We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Typical Premier Inn - you know what you're getting, and you get it. What made this better was the excellent friendliness of the staff and the genuine interest they showed. We were given really clear directions for walking along the canal to the Sea Life Centre - which made the journey much more relaxing and enjoyable

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m very pleased that you were able to rely on the quality that is expected from the brand and that we met your needs. I’m glad you found our staff so friendly, we are very proud of our team and the level of service they provide. We look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

My family total of seven stayed at this hotel for the weekend for a family event. Staff were very helpful. The room was clean of very good size. We had breakfast and diner in the hotel and was impressed by the choice and standard of service (no waiting around). Location lovely for walks considering your so close to the city centre. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. My thanks to everyone, they made our stay very comfortable one.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m very pleased that you had such a lovely time while you stayed with us and that the spacious rooms suited your needs. I’m glad that you enjoyed your restaurant experiences and that you found our staff so helpful and friendly. Thank you for your recommendation, there is really no greater compliment. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stopped here a few days ago. Clean, comfy, decent food in the Thyme restaurant and friendly staff. Can't ask for more really! Only downside is that the car park seems quite small and i think the later in the day you arrive, the less chance you have of finding a space.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schematikgnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). It is always such a pleasure to read when our guests have such a wonderful experience. I’m glad you enjoyed the restaurant and found our staff friendly. Our car park has been limited lately while the hotel has been undergoing the air conditioning installation but this is coming to an end so it will be back to full size again very soon. We look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very impressed friendly staff makes a difference with a smiling face. Hotel in a good location next to canal walks not far from city centre . I would recommend this hotel and if I came to this area again would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terrychristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you found the staff very friendly and that our location suited your needs, it really is a lovely walk especially when the sun is shining. We look forward to being able to welcome you back the next time you are in the area.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Spent a couple of nights here as my wife was running a half marathon in Stratford. We have stayed here previously, it is in a great location for getting into the City Centre - about a 20 minute brisk walk. There is plenty of free car parking, and the hotel now has the bonus of unlimited free wifi, which is very useful.
Once again the staff were excellent - really friendly reception staff, with big smiles - very welcome after a long fraught journey.
The only downside of our visit was the behaviour of a group of drunken idiots who were unfortunately staying at the same time, and who thought it was a great laugh to scream, shout & run up and down the corridor, with no regard for any other guests. This was repeated when they came back at approx 3.00am. I complained at reception that we had been woken up twice - to Premier Inn's credit I was immediately offered a refund for 1 nights accomodation. My only quibble was the comment of one of the staff that we couldn't be moved as there were only disabled rooms left. Why should we be expected to move when we are the ones playing by the rules & respecting the hotel's quiet policy?
We would stay there again, it's just a shame that some people don't know how to conduct themselves properly.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GaryHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I hope the half marathon went well and thank you for choosing to stay with us again. I’m glad you were able to enjoy our free wifi trial that is currently running and that once again you found us friendly and welcoming. I would like to apologise for the noise issue you experienced during the night, but I’m pleased reception were able to refund it for you. I’d like to take the opportunity to explain the room move comment you mentioned, you definitely weren’t expected to move but previously guests have requested to be moved to a different area of the hotel. The staff member will have considered this option but thought you might not have been as comfortable in an accessible bedroom, I apologise that this wasn’t communicated effectively. We look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just outside the city centre which is a 20 min walk-No problem.
University grounds and several pubs nearby-excellent
Pleasant and relaxing walk along canals-perfect.
Just leave the car and go exploring...we did...
Cab rides into city centre only a few quid so no big deal there either.
I'll happily go back again for all the above and the great staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you made the most of our location by choosing to walk while you explored during your visit, we welcome our guests to leave their cars and make the most of their time here. We are very proud of our staff at Central East so your praise will be relayed to the team. We look forward to being able you back sometime very soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

For years, Premier Inn have charged for Wi-Fi, an objectionable practice in this day and age. Here, however, they are offering free Wi-Fi, and a very good idea it is too.

As for the rest, well, the ancient lift appears to be on it's last legs, the bedroom heating was broken (a portable electric heater had been left in the room, although no explanation given by reception on arrival), the tiny tv screen was incongruously placed by the front of the dressing table, and the hotel is sited around a mile from the city centre.

I ate in the on-site restaurant - flasks of hot water at coffee at breakfast were lukewarm (to be expected I suppose), the evening meal was standard fare, and the staff were a bit slow, albeit trying very hard to be nice.

Room Tip: Avoid upper floors if you use the lift - you'll have aged considerably by the time it arrives
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m very glad you were able to enjoy the free wifi we are currently trialling, it has been very well received.
I would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay, although I would also like to offer some justification. Our lift is perfectly maintained but as you say it isn’t the fastest.
With regards to the heating, the unit on the wall is brand new as we are currently undergoing air conditioning installation and they won’t be fully functional until all the installation is complete. There should have been a letter on the desk in the room as a means of explanation so I sincerely apologise if there wasn’t one.
As for breakfast, if in the future you experience a similar issue please don’t hesitate to speak to a member of staff, they will very gladly replace the flasks and your drink with fresh ones.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Campanile Birmingham
#100 of 118 in Birmingham
534 reviews
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conference Aston Hotel
#59 of 118 in Birmingham
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central East

Address: Richard Street | Waterlinks, Birmingham B7 4AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central East 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the M6, M42 and M5, the Premier Inn Birmingham Central East is even better connected than a certain Mrs Osbourne. And, thankfully, quite a bit quieter too. Nip into Birmingham city centre for great shopping at the Bull Ring, the Sea Life Centre's underwater world and the trendy bars and businesses of the Mailbox and Brindley Place. Take a trip to chocolate heaven at Cadbury World. Or cheer on your team at Villa Park of Birmingham City F.C, both just two miles away. Then return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 1 meeting room, which can hold up to 12 delegates. Directions: M6(J6), signposted city centre. Take the second exit off A38(M) signposted A4540 ring road. At the roundabout you should take first exit off. After approx 50m is the turning on your left into Richard Street, hotel is on the left. Barrier access to car park. Parking is charged at £4 per night. Important info: This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing