A456 (Broad Street). Turn right into Gas Street then at the end turn left into Holliday Street. Hotel is immediately left after the bridge on Bridge Street. Sat Nav postcode for car park - B1 2JR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Broad Street (Canal Side) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Broad St Canal Side Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing