We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big, bland but I'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Ranked #49 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big, bland but I'll be back.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a larger Premier Inn but delivering the usual standards. Good reception staff, easy check-in, clean room, comfy bed etc. etc. The weak point was,for me, the bar/restaurant. We had booked ahead and we were expected. We decided to have a drink before we ate and were cheered by dozens of posters/leaflets offering 2 identical drinks for the price of one. No problems, we wanted two pints of beer but we were charged full price. When questioned a rather brusque lady told us, 'No. That's been withdrawn'. The challenge was pointless and, quite frankly, not worth the effort. Then they refused to charge the drinks to the room and it was all a bit of an uphill effort. The food was average but a bit pricey.

But the breakfast was good and the waiting staff excellent so, overall, it was an average sort of place but not so awful that we won't go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad that you found the reception staff helpful and efficient and that your bedroom met your expectations. I apologise for the issue you experienced regarding the 2 for 1 offer, this is being looked into as to why you were told it was withdrawn. In terms of charging the drinks to the room, this is a procedure that we cannot follow as our operating system doesn’t allow for room tabs to be opened at all. Tabs can only be opened within the restaurant and paid off at the end of the evening so I’m sorry that this wasn’t properly communicated to you. I’m very pleased to read that breakfast was redeeming and that you found the waiting staff to be excellent. We look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    229
    105
    41
    33
See reviews for
231
153
23
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here last Sunday and Monday night. This is a bit of a mixed review as the two night were so different. Firstly I must mention the free WIFI which was a lovely surprise. The Sunday night was awful, we were woken up several times during the night by other noisy guests. I believe there was a music festival on nearby and clearly lots of the drunken guests were attending that. We were woken up around midnight by some noisy Scouse woman shouting on in the hallway then again just after 3am as it seem the rest of the Scouse group came in and couldn't get in there room. Lots of banging and shouting. It is a shame as it wasn't the hotels fault at all but it really put us off staying another night. The next night was much better, it seem like mostly business people who stay here during the week so it a much calmer and relaxed atmosphere. When we checked in we were greeted by a lovely receptionist called Jenni, she was warm and friendly and seemed genuinely interested and happy to help. Our room was great, the usual Premier Inn set out, bathroom was slightly dated but spotlessly clean. The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the room was cleaned to a very high standard. The maids really are a credit to this hotel. We dined in the restraunt on the Sunday night and found the service to be extremely poor. There were only 3 staff and 2 of them were training. While I fully understand that it is difficult when you start a new job to get in to the swing of it. The service was particularly poor. There were only 2 other tables of guests in restraunt but it still took almost 20 mins for anyone to approach us to order our drinks. She only came over when prompted by someone who was more senior. We did eventually get our drinks and food order which was fine then we asked for the bill. We paid and left, it wasn't until we were back in the room that we noticed we had been overcharged. One of the starters had been charged for twice, we didn't bother going back as the staff didn't really have a clue and it wasn't worth out time or effort for £4.
The location is good, really handy for the motorway and only a 15 minute or so walk in to town.

There are good points to this hotel, the maids do a fantastic job and Jenni the receptionist was great. However for me the good didn't out weigh the bad and I don't think I would return.

I'm sure once the new waitresses get into there stride the service will improve greatly but I'd give it a miss if you are going anytime soon . If you do go I'd check you bill before you pay. As we should have done!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missglobetrotter860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Birmingham Central (East). I would like to apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your first nights stay, it is awful when unruly guests are inconsiderate towards everyone else, our nights team were trying their hardest to keep them quiet so I’m sorry that this wasn’t entirely successful. I’m glad the second night was much better for you and that you found Jenni to be so helpful and friendly. The housekeepers do a great job so I’m pleased your room to a high standard.
I would also like to apologise for the service you received in the restaurant with time delays and an error on your bill. I’d like to rectify the overcharge if possible, if this is something you would be interested in then if you could call us direct on 0121 333 2120 with your receipt to hand or the details of your restaurant visit such as date and total of your bill then we can look into refunding the overage. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during the week - hotel is usual Premier Inn standard always good value for money.
Breakfast - cooked - is now not self serve as experienced in other Premier Inns not sure if this is a change across the chain ?
No problems would stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from reception which will be quieter if you can cope with a longer walk !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad you enjoyed your experience over all and had a quiet and peaceful stay. We greatly appreciate guest calling in advance to make room requests as it helps us to ensure your needs will be met. Regarding breakfast, our restaurant is on the smaller side so we would have to sacrifice space and therefore tables to offer the cooked breakfast buffet style as well as the continental selection. We also think is helps make sure your breakfast is fresher and better quality too. We look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Has usual rooms amazing and comfy, beds brilliant, reception staff great as always, breakfast is great huge selection,
BUT.... The thyme restaurant is over priced average food, and on the weds we sat down to eat in a 1/4 full restaurant, and nobody asked us for our order untill we asked a young ginger haired girl 30 mins later, the manager(young lad in a white shirt) was more interested in the football on tv!! There was a beautiful dark skinned lady (SARA) that once she saw we were getting angry (she was the only one who was busy from when we arrived) couldn't do enough for us, she was great, 15 minutes after we had order our food the ginger haired girl asked us if we'd order our food, this was 45 minutes after we asked (her) to order our food!!
I was her from Monday the 7th to Thursday morning, with a Germany engineer, great first impression he had during his visit to England!! If all the staff were has polite and helpful has Sara then this hotel would be 10/10!! SACK the ginger girl!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJohnNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Birmingham Central (East). I apologise for the issues to experienced during your time in the restaurant regarding waiting times and staff who you believed to be unhelpful. I would like to say that the young lady you refer to was a very recent new starter who hadn’t found her feet yet but is fully trained and very competent now. I’m glad Sara was able to assist you, she is a credit to the team and I’m pleased you found the rooms, breakfast and reception staff to be of such high quality. We hope to welcome you back sometime soon to restore your faith in our hotel.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great staff, good restaurant nice rooms, quiet site, close to B'ham centre etc., The place in clean, efficient, comfortable and good value for money. Little awkward to get to but the satnav found it OK

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). I’m glad your stay was to such a high standard in all aspects. We do occasionally hear that our postcode doesn’t agree with some sat nav systems but Google Maps directions and AA Route Planners have always been successful in getting to us. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have now stayed about 10 times and have always had an enjoyable visit , the cleanliness of the whole place is good and the staff are very professional
and friendly. I would recommend staying here. We have stayed at another Premier Inn in Birmingham but will always stay here

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirminghamCE, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Birmingham Central (East). It really is a testament to how well the team perform when a repeat guest leaves such a complimentary review. I’m glad you found the staff so friendly as well. We greatly look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime soon.

Many thanks
Rachael
Operations Manager
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (East).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you stay here, make sure you have 1) a Hi-Viz jacket, 2) something to do while you are waiting. The hotel seemed overwhelmed by the fact people actually book to stay here. It was Saturday night, and we needed to eat. We were shown to a table that, unknown to us, was hidden behind some invisible curtain. We waited. We waited. We waited. Eventually I grabbed a waiter who took our order for drinks and food. We waited. We waited. We waited. The bar was only ten feet away, but no drinks could make it through the invisible curtain that hid us. There were other guests at the next table. They were joined by friends and became one big loud group, so we waited in this uncomfortable melee of teenagers playing on their iphones and parents conversing very loudly. We waited. And we waited. When we complained about the wait, the manager told us he was short staffed. There was just himself and one waitress. When, finally, the food came, it was ok. I went to the bar and presented myself...and then the drinks came. But we had had enough by then, anyway. And off we went to our rooms with with the Premier Inn promise of a perfect night's sleep. No! No! No! Try sleeping with groups of teenagers running full pelt up and down the corridors. Try sleeping with a team of furniture removers overhead. Or were they inventing some new game that involved knocking over chairs and leaping off beds? Or did they have a 3kg medicine ball that they were chucking around? When there was clearly no chance of sleeping, at 11.30 I went to reception to complain. And again, at 02.30 I went to reception to complain.The second complaint resulted in staff going to the room above and asking the guests to quieten down. But it also resulted in some form of retaliation - five minutes later there were teenagers outside our room, knocking on the door and singing out "Room Service!" The noise continued overhead until 04.15
Breakfast was more of the invisible curtain - we waited about 15 minutes (invisible again!) to order, and then waited over 30 minutes before our cooked breakfast arrived. While we waited, we tried some cereal, but there were no bowls, no plates, no glasses for fruit juice...etc. All in all, our worst Premier Inn experience! We got our refund, and ticked it off as one Premier Inn to avoid!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwpiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Birmingham Central East, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Campanile Birmingham
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Conference Aston Hotel
#59 of 118 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central East

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Central East
Address: Richard Street | Waterlinks, Birmingham B7 4AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central East 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the M6, M42 and M5, the Premier Inn Birmingham Central East is even better connected than a certain Mrs Osbourne. And, thankfully, quite a bit quieter too. Nip into Birmingham city centre for great shopping at the Bull Ring, the Sea Life Centre's underwater world and the trendy bars and businesses of the Mailbox and Brindley Place. Take a trip to chocolate heaven at Cadbury World. Or cheer on your team at Villa Park of Birmingham City F.C, both just two miles away. Then return and refuel in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. This hotel has conference facilities This hotel has 1 meeting room, which can hold up to 12 delegates. Directions: M6(J6), signposted city centre. Take the second exit off A38(M) signposted A4540 ring road. At the roundabout you should take first exit off. After approx 50m is the turning on your left into Richard Street, hotel is on the left. Barrier access to car park. Parking is charged at £4 per night. Important info: This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that all twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central East Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing