We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay but let down by breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent stay but let down by breakfast”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Rooms were fantastic for the price and good central position for broad street no Taxis to worry about, only thing was breakfast that let it down no seats in restaurant and cold! But otherwise good value just go to weather spoons down road for breaky!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holsssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    1,193
    386
    117
    87
See reviews for
350
1,100
111
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

the hotel is in a fantastic location , on broad street for the pubs clubs and restaurants, very close to the nia icc and symphony hall, easy walking distance to mailbox, and new street bull ring are within easy walking distance too,

the hotel itself is a high standard, clean , well furnished, modern, i have stayed twice ( both times on a weekend ) and have had no issues, the staf have been efficient and friendly, maybe more staff needed on reception, one member of staff dealt with a query from another member of staff, was on the phone sorting a payment issue out for another guest and managed to book me in while she was on hold on the phone, what a star she was !

breakfast gets busy, after 9/9.30 but the food is very good, and plenty of it,

how do they do that quality at such a discount weekend price ? im sure peole do have minor personal issues, but i think anyone would be hard pressed to find actual fault with the hotel itself

Room Tip: high rooms if possible, maybe a little noise on the lower floors from broad street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rj4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Struggling to find anything majorly negative to say about this hotel! We just stayed one night but check-in and -out were speedy, hassle-free and they allowed us in an hour before the advertised check-in time, room was clean and comfortable, complimentary breakfast plentiful, varied and tasty (although the serving area was a little cramped during peak time) plus it is located right on Broad Street with it's attractions and within easy walking distance of the canals, main sights and city centre.

Perhaps parking could be improved (we parked in Brindley Place (recommend you check out the IKON gallery!) but was £15 for 24 hours although cheaper options locally available) and although being on Broad Street can be a plus it could also be noisy so a room on the upper floors towards the back of the hotel might be an idea, but these are quibbles more to do with the area!

But overall a very decent place to stay in Birmingham!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floors and towards the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhayward10
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We actually live in the West Midlands, but wanted to stay in Birmingham as I was treating my wife to a Spa Day and night out. The hotel is close (10 mins) to all the main night spots (i.e Brindley Place, Mailbox, Arcadian). This hotel made it not much more than a taxi there and back and so we were amazed at the quality and value. Obviously being part of Hilton you expect it to be pretty good. However the hotel is very contemporary, clean and Customer Service was of a VERY high standard.

The staff have a professional but laid back approach, in that anything you ask for is not a problem and easy for them to sort. I have a bottle of champagne and whereas some hotels are funny about you bringing your own drinks etc into the hotel, they let you have a wine chiller for a £5 returnable deposit. The breakfast was busy but the food was excellent and we loved the mini potatoes.

Overall We loved the hotel, and would recommend it to anyone. It is not in the nicer part of Broad St (which is the end by the Hyatt) but there does seem to be an effort in tidying the middle to the end (Five Ways) up with empty bars/takeaways being taken over by big chains (like the Hitlon).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhayward10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Checked in in the evening mid-week so no queue. Problem in that had booked two rooms, and my three sons were to sleep in one, but the sofa bed hadn't been made up. It was sorted out quickly, and bed was made up while we went out to eat. We seem to not have had such a bargain stay as others who have reviewed, as we paid £58 for each room, but still excellent value as hotel is so near the city centre, breakfast was included (and my sons eat a lot!), and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Quality of cooked breakfast items was not particularly good, but you get what you pay for. There was also plenty of bread, cereals, yogurts, fruit, etc available. Seating area did seem small for the number of rooms, but the area wasn't busy at around 9am midweek. Lifts came quickly, or you could use the stairs for a bit of additional exercise - we were on the 15th floor! Although in a busy area, and our room was beside the lifts, we had a quiet night. Easy walking distance from New Street station (around 15 minutes).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbelly54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We spent 2 days here at an online bargain rate. All rooms include full English buffet breakfast, which was good. Room was very clean and modern, staff were very helpful. The location is great for the bars and restaurants on Broad street and only 15 minutes walk to the Bull Ring.

Room Tip: Higher the better to avoid noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinS39194S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I saw good reviews about this place, so booked it for a wedding I was attending in Birmingham.

Firstly, the reception did not impress me as no one was there and it took a long time to check in. HOWEVER, the room was amazing and the quality top notch! I was really impressed with this hotel, and think it's a hidden gem in Birmingham.

I stay in loads of hotels when visiting the city and think is one of the BEST value ones. They even give you complimentary buffet breakfast!

Inside the room, there is everything you want from toiletries to an alarm clock!

All in all, I could not recommend this hotel enough, and would only ask the staff to man the desk more often so people dont have to wait around.

Room Tip: Go for room on the top floors where it is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeeshaan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,357 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing