We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Ranked #56 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A lovely short break”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a great short break here - the hotel was excellent, friendly staff, clean and lovely food - we had a 35 a night room so it was excellent value for money. The receptionist checked evening meals to see if there were gluten free options for my coeliac husband which there were so we ate in the hotel although we felt that more main courses (of a similar value) could have been included in the meal deal so that he could have more choice. Breakfast was great but we had to order the cooked option rather than help ourselves which made for slow service when they were busy (tip order the cooked items when you are seated). 2 other minor gripes are that the room thermostat was set at 23 as a norm - much too hot for us (although we turned it down easily) and the towels were changed every day despite the notice to leave them on the towel rail if you don't want them changing (other hotels seem to do exactly the same).
As others have said the location is good - 1 minute walk to the canal and about a 20 min stroll down it into town (a different world from the traffic on the roads) - we just left the car and walked all the different ways on the canals which we enjoyed very much (tip if you are planning on walking or cycling order a free map from the tourist information centre first) - the area felt safe but an industrial estate so not interesting to walk round after dark.
Birmingham is a great place to spend a few days if you like history - we especially enjoyed the Back to Backs (National Trust), the Birmingham Museum and Aston Hall - all in all a great hotel and a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely, detailed review of your stay at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you took advantage of the £35 room rate, batches of great value rates are released regularly for our guests to enjoy. We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff. I’m pleased our location suited your needs and that you enjoyed the canal walk into the city centre. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks
Annie
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    235
    108
    42
    36
See reviews for
238
157
25
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely clean hotel. Very comfortable. Very pleasant staff especially Bernie. Unfortunate experience with dinner meant a very long hour and a half wait for the meal led to us canceling our order and giving up. Reason given restaurant busy-mm not sure best way to run a restaurant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you had a clean and comfortable stay with us and had the pleasure to meet Bernie. I apologise for your experience in the restaurant, I can assure you this is being investigated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks
Annie
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Situated in the middle of an industrial estate but with adequate barrier controlled parking. Staff were very friendly and helpful but the hotel is a little tired in places. There is a small restaurant attached but dinner was very slow due to only 2 waiting staff being on duty on a Sunday night. Got a good deal through Premierre Inn special offers though

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you took advantage of the special offer, batches of great value rates are released regularly for our guests to enjoy. We’re glad you found the staff very friendly and apologise for the delays you experienced during your time in the restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Many thanks
Annie
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Booked this hotel when visiting the NEC Caravan show had the meal deal which turned out to be excellent value for money and even included a drink, Staff very friendly and the check in was smooth. Would stay again anytime, we love the good standard of premier inns

Room Tip: we had the top floor so you did not hear any noise from people stomping around above you is the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily123093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you agree that the meal deal is excellent value for money, with breakfast, 3 course dinner and a drink you do get a lot for your money. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks
Annie
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Bog standard Premier Inn and you know what you are going to get before you arrive. Clean, modern, functional and stripped down as far as possible. Clearly it was Joy's day off so the welcome was ok. Room incredibly warm (October) with no means of cooling other than opening a window into a busy main road. Window stayed shut all night and we sweltered. Noise from somewhere in the adjacent rooms went on for an excessive amount if time. The 'great nights doesn't guarantee means you have to report the issues when they happen. With no phone in the room, you either dress and go down to reception or use your mobile to phone a premium rate number. Couldn't be bothered at 2am to be honest. The hotel was full and as a result the small dining room was crowded at breakfast making it a bit of a scrum. Shame as I have stayed at a few Premier Inns and been delighted; not thus time though

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bishop866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Comfortable hotel with car parking. Close to Birmingham City Centre and ideal for getting to from the motorways. Lovely walk along the canal into the City Centre during the day. Value for money. Would stop there again if I was visiting Birmingham



  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you found the location agreeable, and that you enjoyed the walk along the canal. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Birmingham.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramore, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Its a nice friendly Hotel good service and kept very clean i liked where the hotel is placed and its got good parking places I feel the breakfast could be cheaper and that it is very hard to get the 29 pound a night deal but as this hotel is close to where I need to be ill keep using until I cant afford it




  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay with us at Birmingham Central (East). We pride ourselves on the quality of our staff and the service provided. With regards to the £29 rate, it is reintroduced at regular intervals, if you were to go onto the premierinn.com website and sign up for the newsletter you will then receive emails which include when that rate is available to you. I hope this is helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Many thanks

Annie
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
531 reviews
Conference Aston Hotel
#59 of 117 in Birmingham
443 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central East

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Address: Richard Street | Waterlinks, Birmingham B7 4AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central East 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the M6, M42 and M5, the Premier Inn Birmingham Central East is even better connected than a certain Mrs Osbourne. And, thankfully, quite a bit quieter too. Nip into Birmingham city centre for great shopping at the Bull Ring, the Sea Life Centre's underwater world and the trendy bars and businesses of the Mailbox and Brindley Place. Take a trip to chocolate heaven at Cadbury World. Or cheer on your team at Villa Park of Birmingham City F.C, both just two miles away. Then return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 1 meeting room, which can hold up to 12 delegates. Directions: M6(J6), signposted city centre. Take the second exit off A38(M) signposted A4540 ring road. At the roundabout you should take first exit off. After approx 50m is the turning on your left into Richard Street, hotel is on the left. Barrier access to car park. Parking is charged at £4 per night. Important info: This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing