We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible restaurant, hotel ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Ranked #47 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Firstly, the hotel receptionist was absolutely lovely and I suspect that she has to work very hard for happy customers.

The hotel is located in a grubby industrial estate. Our room was very small for a family of 4 but clean and tidy. The window looked out onto a brick wall. We stayed on a Saturday night and were woken up several times by drunk guests arriving home in the early hours.

The restaurant was dreadful. We booked a very early table but still waited 50 mins for starters. The waiter hadn't been trained properly (if at all) and the manager Bernie's attitude was appalling. There were issues with all courses and there were obviously problems with the kitchen staff. After 2 hours, we still hadn't had desserts. It spoiled our stay because we then dreaded breakfast. We got a refund but would have much rather had a nice meal.

We've stayed in a lot of Premier Inns but have never seen anything like this one. We'll definitely be avoiding it next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank WeLoveHolidays5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed with the kids over half term. A reasonable location, about a 20 minute walk into the city centre. The room was the usual premier inn standard and was roomy and clean......just what you expect for a premier inn to be honest. The restaurant however was not good with a long wait for food in the evening and a breakfast that didn't turn up in the morning! I have to say though, the staff were very friendly and have pushed the review from 3 stars to 4.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunterLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We used this hotel for an overnight stay in Birmingham whilst attending an exhibition at NEC. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and spacious and bed comfortable. We had dinner in the evening which was delicious and the breakfast in the morning. There was a large choice of food. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilsbury100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very poor service poorly cooked food 3hours from start to finish for evening meal not good enough Rooms excellent clean well decorated warm and comfortable not a good location area around hotel full of rubbish noisy

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pontin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed two nights during February half-term with our 3 year old Grandson. Nice clean spacious room with comfortable beds and all the usual facilities tea, freeview TV, hairdryer etc. The restaurant was v.good on the one occasion we ate dinner there.
Excellent friendly young staff made this feel very family friendly.
Well located on the ring road (Triple glazing kept out the noise) and near A34/M6. A good hotel to stay in, highly recommended

Room Tip: Book in advance for best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend shopping break to the Bullring. Nice spacious room and bathroom which had a bath! (nice after a long day shopping) and good facilities in the room including tea/coffee, tv and hairdryer. Got a meal deal from the hotel which included a 3 course evening meal, drink and premier breakfast for the following morning (all you can eat breakfast) for £22 which was great.(This was paid for at the hotel rather than with the advance booking) Took about 10/15 minutes along the main road to walk to the Bullring and was really easy to find. Only downside was that there were a few hairs on the duvet but thats just being fussy. Even had a choice of soft or firm pillows! The heating was easily adjusted to suit. Overall a good stay and for £30 a night (advanced booking) very good value!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francesm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Very friendly welcoming staff. Good location just out of city centre. A walk to Broad Street on the canal tow path all the way was very pleasant. Food in restaurant was good value for money. Will return to this Premier Inn. Birmingham is an interesting place for a weekend break with friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Conference Aston Hotel
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 118 in Birmingham
560 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central East

Address: Richard Street | Waterlinks, Birmingham B7 4AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £48 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central East 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the M6, M42 and M5, the Premier Inn Birmingham Central East is even better connected than a certain Mrs Osbourne. And, thankfully, quite a bit quieter too. Nip into Birmingham city centre for great shopping at the Bull Ring, the Sea Life Centre's underwater world and the trendy bars and businesses of the Mailbox and Brindley Place. Take a trip to chocolate heaven at Cadbury World. Or cheer on your team at Villa Park of Birmingham City F.C, both just two miles away. Then return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 1 meeting room, which can hold up to 12 delegates. Directions: M6(J6), signposted city centre. Take the second exit off A38(M) signposted A4540 ring road. At the roundabout you should take first exit off. After approx 50m is the turning on your left into Richard Street, hotel is on the left. Barrier access to car park. Parking is charged at £4 per night. Important info: This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing