We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I spent 3 days in Birmingham on a business trip and chose this hotel basing on the location. The area is really nice (Brindleyplace is recommended!), just outside the inner city centre, but close to the main points of interest. Hotel staff was really nice and helpful and we particularly appreciated reception desk staff, always smiling and making you feel like home (this is not essential, but it's really important if you spend 90% of your time abroad!).
Rooms and facilities were really good, new and clean (from an high floor you can enjoy an amazing view, above all at night!) and breakfast was rather good. I'm not giving the highest rate only because the wifi connection did not work properly (poor connection quality) during my stay. I will definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to everybody!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Irene_85,

Thank you! Not only for the glowing recommendation, but also the positive comments regarding our reception team, they really do work hard and it’s great to hear them getting a mention!

Many Thanks Again

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    1,174
    381
    114
    85
See reviews for
345
1,078
108
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

6 of us stayed here for a trip to the 02 Academy to see Ben Howard. I found the deal on hotelopia, which was £44 per room, with 3 Adults sharing and breakfast included. Compared to the Travelodge on Broad Street which is ranked one of the lowest hotels it was the same price.

Hotel has only recently been built (May 2012), it was clean, modern and fitted our bill. Rooms were big enough with 3 adults in and good facilities. One of the members of our group even tried the gym, though basic fitted her needs.

Check in was smooth, we arrived a little later than planned (about 5pm) so didn't need to wait. We did have to wait for the lifts, which being such a large hotel could possibly do with a few more. When we got to our room we had a note to say that as it was a busy night to try and avoid breakfast at peak time (9-10). We did go down to breakfast just after 9, it was busy, but we managed to find a seat. Breakfast was good, and as it was included in the price of £44 per room we really couldn't fault it.

Location is superb, not to fair from the Christmas market and shops and perfect for anyone who wants a night out. We did get woken up at about 4am when people arrived back from their nights out, and did witness a few walks of shame the following morning. But this is to be expected when you are so close to the clubs on broad street.

I would recommend this to anyone who wants a central hotel, if you are looking for a romantic break away it probably isn't for you.

Room Tip: Probably worth trying to avoid "rush hour of getting rooms" at 2pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samiantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your visit!

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed here for just one night for work. It is a really nice business style hotel with really lovely clean large rooms with views. The location is excellent and we walked everywhere as no need for taxis.The bar and food were excellent (I had tea and breakfast). I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjessicawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Mrs Williams,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Managed to get a great deal of £46 for a Saturday night. It was well worth the money. The room was modern, clean, comfortable and had all the basics you need. Wifi and breakfast were also included. Noticed another review mentioned thin nets and no curtains. There were blinds behind the nets which when down were pretty much blackout. The hotel is at the end of busy broad street but we heard no noise at all from the 9th floor. If I'm being super picky the only faults I could find were: super busy lifts in peak times (we used the stairs so no big deal), small towels and they don't have twin rooms which is what we'd booked. The bed was big enough for friends to share though. I would definitely stay here again. Especially if I could get the same deal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re delighted you enjoyed your visit, however I'm sorry you didn't get the twin room you booked, although we will not have twin bedded rooms (two single beds) until the New Year, we do have rooms with comfortable double sofa beds in them and so you should have been allocated one of these rooms, so please accept my apologies for any inconvenience

Thanks again for the review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed for one night while on a night out in Birmingham.
Nice room, friendly staff. I did not make it up for the breakfast !
Great location, perfect for a short stay. Close to all the bars and City Centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhouse_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review, we do indeed enjoy a fantastic location for all the best bars and restaurants that Birmingham has to offer!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one Friday night to meet friends and visit the German market with my partner.

The hotel is a fantastic location and perfect for nights out or shopping trip. On arrival the carpark is quite hard to find but eventually we found the car park at the back of the hotel and we soon found our way into the hotel via the lift.

Reception were very friendly and check in was easy, we were on floor 16 so had brilliant views of the city. The room was lovely and clean, spacious and very pleasant indeed !

I would quite happily stay at this hotel again and would book here before looking at any other hotel in Birmingham, we had a very pleasent stay !!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo4nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Jo4nne,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, as ive mentioned before its great to hear about our guests having such an enjoyable stay with us!

Many thanks again!

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stayed here with a few of my friends last weekend. The Hotel is in a great location, very close to the Christmas Market and Fair, also loads of bars and restaurants around...

The rooms were very nice, comfortable beds, clean and look like they have been refurbushed recently.

The issues we had were: Check in is the same for everyone, for some reason reception is on the 3rd floor, so we had to leave our bags get some food and get back, by the time we'd got back there was a massive queue to check in, and only 2-3 people doing this. Check in was fairly straight forward once it was finally our turn.

There was a bit of noise at night, but we did see the security guys keeping order, this is to be expected though as lots of young people and groups of maybe stags and hens were there at the time.

Breakfast was carnage!!! They don't give you a specific time so everyone tried to go as and when... There is a small ish room with mirrored aisles of exactly the same food. When we went down, there was no toast, the egg looked like it had been there a while, and again there was no organization whatsoever, people were just oushing in etc.

We had to ask some of the girls if more toast would be coming soon and they were far from friendly...one of my friends got told by Cristina (Spanish waitress) to get out of the way in a very rude manner.

There were not enough sits for everyone so people were on top of each other trying to eat.

So it is good, rooms are amazing, but i would try and get breakfast somewhere else.

Also if anyone in management is reading this, I would kindly suggest they have a word with the Spanish employees. Two of them (one of them Cristina who had been rude to a couple of my friends already) were chatting away in Spanish, moaning about another member of the team who wasn't there. I get they probably thought no one would understand, but there are loads of Spanish people around (like myself) so they should be more careful, as this looks incredibly unprofessional in what was already a more than chaotic morning for us!

Room Tip: Try and go high to get a good view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paloma1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Paloma1981,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, please accept my apologies that breakfast was so chaotic, as I’ve mentioned in previous responses, the Sunday breakfast in question was certainly an anomaly, where a majority of our 500+ guests attended breakfast simultaneously, which did indeed cause queuing and also some service issues, and for that I am sincerely sorry

I was very disturbed to read your comments regarding Cristina, and again please accept my apologies, Cristina has been a trusted and skilled member of the team since we opened the hotel, and I can only say that this is extremely out of character, I fear the events of the day may have got the better of her on this occasion, but never the less I will address this internally

Again, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion but do hope we get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Chris Brockbank
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing