We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and tidy very nice inside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy very nice inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Ignore the entrance on Broad Street the Hotel is very well presented and looks the part inside. Clean and tidy throughout. Very nice room with clean lines and good bathroom. Cosy reception floor with bar and breakfast room. Ample eat as much as you like breakfast. Access to special NCP car park at rear but ended up using another by mistake so make sure you know about their car park and how to get into it as there isn't really a place to stop out front to ask. Hotel in good position to visit Symphony Hall. Loads of bars and places to eat. Cinema at top of road too. Broad Street does not look like the nicest place in Birmingham but you feel completely safe.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank goodguyjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    1,174
    381
    115
    85
See reviews for
346
1,080
108
732
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I've no idea whether this hotel is intended for the budget market or not. I got it for just over £44 including breakfast so I can't grumble at that price. If I was paying full 4 star price then I would gripe.

17 storey hotel with too few lifts is a main gripe and if I had a hotel room directly opposite one of the lifts with the constant "ding" of the lift arriving all through the night then I'd chuck myself out of the window - if I could open it. Rooms look very nice on the surface but lots of tacky green plastic bits. Comfortable bed and good bathroom facilities. Hate the sliding door for the bathroom though. No in room safe - and this is supposed to be 4 star?

Bizarre hotel layout with reception on the third floor, ground floor entrance and car park on the second floor. Reception, bar (excuse for one) and restaurant all on the third floor. Breakfast had a mediocre hot selection - bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, beans and hash browns. Usual pathetic toaster and coffee out of a machine (dire). First 4 star I've stayed in which has clear your own table away facilities - bit of a cheek. So, Ok if it's cheap but I wouldn't stop there in a million years if I paid full whack.

Staff had the typical couldn't care less Birmingham attitude.

Secure car parking which is cheaper than all the rival hotels in the location at £10 per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. The Hampton By Hilton brand is classed as a focus service brand which translates in the UK to budget. We pride ourselves at the hotel on delivering above this through our complimentary WIFI, Gym and breakfast.
We understand that the layout is not for everyone and appreciate your honest feedback on the room layouts, Our bar is designed for limited service due to our city centre location as most guests venture out to sample the fantastic bars and restaurants of Broad St and Brindley Place.
We are sorry that your overall experience was not the greatest but do hope you join us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for a night after going to see Cirque Du Soleil at The NIA. The hotel is ideally located and the rooms are fine but the staff are really miserable. There were no signs stating that we had to pay for our parking at the desk and the staff there didn't ask us if we'd parked upstairs in car park, which was a snowy death trap by the way, completely iced over and no attempt made to make it safe for people walking let alone driving up there. So we checked out and made our way up and walked around in the snow trying to find a pay machine when another visitor who'd had the same problem told us we have to go back down and pay for the ticket at the check out desk! When I went back down the lady was really rude and there was no sign of even slight sympathy let alone an apology for the lack of information. A little sign on the check out desk would suffice Hampton! Definitely not staying here again. We don't pay money to be treated so indifferently.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishi82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
We are sorry that you felt that we didn't look after you whilst you stayed with us. We have taken your feedback seriously, which will help us improve our guest experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

In the past I have used Premier Inn, but have to say where I can; I will now use Hampton by Hilton.
The room was furnished to a very high standard, even a tray on the bed for you to put your lap top onto. You get FREE fast Wi-Fi- in the room, large T.V. with all the Freeview channels, Iron and Iron Board provided, Hand Wash, Shampoo and conditioner in dispensers on the wall in bathroom by sink and shower. (Shower is good too – not fixed firm to wall – so you can move the shower head)
Also included as standard in all room rates is an all you can eat Breakfast, everything you could want from cereals to bacon ,sausage, scrambled egg and of course pastries.
We got our room for £45 for the two of us (including the breakfast), and for this standard of hotel I think it’s incredible value, so much so that we will be going back in July staying for 3 nights this time.
The hotel is located about 15min walk from the main train stations (New Street/Moor Street), and all the hotels seem to be in the same area as Travelodge , Novotel, Premier Inn and Hilton Garden Inn all next to Hampton.
Lots of places to eat close by (but check Trip Advisor, as we had a bad Indian restaurant experience as I didn’t check first!) including a Weatherspoons pub a short walk away. A Sainsbury’s local supermarket is located just across the street.
If you can get a good price for this hotel – then book it, I don’t think you can do better for value and quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysouthuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thanks so much for the great feedback and we are so glad that we have converted you to a Hampton guest.
We are delighted that you are coming back to see us soon.
If we can look after you in anyway please contact the hotel and ask for Matt the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We just came back from a weekend in Birmingham for a stag do and this hotel was great. For £60 a night (shared twin room) we had comfortable beds and a very clean bathroom. Breakfast was also very good and consisted of either a full English, fruit etc. I'd definitely recommend Hampton by Hilton.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DoobyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thanks for your great feedback and the Hampton team are so glad that you enjoyed your stag do with us in Birmingham. We pride ourselves on trying to cater for every guest, from stag do to shopping trip to relaxing weekend away. Hope your head isn't too bad. We looking forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

excellent very clean comfortable room with everything you require including toiletries, yes the lifts are a little hit and miss but once you learn how the system works there fine ( swipe card and enter floor number ), we stayed on the 13th floor and heard no noise from the very busy broad street below as you are far enough away from the action to have a peaceful night but not too far if you wish to enjoy the nightlife yourself, breakfast is served from 6:00 till 11:00 and gets busy around 09:30, there is a good selection ranging from fresh fruit to full English with everything in between and is buffet style and unlimited, i do not know why people are moaning about the seating arrangements there is plenty of seating so you just choose a table and eat, the views we had from our room was not brilliant but who spends all day looking out of a window ?,

will definitely be using this hotel again if we return to Birmingham because i do not think you will get better for the price.

anybody attending the NIA or ICC i would highly recommend this hotel to you

Room Tip: ask for a high room to avoid street level noise and ask to be put away from the lift shafts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigwakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Little Gem - We love that description. Thanks for the kind feedback and we hoped you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much looking forward to looking after you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed here for two weeks as a base whilst visiting friends and shopping in Birmingham. The hotel was great. Good location. The rooms although not roomy are very clean and nicely decorated. Surprisingly enough even at the weekends it wasn't noisy. The staff were mostly very helpful - in particular Lisa on reception. Breakfast is good, nothing fancy but for the price the pay its good value. The general areas of the hotel were well organised. My only comment would be that the breakfast staff need to be quicker at clearing tables and pay more attention to cleaning the buffet area during service. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Go to breakfast early at the weekends to avoid queues!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHR1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt H, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thanks for your great feedback, we are so glad that we could look after you for the 2 weeks you were with us. Thnaks for mentioning Lisa, she is delighted to be recognised.
We look forward to looking after you in the future - please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,498 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Ladywood
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham Brindleyplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street

Property: Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Address: 200 Broad Street, Birmingham B15 1SU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the UK's second city center, with onsite car parking, ideal for shop and drop. Our convenient Birmingham hotel is just a short walk from the International Convention Centre and the National Indoor Arena. We are close to the many tourist attractions including the Jewelry Quarter and Museum, Cadbury World, Millennium Point, Botanical Gardens and Sealife Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing