We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, incredible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, incredible staff”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. It's seconds away from the lovely Brindley Place (which is where to park if you want 30% discount). The hotel is easy to find. The rooms are spacious, clean, fresh with lovely bathrooms. Very impressive. What really sold the hotel though was the friendliness of the hotel staff and their helpfulness. They are a real asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLewisHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    1,250
    410
    121
    94
See reviews for
376
1,161
117
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed overnight on Saturday and was very impressed. I had read the reviews before booking and agree with them all! Spotlessly clean room and so quiet. No noise from occupied rooms either side which is a real bonus. Complimentary breakfast was as good as any other hotel I've stayed in and paid full rate for. Will defiantly return

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for leaving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed here on the weekend for 2 nights. The outside of the building lacks appeal and frontage; however the inside of the refurbished former office building is of a very high standard.
Reception is located on the 3rd Floor and directly in front of you as the lift doors open.

The finish of the inside of the hotel is of very high quality and you could smell that new hotel feeling of the paint, carpet and decor. The room is compact, functional and luxurious. TV was of generous size, tea, coffee making facilities all good. Free WiFi is also handy.

A nice walk in shower with complimentary body wash, shampoo, conditioner, hand gel and moisturiser in proper dispensers. None of that small bottle stuff that only lasts half a shower!
The bed was very comfortable and the pillows plush. For the price and what you get, this is a really high quality hotel. Hilton have done a good job here.

A good advantage to this hotel is its complimentary breakfast. There was a large variety of hot food (top English breakfast), cereals, juices, toast, croissants, cakes, muffins as well as a variety of teas and coffees. The seating areas were clean and airy and staff were always on hand and polite.

The only downside was the noise from the nearby clubs on Friday and Saturday nights. . Obviously this is to be expected when you’re staying on the strip of clubs and bars. On the 5th floor it was pretty loud so maybe request a higher floor if you’re a light sleeper.
Providing the Hotel keeps to its price point of around £50-£60 a night, I wouldn’t hesitate in coming back.

A really nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Deserves its #1 placing on Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: Noise from nearby clubs/bars can be a problem on the weekends if you are on a low floor. Request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAZ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for leaving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Within a pleasant walk from New Street train station and well-positioned for ICC and Symphony Hall this hotel may not be much to look at from the outside, but it provides all one needs for a comfortable stay. My only quibble with the bedroom was not being able to open a window, as I dislike using A/C but need to feel some air. The bed was extremely comfortable (lovely pillows) and all amenities were of good quality for a hotel of this standard. It is new, so everything is in good condition and all very clean.
Breakfast was unmanned, which provided a very easy, stress-free environment and there was a reasonable choice. The quality of coffee was a little lower than I would like, but then I have very high expectations of coffee! Wonderful to have efficient, free wifi and free breakfast.
Staff at the reception were friendly and helped with any queries. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if the cost doesn't increase much.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for leaving us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The cost of this hotel was the same as the travel lodge and the standard is on a very different level. The room was very well finished and the bed was extremely comfy. The location is perfect for a night out. I will stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Many thanks for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hampton is a new brand to the UK and we are trying to encourage more trvellers to choose us as their first choice. as we say "we love having you here" and hopefully more will get to experince Hamptonality. Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here on Friday 15th June and Saturday 16th June . Merely wanted a central Birmingham hotel to stay , whilst visiting friends . Hotel is at the Five Ways end of Broad Street , about 20 minutes walk to main shopping district . Truly amazed at this gem and enjoyed the clean , modern decor of the room . Views from the 17th floor were stunning .
Breakfast was a very good : buffet style and plentiful .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conti1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Many thnks for your review - it's great that your enjoyed your Hampton experieince and that you would come back to the Hotel. Hampton's main elements are Free breakfast, Free wi-fi throughout the Hotel and Free use of the Fitness room - so I am glad you were able to experience some of these and it added to your experience. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel last weekend, when I travelled to Birmingham to attend a concert at the Symphony Hall (which has far better acoustics than any of the big concert halls in London). In the past, I would stay at the Copthorne Hotel because of its proximity to the Sympnony Hall, but this time I chose the Hampton by Hilton in Broad Street because of the rave reviews it has received on this site. At £59 per night it was also slightly cheaper than the Copthorne.

I was not disappointed. The hotel is 7-8 minutes' walk from the Symphony Hall / International Convension Centre (they are in the same building) and is located in a busy, lively area with lots of young people. My single room was smallish but perfectly clean and had everything I needed--an iron and ironing board, a decent hair dryer, a comfortable chair and a footstool, a tea tray, a power shower, etc. Also good WiFi connection, which was free.

The breakfast was included in the room charge. The food on offer reminded me of the breakfast I used to eat when I was a student living in a university hall of residence. At least, it was filling. (I could not help smiling at the previous reviewer who wrote that the breakfast was "AMAZING". He/she must be a young person.)

When I returned from the concert, I found my room a bit chilly. The thermostat on the wall was set at 16 degrees, and I was unable to change it. When I rang up the reception, a young(ish) man turned up within a few minutes and re-set it at 25 degrees. I sometimes stay at five-star hotels, but even there such prompt service is not very common, especially late on a Saturday night.

I had one, slight, complaint. At the reception desk there was a sign saying "If you are dissatified, we do not expect to be paid." But I was charged for my room on arrival. If the hotel really means what it says, it shoudl wait until a guest checks out, fully satisfied, to take money.

Still, I can recommend the Hampton by Hilton Broad Street as an excellent budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Etranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Many thanks for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments regarding your stay and your comments regarding the 100% Hampton Guarantee. I hope that you choose us again on your next trip to a concert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,848 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,212 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing