We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok for sleeping”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Room was nice and comfortable, good size, though dusty in places, bathroom and shower lovely and very clean. Lifts took ages and twice had to take the stairs as there was only 2 lifts in the hotel, luckily we were only on 7th floor.
Should be at least 4-6 lifts for an hotel of this size. Breakfast was atrocious and we were there early for it. Sausages cold, beans warm, scrambled eggs bland, toast machine a waste of time, croissant was stale. Staff were friendly at all times. Good central location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Good Afternoon Katie A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton hotel. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the best service possible and the feedback that we receive on the product that we deliver is in many cases very positive. We offer breakfast as a complimentary extra and try to cater for a wide variety of tastes. We apologise that on this occasion, our breakfast offering did not match up to your expectations.

On a more positive note, we are glad that your found our staff to be friendly and helpful. I shall ensure that your positive feedback is passed on to our Front of House manager who will in return relay it to the rest of the team.

Once again, thank you for your valued comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    1,212
    387
    118
    89
See reviews for
354
1,115
112
760
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

This is the second Hampton by Hilton we have stayed at and the quality is consistently good. These budget hotels are a cut above Travelodge. The rooms are superior, with comfortable beds, a large flat screen TV, storage space and a well-equipped bathroom. A hot breakfast is also included in the price.
Situated on Broad Street it is within easy walking distance of good restaurants in Brindley Place (the canal area) and the Symphony Hall in the International Conference Centre.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrockerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Good Afternoon jcrockerm,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel. We are always more than happy to hear from people who have had a good time and are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit.

We are glad that our attention to detail across the brand has not gone unnoticed and that you found our bathrooms to be particularly well-equipped. We are pleased to be able to offer a small range of complimentary toiletries to all of our guests and often get comments about how great our power showers are!

We would also agree with you that we are incredibly fortunate to be based in such a great location. There aren't many places that can boast such a fantastic range of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

Once again, many thanks for your kind comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

If there is nothing wrong ... then it can only get 5 stars 'excellent'.

Immaculately clean. Stunning view from our room. Elizabeth on reception was super efficient and friendly at both check in and check out. All the staff were really friendly, with a pleasing smile. The room was comfortably warm with the most comfortable bed. Great shower.

Not sure why people are disappointed with breakfast. When you have a choice of cereals, juices, tea, coffee, bacon, suasage, hash browns, beans, scrambled egg, toast - brown and white, croissant, yogourt, muffins and more, and its an 'eat as much as you like buffet', for heavans sake - what more do you want? It was more than ample, and all well cooked and presented.

Other facilities are good - bar, lounge, computers. Simply NO complaints, at a stunningly reasonable price as well.

I phoned up to ask for a room with particular 'features', and the guy who I spoke to couldn't have been more obliging.

A1 Ace. Spot on. Fantastic.

Room Tip: If you like views - ask for one. If the potential noise of Broad Street may worry you - ask for a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzurisanaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Good Afternoon mzurisanaCoventry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we love to hear from people who have had a good time and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased that you found our beds to be comfortable - we get a lot of positive feedback in regards to the softness of our mattresses, with guests in the past even having likened them to sleeping in the clouds!

Once again, thank you for your very kind comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Very easy to find straight on Broadstreet, very quick and easy check in too. The room was massive and was for sole use double room. Nice big tv, hair dryer and tea making facilities. The bathroom was a nice size and the shower was huge too. No one bothered me with my quiet sign on which some cleaners seem to ignore and bother you anyway!! I was on the 13th floor, decent little view of Broadstreet and considering the location was nice and quiet. Breakfast, well, not that much choice to be honest, plenty different types of cereal, hot breakfast, and a bit of fruit, not enough choice of fruit for me. But everyone else seemed to enjoy it, i'm just fussy! Reception sells snacks and very expensive wine!! All in all a good hotel, and i would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziQ1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Good Afternoon SuziQ1349,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit.

We would agree with you that the views that you can find on some of our higher floors are pretty spectacular - on a clear day you can see across the entire city, and at night when it is all lit up, it looks even better!

We always strive to provide the best service possible and are really glad that you found our rooms to be equipped with everything that you needed to be able to enjoy a comfortable nights stay.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments. We really hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed in room 701 (£89) which was comfortable, modern and free from noise from other customers. The air conditioning unit was irritatingly noisy though. Also I was unable to add heat to the room as the temperature was apparently being controlled from elsewhere. As it was below 0 degrees in Birmingham last night this was disappointing. An additional blanket in the wardrobe would have been most welcome.
It was quite easy to find a space for our car in the hotel park which is located on the roof of the hotel (£10). Due to the recent cold snap there was a lot of ice piled up between cars which made it extremely slippery getting around vehicles with cases. If you are intending to use the hotel car park then it would be a good idea to get the postcode of its entrance from the Hotel for your satnav beforehand. Otherwise you will find yourself trapped on Broad Street if you don't know the area.
The hotel is very well located for shops, bars, restaurants and museums etc. I enjoyed my complimentary breakfast which consisted of cereals, fruit juice, bacon sandwich and only because it was a cold morning an additional croissant and coffee latte! Check out was at 11a.m.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayhel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Good Afternoon Kayhel2011,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us at the Hampton by Hilton hotel - we are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit.

We were sorry to read that you had some issues with your heating system. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of the problem at the time and so were unable to resolve it for you during your stay. We are currently in the process of reviewing our heating systems to try and ensure that we eliminate any further similar issues in the future.

On a more positive note, we are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast. We are pleased to be able to offer each of our guests a complimentary meal to start their day and hope that you will agree that we provide enough choice and variety to set even the fussiest of eaters up for the day!

Once again, many thanks for your valued comments - we hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Having stayed in a number of hotels in Birmingham for business this is one of the better ones to stay in and I do on a weekly basis. The location is good with plenty of bars and restaurants within the vicinity. The room is pretty basic but comfortable and I have always had a good nights sleep even when my room has been by the lift as you cannot hear it being used. The coffee tray is pretty basic but if you require any additional supplies they are happy to provide them from reception. I have not tried an evening meal there as I love the chicken wings in the Figure of Eight so tend to go there for my evening meal. The Breakfast is not the best I've had but it is far from the worst. I tend to have breakfast about 8am and the food is always hot and plentiful, you also have the choice of cereal, fruit, croissants and even mini muffins with a variety of hot and cold drinks. Sometimes it can get a little busy but I have never had a problem finding somewhere to sit comfortably.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraWhiteHBH, Public Relations Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Good Afternoon Scarlett893,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stays with us - we are glad that you have enjoyed your visits enough to return to us on a regular basis.

We agree that we are very fortunate to be in such a great location - there are not many places that can boast the city centre shopping area being such a short walk away as well as a whole host of bars and restaurants right on their doorstep!

We are glad that you enjoy your breakfast with us too. We are very proud to be able to offer each our our guests a complimentary meal to start their day and hope that you would agree that we provide enough choice and variety to cater for a wide range of tastes!

Once again, thank you very much for your kind comments - we look forwards to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Room extremely cold on a very cold night. Too late to contact reception to move by the time we got back to the room. Breakfast was crowded and I felt very uncomfortable. I am on sticks and there was no where comfortable to sit. Food room too busy for me t select my own food, nearly got knocked over, had to rely on my husband to wait on me. Food was cold and unappetising. Would not stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAB1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us wasn't up to our highest standards.
At Hampton we aim to look after every guest and we are upset that you felt that we didn't on this occassion.
We would love to discuss this further with you by contacting the hotel direct and asking for Matt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
3,666 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,925 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,390 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
911 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing