We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms but breakfast is shambolic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed here with my husband and another couple as a weekend break. We all agreed that the location is great and our rooms were lovely, modern and clean. We asked the receptionist for tips on where to eat and she booked us in at a great Indian restaurant just up the road offering 20% discount for hotel guests. The restaurant served great food and had a pleasant atmosphere. The only thing letting this hotel down is the breakfast which can only be described as shambolic. As we only stayed one night it wasn't too much of a problem, but, if staying longer it would have been annoying. Overall, I'd recommend to others and visit again if in the area. If breakfast issues could be remedied this would be an excellent hotel!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank crofts8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,997 - 3,003 of 3,304 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

I stayed here for a night in November 2012. The Room was a good size and very good access to Birmingham city center. Modern hotel and amenities were well maintained. Did not even hear the party goers downstairs, The only let down was the breakfast, very basic!!! did not even do fried eggs.... no frills really.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

A second excellent stay. Excellent value for money, fab breakfast choice. Staff friendly and welcoming. Good location and quiet in rooms considering right on Broad St. Love the black out blinds had a great nights sleep, didn't want to get up!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerGirl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I stayed in the Derby Hampton by Hilton with my partner and was really impressed by the quality of the rooms and decor so did not hesitate where to stay when I found out there was one in Birmingham.
The purpose of our visit was to see the German markets and finish the last of my Christmas shopping on the busiest shopping weekend of the year. As the shopping centres were only a 15min walk away the location was perfect.
Upon arriving I and my partner immediately unpacked all our belongings and headed straight out. Once we returned my first instinct was to head straight for the shower it had been a long wet Saturday afternoon!
After about 2-3mins I noticed the water was not draining I paid no attention and carried on thinking the water would catch up with itself. The next thing I know the water was covering my ankles and kissing the rim of the shower. I turned off the water immediately asked my partner to call through to reception.
He explained the situation and we were offered to change rooms in a 12 storey hotel the weekend before Christmas we could have been anywhere. At this point I was half shampooed/showered and all of our belongings were unpacked a room change was not an option. The person said they would come up as maintenance were not in and she couldn’t get hold of the general manager.
15 minutes later I called the reception as no one had appeared, still wet with shampoo in my hair I asked for a plunger so that I could plunge the drain myself, she said this wasn’t an option due to the nature of the drain a few minutes later she appeared to examine the drain at this point the water had gone down the drain it was about 15 minutes later.
She insisted on seeing the drain for herself so my partner put the shower on. After which she disappeared and said she would get another key to use the shower in for the evening. She returned and gave my partner access to the room next door but explained she couldn’t leave the key.
She left then left the latch on so my partner could get into the room much to his dismay the bathroom will have been pitch-black to the electricity card being taken away. At this point we were both so annoyed that it was ruining our evening. My partner had a very brief shower whilst I washed my hair in the sink.
For the £48 we spent on the room this was unacceptable. I don’t actually live with my partner so our time is precious together. That evening we missed our dinner reservations because we were late. Additionally there was no option about using another shower in the morning so we both went without one.
To put the icing on the cake my partner had to persuade reception for a complimentary late checkout for the inconvenience caused with the shower in the morning. The least that could have been done!
Fair to say I will not be using this hotel again. I understand it is fairly new so sometimes the customer service will not be 100% but it ruined what was supposed to be a romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: Ask for highest floor possible to avoid the Broad Street hustle and bustle. Check that your drain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKAUR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We stayed here 1 night and really enjoyed it. Good location, a clean and modern hotel. was a buffet and they had everything u could want for a breakfast . We didn't use the hotel car park but there is the shopping centre car park and it cost us £6.40 for 24 hours. The hotel is 10 mind walk to the Symphony Hall and start of the Christmas market. The NIA is also within walking distance. Will defiantly go there again next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandleaderLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

this hotel is beautiful, the rooms are lovely, have a big comfy bed, proper pillows, warm comfy quilt, very clean, all products in the bathroom were full, breakfast was good, was a lot of people there as we stayed 7th dec 2012 but had no problem getting breakfast or a seat to eat, right in the middle of broad street, a ncp car park at back of hotel and only cost £4.60 for the night, i have no complaints about this hotel and would stay again and recommend to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandyleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Hotel is in a great location. Extremely clean and very smart. Fantastic choice for breakfast - hot, continental and fruits too. Good car park too for £10. I will definately be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,108 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 118 in Birmingham
1,261 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £54 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing